We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a reunion or a fishing group”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The North Face Lodge
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This past September, my former company had a reunion at the North Face Lodge. The location was great as we could walk a few yards down to a cute and yummy bakery everyday and it was a short and breath-taking walk into the village for lunch and dinner. The great room of the Lodge was perfect for our group to meet in the morning for the coffee, tea, and bakery goods provided by the Lodge and in the evenings for wine, gab, and games. The rooms are unique, spacious, and well appointed with Colorado themes and a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot in each room and some rooms with kitchenettes. Each room also exits onto a comfortable porch that wraps around the Lodge. The North Face Lodge would be a great place for a family vacation or for a group of fly fishermen or rock climbers. ..or just for a relaxing couples' retreat. The owners of the Lodge know the area and can provide suggestions for places to explore, view the varied wild life and spectacular scenery, or fish.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayg23451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for The North Face Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed in Cowhands room for 3 nights in mid September. Nice sized room with very comfortable king bed, small refrigerator and microwave and very reasonably priced. Bed and bath linens were soft and of excellent quality. The only negative was no a/c and room took a while to cool down at night; otherwise our stay was very relaxing and quiet. Robin and her husband were not in residence but co-owner Hugh was very accommodating. We will definitely stay there again

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Some people get it right. Robin and her husband have hit the mark with their new lodge. This can be called nothing other than a lodge because it certainly isn't a motel. Not only are the rooms unique and completely different from each other but the nice sheets and towels make it homey. The bed was new, fluffy and comfy. We don't watch TV on vacation, but for those that do there is a new flat screen TV. We loved the balcony with the views of Lake City. We rode our motorcycles from Ouray to Lake City. Spent the night at the North Face Lodge and returned the next day. It rained right as we pulled into Lake City. I can't explain the feeling of not only being warm and dry, but being in a place that felt like home. The shower was strong with endless hot water. The personalized service and love put into this lodge is apparent. We give it a solid 5 stars hope to stay again in the future. (just a note on previous reviews, we stayed in the Aspen room. We also walked to town for dinner and breakfast. It was a short walk.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sierraladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We chose this property for an overnight stay on our way to hiking Redcloud/Sunshine Peak the following morning. I, like the previous reviewer, stayed in the Ute Trail room which features a king sized bed. The room and bed were both comfortable with some recent upgrades to the bathroom. The room was decorated very nicely as well. The kitchenette was more than sufficient if you planned on an extended stay and wanted to cook, but do not require a full kitchen that you would have in a cabin. The property sits right on Colorado 149 so if the sliding door is open there is some noise from passing cars but once closed it is pretty quiet. During the night there is not much traffic on that road anyway. There is no A/C in any of the rooms but they do provide a fan. The location is not even a mile from the center of town so no problem if you want to just walk to the shops or restaurants. All in all would recommend this property to anyone staying in Lake City that was looking for something nice and affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RC127272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This motel, which was recently renovated by new owners, has Colorado-themed rooms that are superbly decorated with great beds and high-end finishes. Bathroom was among best we have ever had in a motel. However, the motel is on a steep driveway at the very north end of town, so way "out of the action" area and removed from downtown, restaurants, etc. Some views, but not the best the town has to offer. Construction underway was a bit disrupting, but not too bad and looked to be nearly complete. Worst thing about our room - called "Ute Trail" - was the room's layout where it was hard to see the TV from the couch, so we had to re-arrange some furniture. Also, if you're like me and like to watch TV in bed, this room is NOT the one to get. The end of the bed is so high, you can't see through it to the TV.

Room Tip: Think twice about the Ute Trail room (even though it is on the end) if you like watching TV, or one...
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SharonInColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFLodge, Owner at The North Face Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your review and we have placed the flat screen television higher on the wall so it can now be viewed easily from the bed. We have remodeled, updated and redecorated our 15 rooms and feel that much has been accomplished in two short summer seasons. Our guest's comments are valued and we have responded by placing recommendations on our "action" list. We hope that you will visit us again for more great hiking and perhaps try another room with an entirely different thematic decor reflecting the essence of Lake City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManuelGoWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake City
19.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
156 reviews
21.7 mi away
Arrowhead Mountain Lodge
Arrowhead Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cimarron
53 reviews
19.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 15 in Ouray
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
19.8 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
102 reviews
19.9 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Face Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Face Lodge

Address: 1223 N. Hwy. 149, Lake City, CO 81235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Lake City
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering fifteen updated rooms creatively designed to reflect the activities in and around the historic town of Lake City. King, queen and twin beds, some kitchenettes fully equipped, flat screen tv's, free WiFi. Great deck to relax and enjoy river and mountain views with fire tables and deck heaters. Room themes such as Black Bear, Aspen, Ute Trail, Gold Mine, Cowhands, Anglers, Fourteeners, Columbine, Antlers, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing