We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North Anglesey for Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rhydwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$48 - US$56
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rhos on Sea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“North Anglesey for Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The Lobster Pot is about as far north as you can go in Wales ( next stop Isle of Man ! ), but it is well worth the trip to find this gem.
I first visited this restaurant 45 years ago and it has not lost its charm. It is the site of an important fishing and distribution business for the locality and beyond. Church bay is aptly named after a steepled church which comes into view some way before you get the vista of the magnificent bay over to Holyhead Mountain in the distance. This is a busy beach in the summer but there is parking in a car park opposite the Lobster Pot. When we got there at 6 pm the car park was just starting to empty from what had been a busy day.
A bottle of Muscadet on the terrace started our evening and was followed by a delightful meal in light and airy surroundings. The converted cottage is divided into several eating rooms, each one with its own character.
As the name suggests Lobster in all forms is on the menu, with fresh fish ' specials ' added to the list. There were 6 of us and we ate early , they accommodate 2 sittings and the timings suited us very well. There was no rush to finish our meal as we could have coffee in the lounge or bar in pleasant surroundings.
The staff were delightful, local youngsters who obviously took a pride in their work and were well schooled in their art. They were as comfortable in Welsh as they were in English and it was pleasant to hear them change fluidly between the Welsh , English and Irish in our group.
It was a very pleasant evening and I will not be leaving I another 45 years before I return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JR J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    102
    40
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an excellent Seafood restaurant.There is nothing to dislike
The best Mussels I have ever eaten

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth travelling for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Set in a delightful little bay, the food here is excellent, matched by the service and friendly nature of the staff. The only thing that lets it down is that the interior is rather dated and in need of refurbishment. But don't let that put you off! After sea food to die for, especially the lobster, it really will not bother you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gjones43054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited the lobster pot yesterday. Yes, the place itself is a bit old fashioned but the food is lovely and well priced. I had half a grilled lobster and my husband had the mussels, neither of which I could have faulted. Friendly staff, lovely food, good price... Who can complain!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PancakesRgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visited Church Bay on 15/07/14 only to find the Wavecrest closed. We were walking and so were ready for a cup of tea and a sandwich.
The Lobster pot was the only place open, well staffed and very few customers. We ordered 3 teas and 3 sandwiches, a total of £25.Wouldn't have minded except that the teas had the bags hanging out, no butter on the ham sandwich, and no marie rose sauce on the prawns!! All of this made the tired decor seem depressing and when the waitress told another customer who wanted to sit on a outside table that they would have to come back inside to order , then I think the place is in need of shake up

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcnab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Rhosneigr, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Llanfaethlu, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing