We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
The Cottage View from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
GPS location . Stóra Knarrarnes. 64°00´28N  22°19‘54W
The Cottage
View from the house
View from the house
Private Beach - View from the house
Master bedroom - King Size bed
Bedroom - Queen Size bed
Bedroom upstairs
Bedroom upstairs - extra bed
Living room
Family room - wireless Internet
Kitchen - Fully equipped
Dining room
Bathroom with shower
View from bedroom
Private road to the house - free parking
Neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Vogar, Reykjanes Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Colleen M...
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I would absolutely recommend this rental. It is warm and cozy and we felt very at home. Elias was very kind and communicated with us before we arrived and met us when we got there. This house is right on the water in Vogar about 20-30 minutes away from the airport in the lava fields of the Snafellsnes peninsula close to the Blue Lagoon. Reykjavik is about 40 minutes away. The area was very quiet and picturesque and it is a great place to see the aurora borealis.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F1Hakkine...
Weare, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The farmhouse was a great place to vacation in Iceland. Elias was very helpful, he met us when we arrived and walked us through the house. The location was absolutely perfect near the ocean with a breath-taking view all around. Very peaceful, scenic place but close to Reykjavik and the airport. There was ample room for us 3 people but could have accommodated 5 or 6. The upper loft was a cozy place for my teenage daughter to hang out, the stairs were very steep though; not for elderly individuals. The amenities were great washer, dryer, a small but full kitchen with a refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher. The only small thing that was a challenge was the low water pressure of the shower (but we all managed). We would stay again if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of location
Liked least: shower water pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bea9294
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Even though we were later than expected Elias met us at the house and gave us a tour. This was a great start to our Iceland tour: near the airport with food shops on the way; plenty of space; comfortable beds; plenty of essential supplies; warm and welcoming. Thank you, Elias. It was lovely to meet you and stay in your home which has so much of your family history on display. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the house
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOviedo
Oviedo, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous House - loved our stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Situated halfway between Reykjavik and the airport, this home is a wonderful place to stay for those who like beautiful views and peace and quiet in a lovely home. Our family of 4 (including a 16 year old and 13 year old) stayed here for 3 nights, and it was an ideal place for us. Kids had their own room, and the beds and linens were very comfortable! The bathroom is huge and has a washing machine. The kitchen is very well stocked. The owner Elias is so kind...he even met us at 8:00am to let us into the house early. Everything is very clean. And the views outside are beautiful! You have the ocean, a pond, birds, sheep and lambs.
There are 2 rooms each with double beds downstairs, and plenty of beds upstairs, but as the stairs are very steep I wouldn't recommend having little kids upstairs (or anyone who has to get up to use the bathroom a lot at night). It worked great for us, though...my 16 year old loved having her own area upstairs.
Very reasonable price. Highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butterfly...
Ocoee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice place for a getaway”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I picked this house on a sparsely populated stretch of coastline between the airport and the capital because I was hoping for a better chance to see the aurora borealis. On the two nights out of seven when the sky was clear for us, we were able to observe the phenomenon--exciting! The house is not in perfect darkness at night because there is a street light nearby, and you can see the lights of Keflavik to the south, but it is dark enough.
There was plenty of room for our party of four, with two separate bedrooms--each with a double bed--downstairs, and four single beds upstairs in the loft. As others have noted, the stairs to the loft are unusually steep, but they weren't too difficult for our 61-year-old family member to climb. My bed downstairs was very comfortable.
The owner, Elias, was very helpful. He told us about a nice indoor pool not too far away. He also came to the house to help us figure out how to lock and unlock the front door (it fit very snugly in the door jamb) and to show us which buttons to push on the remote to turn on the t.v. (not obvious to me).
From the kitchen window, you can look across the lava field and see steam issuing from a vent in the ground not too many meters away. Very different from the views in our home state of Florida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath S
Harthill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy, well located and well equipped”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Close to Keflavlik Airport and Reyjavik this cottage couldn't be better located, it's close enough to the airport and the main tourist attractions to be a convenient property. Far enough away from the airport and the town to be a great location for seeing the Northern Lights as there is no light pollution. It is only a few steps to the beach and has a deck with a table should you wish to sit outside without being disturbed by other people.
The cottage is well equipped with every home comfort you might want or need. The kitchen is small but as there is a separate dining room it's perfectly adequate for cooking a meal for everybody in the house plus guests. It's warm and comfortable and I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NR63
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with very helpful owner”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time at the house. It was very comfortable and had plenty of space for my husband and me and our 4 children aged 17,15,14 and 12. It was a lovely location right on the shore and near a field of Icelandic Horses. It was near the airport and the Blue Lagoon and the owner was very welcoming and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing