We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Bighorn Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Bighorn Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Keystone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Dinner at Bighorn on a Saturday evening. Wait staff: friendly, helpful, efficient. View over Keystone Lake a huge plus, which is a good thing because lack of quality in entrees needed something to offset. Good wine selection, my salad was very good, fresh, great dressing. the calamari was well prepared, light breading, very tender. My husband ordered one of two soups LISTED ON THE MENU. Waiter came back in a few stating the soup wouldn't be ready for another 2 hours, but they did have corn chowder, not the same. We felt they had the chowder because a large group was having a hoedown at the Inn that evening? I ordered filet medium. Very small steak in the plus $30 range, nice peppercorn sauce, which helped with the dryness of the steak being over cooked. Steak was thin, not your usual nice filet. Potato accompaniment was very tasty, saved the plate/meal. Husband had a vegetarian meal, poblano pepper over black bean cake. Pepper (one) was roasted, skin still on, very thin, no meat to it, stuffed with ordinary rice sitting on top of a very dry cake of semi-mashed and fried black beans. Nothing appetizing or tasty on that plate. Another in our party had the chicken, menu said it was pan fried, looked as if it had been deep fried, was not breaded, very dry & strange. The buffalo rib eye seemed to be the best of the entrees at our table. We were all very disappointed in the quality of the meal. For such an upscale restaurant at an upscale resort, it just didn't work for us. Can't see us ever returning and we frequent the Keystone area many times during the year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
178 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Sunset on the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Our family was in town this week skiing and wanted to celebrate a couple of special occasions, and after reading other reviews we decided to give this restaurant a go. The food was well prepared, very tasty, and a wide variety available. Our server was friendly and efficient. Our only disappointment was there menu on web site is completely different from their present one. The view of the mountains is incredible and we definitely would go back again, and they have a very kid friendly menu available.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Momkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner flop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Did our family dinner here and it was just okay. Soup of the day was a lobster & crab bisque which was good, but it was served cold. Told the server and was brought the same bowl back to me simply warmed up. Our son's steak was cold too, and cooked medium rare, not medium. My husband had the scallops & pork belly, again just okay. The bison ribeye however was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The server seemed bothered with us overall and the atmosphere was just blah.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDalsInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We decided to take the family out for one nice meal while staying at Keystone Resort. We were able to take the shuttle from our condo to the restaurant. It was not very busy and we were seated at the window where we could watch the ice skating. All of the food was great. Excellent service. Good kids menu. It was a bit pricey but when you compare that to what is charged by the restaurants on the top of the ski hills for mediocre lunches I didn't think it was that bad, really. Even thought it was a more upscale atmosphere, people did not seem to dress up. We just wore our jeans and casual attire and did not feel out of place. After dinner we were able to go ice skating and continue enjoying our evening before the shuttle ride back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elvisthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Ask for a table next to the window to enjoy the view on the lake. Food is good even though a little pricy. The ambient is nice. I would recommend to try Elk Osso Buco and Bison steak.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bighorn Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing