We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Review of Golden Palms Motel

Golden Palms Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Palms Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grovedale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Grovedale was our first point of call in lovely Victoria. After flying in to Avalon airport, we decided it was a good starting point to explore the Great Ocean Road.
We were pleasantly surprised with the location and proximity to Torquay, and received a warm welcome on arrival. You can really tell this place is a family run motel, which puts out a good feeling when we ourselves are also a family. The free parking was a bonus for us, and the hotel next door was everything we needed at dinner time - however the in-room kitchenette was more than sufficient. Comfy beds, good water pressure, peaceful night's sleep....room was all that we expected.
As a family of four, our only complaint would be that perhaps the cooked breakfast was a bit pricey... we have had cheaper/bigger elsewhere, but this is an optional extra so next time would consider cooking for ourselves.
Overall, a big thanks. Have recommended to our fellow Brisbane folks!

Cheers, Josh

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shea_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenPalmsMotel, Owner at Golden Palms Motel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us.
It was lovely to hear that you had a pleasant.stay.
Kind regards
John & Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Clean, friendly, Helpfull, just the shot!! Thanks to Lynne for making the room available early.

Room Tip: Husband and I, Son & Daughter in Law with 18 month old and older Daughter stayed in a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

During our travel through Great Ocean Drive to Queenscliff - Sorrento, we stayed one night over here. We stayed in 2 bedroom family room for $215. This motel is old one but not bad to stay for one night. Maintenance of the room is ok but management should consider some maintenance e.g bathroom handle screws are not fit properly etc... But i don't have time to complaint. I may consider to stay next time for a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My family and I stayed here over the New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the rooms were of a good size, very clean and the staff were very friendly. The location was ideal to be able to head in any direction to the beaches, Adventure park or the Queenscliffe ferry. The kids were also able to ride their scooters and they enjoyed the kids channel on the tv. Overall great place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kars66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

On a recent trip to Torquay to visit some long term friends we chose to stay at Golden Palms, Grovedale (Geelong) We chose this property for its central location for firstly visiting our friends and then for our drive around the coast to Quenscliffe the next day. We had stayed at this motel about three years ago and we were not disappointed with our return visit. We arrived early before mid day after arranging with the management to have the key to our unit available. The management informed us when we booked that they would not be there until after 2pm. It was much appreciated to gain access to the room as we were able to freshen up before moving on to Torquay etc. Motel right next door to the Grovedale Hotel where we had a couple of drinks on our return before walking back to out unit. Would definitely stay at this location again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trentham_Ozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I recently stayed at Golden Palms Motel with my husband and two children and found the rooms to be perfect for what we required. We arrived late in the evening but the staff were easily contactable and arrived promptly to let us in. We did have an issue with the TV but on talking to staff this was resolved making the kids very happy. The hotel next door was a handy option for dinner and the leisure centre, cinema and shopping centre all just a few minutes drive away provided entertainment across the weekend. All in all a great experience that I would recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olinda, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Breakfast too expensive, went to supermarket and bought bread, butter and jam for much less (they did supply toaster, jug, coffee &c). Lamps over beds didn't work, office closed 7.30pm, so couldn't resolve when noticed, Sufficient towels but only one face washer for up to 3 guests. Lied about wheelchair access, on complaint claimed people with wheelchairs had stayed there before - if so very unlikely they ever came back, we won't (little space to manoeuvre in room and wheelchairs do NOT do steps!) Heating/cooling good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmorg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenPalmsMotel, Manager at Golden Palms Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Whilst we appreciate guests feedback both postiive and negative as a way of improving our business we would like to have had the opportunity to address the concerns on arrival rather than waiting until 10 am next morning. We believe that honesty and integrity are values that we strongly adhere to and were extremely surprised by several of the comments that have been made. Many people have stayed at our motel who require wheelchairs and have had no problems. Had the guest let us know that the accommodation was not suitabe on arrival we would have found alternative accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grovedale
4.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
4.6 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
518 reviews
8.4 mi away
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Torquay Tropicana Motel
#4 of 5 in Torquay
93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palms Motel

Property: Golden Palms Motel
Address: 234 Torquay Rd, Grovedale, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3216, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Grovedale
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grovedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Palms Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing