We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun!!”

Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Kremmling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whitewater Rafting trips on the famous Colorado River. Choose from scenic floats and inflatable kayak trips through mountain ranchland and canyons or the biggest Class V in the West: Gore Canyon! Our Kremmling office is located in the center of town and is convenient to Summit County, Winter Park, Steamboat and Vail. Free wetsuits. Click the red Trip Discounts button on or website for our daily deals! AVA was voted Best of Summit 3 times running!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a family of nine from ages 4 to 74, that did the half day rafting adventure out of Kremmling, CO. Johnny was our guide, and did a fantastic job. He was great with entertaining all of us for the duration. We plan to do more rafting trips in the future, and we will definitely look to AVA. Thanks for the great memories Johnny!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Srogag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gore Canyon - full day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Chris, Zak and Wes did a great job in taking a relatively small group through Gore Canyon on a full day trip. They were outstanding guides who were patient and worked with a diverse group of people with different skill levels. To be clear, they are correct about needing to be in reasonably good shape to do this trip and you certainly need to have rafting experience. One of the challenges can be the climbing over rock slides of shale to take the swimming test and to scout the rapids. (Admittedly I have ankle issues and short legs so that part of any rafting trip can be a challenge for me. But this one had a lot of it.) I have rafted at least 25 times or more and this was the toughest but most spectacular one day rafting trip I have ever had! The canyon is remote and you get a sense of really being out in the wilderness, and the rapids were fantastic, big and technical for most of the run. There was very little coasting on this trip. I'll be back again next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelissaAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half day trip with kids 9 & 11”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We considered Brown's Canyon, but decided for a first raft trip for the kids, something more mellow was in order. AVA was organized and efficient from the first phone call to our return to the office in Kremmling. Everyone was very friendly and our guide made it fun for all. The rapids were fun and Jump Rock was a big hit. Good equipment and good fun. We'd use AVA again for sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Half day trip with young children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We wanted to do a "tame" white water rafting with our children aged 3,5 and 7 and this looked like the perfect trip for us. All ind individuals that we had contact with from the company, from arrival to departure, provided excellent customer service and were very friendly - they seemed a really good team and the atmosphere was great. I believe our guide was called Erasmo and he was just brilliant. Highly knowledgeable, very thorough in his instructions and was really good with the children. He was also very knowledgeable and informative in giving us additional information, either historical or geographical about our surroundings. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company and our guide to anyone who is looking for a beginners white water rafting experience that is perfect for young children. There is a shop too with various items of clothing for adults and children which has some nice things. Thank you guys for a great experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pine Creek/ Numbers Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I recently went on the Pine Creek/ Numbers trip with AVA after our narrows trip was canceled with a different company due to low water levels. I was looking for some level 3-4 rapids after having one other previous experience rafting in AZ, and booking this level trip made me a little nervous not having much experience. I am so glad we got switched to more extreme rapids! To our benefit it had rained for a couple days before our trip, so the water levels were up. I would recommend this trip for all young adults and older looking for a little more adventure. The guides do a great job navigating the river and providing directions. We had one member of our raft fall our at the start of the level 5 rapid and by the time we noticed he was out the guide had him halfway pulled back into the boat.
The only disappointment was the cost of photos/disc at the end. $50 dollars for 7 photos on a disc!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank millergal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting also viewed

Kremmling, Grand County
 

Been to Arkansas Valley Adventures - Day Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing