We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place to Be!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at the Lake
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Although my husband and I have stayed in other accomodations in the Lake City area, The Inn at the Lake is our favorite! We've stayed at the Inn numerous times ---the most recent in late July of this year. The lodge rooms are a good size, affordably priced, and always very clean. David, Rosie and the staff go out of their way to make the guests feel welcomed, comfortable and well-fed. The breakfast which is included in the price of the room is scrumptous! Rosie's Amish Casserole and David's pancakes are a must to try. Since the Inn is located on the shore of Lake San Cristobal, we've had many opportunities to photograph moose, deer, elk and yes even an occassional bear! There are endless activities in the area---hiking, jeeping, fishing, canoeing, river rafting and horsebackriding. David is a valuable resource for any of these activities. Yet, if you want to just relax, the porch outside the lodge rooms offers comfortable chairs and ample space to curl up with a good book or for enjoyable conversation. If you are seeking a special place to recharge both spiritually and physically---this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice clean rooms. Friendly atmosphere. Plus they serve breakfast. Large commons areas for games and gathering w friends. Guests gather around open fire pit at night w smores. Good view of the lake. Volunteers an asset to operation. They make sure u feel like treasured guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigertech6886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for coming to stay with us and taking the time to write such a kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and sure hope to see you back in these gorgeous mountains with us very soon. We'll keep the campfire burning and the s'mores ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

David and Rosie Whitelock will welcome you into their homey Inn at the Lake. If you are seeking refuge from your busy life, go to the Inn at the Lake. You wake up in the morning and look out your window to see the beautiful mountains and lake. You can not help but relax. A delicious breakfast awaits. Join in the morning devotional or just enjoy the fellowship. See you next summer!

Room Tip: Upstairs gives a little better view, but everything is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. We were thrilled to have you here with us and sure hope we will see you again next year. Your family was a great asset to the Inn! When it gets hot down there in Texas just grab a fleece and come on back up to Lake City and us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at the Lake, Lake City, Colorado July 5-14, 2012. It was so wonderful; the comradery, hospitality, scenery, accommodations and overall experience! From the time we arrived, we felt welcomed and like we were home! They had just updated and redecorated our king room with a fishing theme and a temperpedic bed. It was so quant and comfortable. David and Rosie Whitelock provided a hot breakfast with fresh fruit each morning for the guests, and we sing a song and start with prayer and a short devotion. We would then go our own ways for the day and after a wonderful day of relaxing, off-roading, hiking or various other activities, we would come back home. The view from the inn was unbelievable! The mountains and trees as a backdrop and reflecting off of the georgeous blue Lake San Cristobal. We look forward to coming back and bringing another couple with us. We will highly recommend The Inn at the Lake to all our friends, family and acquaintances.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your gracious review of the Inn at the Lake. We were glad you were the first to experience our brand new renovated King Room. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to having you here next year and meeting your friends. Tell them we don't lie about the view. I truly think it is one of the most beautiful scenes in America right off our front porch for all our guests to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The setting is gorgeous, the rooms are comfortable, the service is great (they deserve a 6 our of 5), and the breakfast buffet is out of this world. But most important the words of encouragement from the Whitelocks and their staff and they way they live out their faith in service to others gave my faith a tremendous boost. Everyone of every background is welcomed with open arms and will depart wrapped in the warmth of the people at the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeathermanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Accommodations were comfortable and clean. An amazingly good and plentiful breakfast was followed by a short devotional challenging the guests to become better Christians. Much camaraderie was experienced among the guests, volunteers (who staff the lodge) and hosts on the beautiful porch facing the lake. This is truly a ministry of sharing.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Inn on the Lake, graciously hosted by David & Rosie Whitelock, provides the opportunity to renew, refresh and revitalize. An awesome breakfast is provided every morning- a sit down with David & Rosie and be served kind of breakfast, not a serve yourself a waffle kind of experience. After breakfast, one of the Whitelocks share a devotional for the day. They use scripture and personal experience to challenge and encourage everyone there. The location is amazing- spectacular views of the mountain and Lake Sam Cristobal in your front yard.

I highly recommend that if you are in the area and you are weary, check out David & Rosie. They are like a cool drink of living water to a parched and thirsty soul!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martirags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Lake

Address: 600 Co. Rd. 33, Lake City, CO 81235
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Lake City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the Inn at the Lake, a cozy mountain retreat situated a few steps from Lake San Cristobal just outside of Lake City, Colorado where each of our ten rooms reflects the charm of a mountain lodge and has a stunning view of Lake San Cristobal and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing