We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Prepared for the WIND or go somewhere else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eleven Mile State Park Campground
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be Prepared for the WIND or go somewhere else!”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Four adults and one child. We had two tents and used to have a shade/shelter. The views were good, the water was fine and the clear starry nights were great. the vault toilets were clean but the odor was unusually potent. The weather was terrible. We were on the westerly egde of the campground without any trees or rocks to speak of. The mornings were OK but around midday, the wind would come up strong and it would last through the afternoon and in to the night. Campground staff seemed to be aware of the windy conditions that were prevalent, but provided no warning or advice to those who were selecting campsites. The Backcountry sites were excellent, with trees and rocks and protection from the wind, but the western edge experienced gale force winds that blew down every tent in our campground, and wrecked the less sturdy shelter tents. Cooking was almost impossible on a cook stove as the wind was too strong to allow even water to boil for a simple spaghetti meal. We gave up after two nights and cut our camping experience short by two days. It was curious that the locals seemed to understand when we explained why we cut our trip short, but the camp staff did not share their knowledge. The showers were great, but the rest of the experience was bad. This was the very worst campsite I have had in Colorado spanning 15 years.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannokNakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
18
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I only was staying one night so I chose the first available campsite I came across. It was at the lake's edge and not crowded at all. The site was for a trailer/rv but I was car camping so I had to pay the full price. In addition to that, one has to pay a vehicle fee, too. (nickle and dimeing) There was a pit toilet closeby but there are better restrooms further into the state park. My site had a fire ring, a table with a shelter. The weather was rain and a some hail but even then the place is very beautiful. If I were staying longer I would have found a tent site and closer to the showers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Escopeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We car camped with our tent, three kids and dog at Rocky Ridge Campground at Eleven Mile Reservoir, Site 118, late July of 2009. All sites have one fire ring with a flip top grill, and picnic table.

This site is a bit of a hike from the car. The website says 300 ft, but it is a bit farther than that. Prepare your gear to be carried up a hill on a dirt/sand trail. It is a lovely spot nestled into the rocks and trees with a great view of the reservoir below. Very quiet and private, which we prefer. NO generator noise. It is shaded in the morning, but had sun on it by 11:00am, and when the sun was shining, the site receives sun the rest of the day. The pit toilets are located back down the hill beyond the parking area, not close by.

Eleven Mile does have drinking water. There is an elderly water pump within walking distance of the site, but the water there is rusty. Instead, set up camp and then drive back to the park office with your water jug. Get your water from the red pump on the street to the left of the park office/shower house. It is crystal clear and much easier and faster to pump

I highly recommend Rocky Ridge site 119, if you can get it! Even more private than 118, this site is completely unseen by other sites, is circular, totally nested into the rocks and trees with even BETTER views! I'm not sure if there is more of a wind break there, but let's hope so. There was a large group camped up there with multiple tents. We think many families reserved the other sites around us, and all just stayed together on the top at 119 instead of spreading out. There was nobody around to hassle and tell them otherwise. The trail head to the top of what I assume is Rocky Ridge, is at the top of the circle of site 119. We'd like to go back to this site.

The big issue with Eleven Mile is evidently the wind and weather conditions. We erect an EZUp sun shade over our picnic table to give us shade and coverage from the rain. This gives our family more options to sit at the table and play games, etc. during stinky weather. Simply trying to keep this thing up in the gale force wind at Eleven Mile proved to be quite a challenge. We spent a good deal of our time trying to get out of the weather conditions and keep our stuff from blowing away. From reading other reviews, I think windy conditions are the order of the day at Eleven Mile. This would explain why there were sailboats on the reservoir!

There is AT&T cell service at Eleven Mile. This came in handy as my husband was able to follow weather alerts and forecasts from his iPhone. We would like to try camping here again. Due to weather, we cut our trip early. We did not stay long enough to check out the coin showers ($1.75 for 7 minutes in sparkling clean bathhouses), laundry facilities or fishing. We had fun and did see the potential to have more fun there in the future. Hope this is helpful to other tent campers.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank happymeadows66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

After not having much luck finding a good campground for tents in the Woodland Park, CO area we decided to check out Eleven Mile State Park. They have nine separate campgrounds with a nice variety of tent sites and RV sites. We were just looking for one night of camping but it would be easy to stay there for three days or more. They have a nice lake for boating and fishing, hiking trails, amazing views, and bird watching. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The only down falls we experienced were:

1) There were not many trees in the camping area we were in and the wind blew all the time so we felt a little exposed and cooking outside was a challenge.

2) While we saw people going around cleaning the "bathrooms" (pit toilet), some campers seem to not have respect for others and made a mess soon after they were cleaned. Other campers had radios playing and let their dogs bark. I don't know if this is typical of the people that stay here or just an off weekend.

3) The staff didn't seem to have a clue how many campsites were available. When we called and asked they would say "we have a few" but when we got there they had plenty of available sites.

The site was $14 per night plus $6 for a day use park pass so the total was $20.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

I was really surprised with Eleven Mile Canyon. The drive up to it was very dull but the campsite was really beautiful. We stayed at a basic campground for $14 a night. There was a picnic table and fire ring, a primitive bathroom was nearby but no shower. We had to hike about a mile and a half around the reservoir to get to our site. The area is wooded with campsites scattered in the small clearings. Beautiful rock slabs all around. Huge boulders border the lake. Unfortunately there is no swimming, only fishing. We did have to put our food up because of bears but that’s pretty common in Colorado. Some campsites are open year round. Contact Colorado State Parks by phone or online to make reservations. We really enjoyed our stay and have gone back many times.

Helpful?
1 Thank meaganmarie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eleven Mile State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleven Mile State Park Campground

Property: Eleven Mile State Park Campground
Address: 4229 County Road 92, Lake George, CO 80827-9201
Region: United States > Colorado > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Eleven Mile State Park Campground Hotel Lake George
11 Mile State Park Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing