We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Simplicity!”
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
Lorena, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Simplicity!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife decided to change up our usual Colorado vacation this year for our family of 5 and she chose Oleo Ranch. I was skeptical at first, until we arrived! First off, the staff was great and really friendly. Second, the cabin we stayed in (Cebolla) was more than I expected. It was clean and very comfortable. Finally, the location is truly remarkable. The mountains are beautiful, the trout are biting, and the wildlife is everywhere around. We followed a hiking path into the mountains and saw some more of the beautiful features of this area. We also caught fish in the stream and in the 5 ponds on the property. It was extremely relaxing to unplug from the everyday world and watch the sunrise over the mountains or grill on the porch while watching the deer, moose, and elk, down by the stream. My kids also loved the hummingbirds and Sandman, the horse on the ranch. Time felt like it slowed down while we were there, I just wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended for a vacation with the family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint David, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Plan was to take a ten day road trip from Southeastern Arizona late in September where the weather is hot about 95 degrees. We like the idea of a remote cabin in the mountains. Also, we wanted to spend a long day or two of fishing for rainbow trout. September is a good month for changing color in the leaves and maybe, just maybe, we’ll get a little snow for effect.
The Rocky Mountains are spectacular with color, and water. The rivers are awesome and spring water abundant. Life every where!! Our cabin on Oleo Ranch was nestled in an aspen grove, hence it’s name Aspens Cabin. The weather was beautiful when we arrived.
Perfect for fishing, we caught and ate three trout. They were very good. The day before we left a storm moved in and it snowed that night. It change the whole appearance of the ranch…it was beautiful!!
It was a good plan! It surpassed our expectations! Next year the plan will be to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0nnie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neosho, Missouri, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Oleo Ranch is a wonderful place, cabins are spacious and clean, it has several large ponds for fishing, lots of wildlife including moose, deer and many other creatures. The people who manage it are very nice and always happy to answer questions or help in any way. They usually have horses available to ride and the sunrise is wonderful. We have been there twice and plan to go back again next summer.There is no phones, or electricity so you won't be bothered by technology. However, there are propane lights and other modern conveniences, refrigerators and stoves, etc. Fully functional bathrooms in each cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Oleo Ranch is wonderful.. Nice comfortable clean cabins with great views on a private ranch. We have spent time at the ranch the last two summers and plan to make it an annual event. The propane refrigerator, gas stove, modern bathroom and propane lighting throughout the cabin in an non-electric environment provide an unique experience. You are truly off the grid. No phone, no internet no worries....The scenery at the ranch is terrific, we had a moose walk within 20 feet of our cabin. The five ponds on the ranch came alive each evening with rising trout. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstatebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Initially the idea of no electricity was a little off putting for the teenagers, but we adapted and learned to love the place. It's a step away from the grind. Even when the place is booked full, you're not crowded. If you want to interact with others you can, but you can also enjoy some peace and quiet.

My family has been vacationing at Oleo since 1996. In fact, since we started going to Oleo we've not vacationed anywhere else as a family. Our first year, we crammed the 6 of us into Alabama. We've stayed in Ramboullet, Willows, Loft, and La Garita as well. Even after a multi year break while the kids got through college, we were recognized and spoken to by name when we returned (all of us!).

Ronnie, Barbara, and their family work very hard to maintain Oleo and to provide an outstanding backdrop for the experience of every guest. They're sweet, honest folks who will stop and chat with you but wouldn't dream of interfering with your stay. They're as much a part of our experience at Oleo as the scenery, the fishing, and the peace. They're always responsive if anything turns up that needs attending. They also are very helpful when you realize you've forgotten something.

I was at Oleo twice last summer. The first trip was with friends to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday in her favorite place and the second time with my younger brothers, 93 year old grandfather, and some friends. Both stays were terrific. We were in La Garita for the first trip and in Loft for the second stay. Neither trip could have gone better and the newcomers are all hooked on the place.

I'll be back in late July and, hopefully, again in September. Don't let the lack of electricity intimidate you. You won't miss it at all once you're there. In fact, you'll be grateful for the respite. Even if you're not particularly interested in hiking & fishing, this is a spot you don't want to miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n1devin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Just returned home--begrudgingly--from our second family trip to Oleo. If you are looking for simple living, peace, quiet, and perfect place to fish, hike, relax and enjoy your family, this is it. No frills, but great folks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My family comes up to Oleo Ranch every year in September. I look forward to this every year and count down the days starting in January! The cabins are just so fun. I love that there isn't electricity (it is all gas lamps, gas stove, and fridge) and a full functioning bathroom!! Our family gets quality time because there isn't electricity. It is awesome getting to see the wildlife that lives around there. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is so peaceful and relaxing and good for the soul!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Property: Oleo Ranch
Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81235
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oleo Ranch is 18 miles from Lake City on the backside of Slumgullion Pass. Basically we are between the start of Slum pass and Spring Creek pass in Quite Valley. You can Google Map Oleo Ranch and see our location. At 10,500 feet the ranch is located in a remote part of southwest Colorado (between Creede and Lake City) and surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery the Rocky Mountains have to offer. It is secluded, offers privacy, and breathtaking views with comfortable accommodations. It’s built overlooking a beautiful valley. The cabins water is drawn directly out of the mountain it’s built upon. Propane gas runs appliances, lights and heats water for the kitchen and bathroom. Electricity is neither needed nor available, and we do enforce a no generator policy. Anything which needs to be plugged in will not be of use and you will not miss the electricity. You are truly "off the grid" at this cabin, and your mind and body will thank you for it. Don't worry, technology, electricity, restaurants and other conveniences are just a short beautiful drive over Slumgullion Pass into Lake City if need be. The cabins are pet friendly as well. Recreational activities around the ranch include miles and miles of scenic trails for mountain hiking/climbing, photography, fishing, or just relaxing. Moose and Elk are often seen and several kinds of hummingbirds are always around the feeders. The colorful wildflowers in summer, the wind blowing through the Aspens, and the spectacular fall foliage are nature at its best. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of streams provide guests with private fishing, so beginners to avid fly fishermen will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Peace and quiet is not something you have to seek out... the wind blowing through the Aspens will be the only thing you'll hear while reading your book on the deck. There is zero light pollution at night so stargazing is one of the most incredible things you will ever witness. Also, look no further than the area to escape the heat of the summer. Even in the dog days of summer, the average temperature during the day is 70 and nights can drop below freezing. Day trip opportunities "off the ranch" are abundant- anything from climbing one of the seven area 14K mountains, fishing the Rio Grande river, hiking the Continental Divide Trail, renting a jeep in Lake City and driving over Engineer Pass, as well as something as simple as having an ice cream cone, sitting on a Lake City bench. There is so much to see and do in one of the most beautiful areas of the Rockies. Thank you for taking a look at Oleo Ranch and we hope to see you there soon enjoying the simple life! ***There is no cell or internet which allows you to totally relax and not worry about looking at your phone 100 times a day. Reading a book becomes possible again. It is an amazing feeling for sure*** Location: Oleo is located off of Highway 149 north of Creede between mile marker 56 and 57. The entrance will be before the start of Slumgullion Pass and Rambouillet Creek. As you turn in you will need to drive a mile or so before you will see the ranch. You will see the Oleo Ranch sign from the highway. Miles From: Lake City, CO – 18 Creede, CO – 36 Gunnison, CO – 72 Denver, CO – 272 Albuquerque, NM – 303 Weather: Average temps are around 70 day and 30 at night. Short rain storms can roll in almost every day, but it is usually just a quick storm Altitude: Oleo is at 10,500 feet. It may take a day to get acclimated to the altitude. Try to drink plenty of water before coming up and continue when at the ranch. Also water boils at a lower temperature at this altitude compared to sea level. This can alter cooking times for some dishes (pasta) Electricity: There is no electricity at the ranch. Everything runs off of propane. Each cabin has a full stove with 4 cook top burners, a refrigerator (not full size), and hot water Water: The water for the ranch comes directly from a mountain spring and is tested each year Hot water: Each cabin has a standard water heater, just like you find in most homes TV/Internet/Cell Phones: None of these items can work off of propane (thankfully) so no to all Generators: we do not allow generators to be run at any time. This is to keep the noise down Lights: The lights work off of propane and are turned on by a lever and using a match. Very simple operation. If you plan on reading at night you should bring a book light Heater: There is a wall heater in each cabin, but the cabins retain heat well and you may not need the heater Kitchen: The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, and full size sink Utensils, pots/pans, glasses and dishes: Each cabin has everything you need. You may want to bring some sturdy paper plates as it is all hand washing/drying Bathroom: The bathrooms have walk in showers, sink and a toilet Bath and dish towels, paper towels, and toilet paper: all are provided Cleaning supplies: dishwashing soap, garbage bags are provided Coffee: Coffee is brewed using a percolator. Fireplace and wood: each cabin has a fireplace and there will be wood provided on your deck. If splitting is needed, each cabin will have an ax and chopping block Dogs: Dogs are allowed. Please see below for policies • $25 per dog, per stay fee, with a $100 damage deposit per dog, at time of check-in. Deposit check will be destroyed after cabin is cleaned, if no damage occurs. Food: You will need to bring in all your food. Access to the nearest grocery stores is Lake City (17 miles) and Creede (36 miles). There is a small store at Freemons Ranch (over Spring Creek pass on the way to Creede) as well, but not a large selection. Grocery stores: Alamosa will have a couple large grocery stores with good prices. Also pick up your beer, wine and liquor there. If not, Creede will have a grocery store, but a bit higher prices and a more limited choice. Lake City has a grocery store as well, but with the same situation as Creede Grills: Each cabin has a gas grill on the deck How does food stay cool: There is a fridge in each cabin, but it is smaller than normal. If your stay is only a couple days you will be just fine. If you have a big party and staying longer, then we suggest bringing in some coolers and ice. The ice will stay frozen if the coolers are kept outside Good Meals: Pretty much everything will taste good up there, but here are a few suggestions that always seem to work well Breakfast – eggs, sausage, blueberry pancakes, cereal, etc. Lunch – sandwiches, etc. Dinner – steaks, grilled chicken, spaghetti, baked potatoes, chili, corn bread, etc. Food taste pretty darn good up there so plenty of options. Suggested Clothes: normal cool weather clothes. Bring some rain gear as well. It can get very cold in evenings and will be in morning. Expect 30’s even in July. Bring some mud boots if you plan to fly fish in river. Other suggested items: batteries, flash light, binoculars, camera, lightweight fishing gear, sunscreen, lip balm, books and magazines. Without the internet it is possible to finish a book so bring that one you been planning on reading for some time now. Fishing on the Ranch: There are 5 ponds on the ranch that will provide great fishing by either using a fly rod or a basic rod/reel set up. There is a worm farm by the old corral next to the Willows cabin, if you choose to use a hook. We urge “catch and release” but keeping a few for dinner is always ok. Fly or spin fishing is also available in the small Cebolla Creek that runs through the ranch. Many streams and lakes are in the area nearby as well. ATV’s: We do not allow ATV’s to be driven on the ranch property. You can park your trailer in the barn area, and trailer them to the many trailheads in the area. Manager Info: We have an onsite manager who is a retired fire fighter out of CA. He knows this area like the back of his hand. He is there to help if you need anything, but you won’t see him if you don't. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing