We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Bargain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Denver West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Denver West Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great location if you want access to Denver and to points north or South. CLOSE to Red Rocks. Makes it a lot easier to get to mountains for the day from here than downtown, which is about 10 miles East. The staff and service are excellent. The restaurant choices are shabby in the area but the hotel restaurant is above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Denver West and for taking the time to tell us you enjoyed your stay! We're always delighted to hear praise and we're glad that you liked our new restaurant La Cave. It is my favorite restaurant in the Denver Metro area and the owners Elizabeth and Youssef pride themselves in providing world class cuisine and service.

Best wishes for great travel experiences. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    144
    68
    36
    20
See reviews for
95
66
31
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We made the reservation here for my parents for two nights through a reservation website. My parents said they had a good time, but we had a problem when we helped them check out. The voucher showed the total price (= two nights) would be $238. However, the hotel misunderstood that the price would be $238 per night. We were about to pay the extra $238 and leave the hotel.
We noticed it in the parking lot, then came back and asked to a receptionist to check the bill again. But she was not so helpful, and her advice to us was to talk with the reservation company to confirm the price, and come back.
30 minutes later, we found out an accounting manager was actually working just behind the front desk, and we suggested we should talk with an accounting manager. But the receptionist gave us the manager’s business card, and advised us to call her back later.
We didn’t give up, of course. The accounting manager showed up later. She looked at our voucher, then she started to make a new bill for us without any explanation to us. She said “Sorry about that” in a small voice at the end, but we never ever considered that she apologized us for this confusion. The useless receptionist also didn’t say anything to us either, though we wasted 1 hour there.
After all, we learned we should check the bill carefully, and wouldn’t let our important guests stay here by the time the hotel will train employees better. We like the location and the good price of this hotel, so hope it will do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
This guest booked their reservation through a foreign Asian website that we have never worked with before. Their reservation came via fax and was very difficult to understand. When the guest checked in; our front desk agent verified the rate (evidently double their agreed upon rate) in writing on their key packet and no mention was made regarding a problem with the rate. We would have been happy to look into the matter at that time if it was brought to our attention.

Upon check out the guest's daughter (?) produced a copy of the reservation confirmation and the agent once again verified the rate that was shown on the sheet. It was very difficult to understand even under careful scrutiny. The error was then identified and the guest was made whole with a refund immediately and a sincere apology was given.

A strong language barrier prevented us from communicating with the guest effectively and we are very sorry for the error.

Guests booking online through our website or any of the standard online travel companies would NEVER have this issue in our hotel and we are sincerely sorry for the error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business and it was a fine hotel in a good location. I took off some stars because there was some water damage and some rooms were closed.

The gym is located on the second floor and is a good quality Sheraton gym with two rooms, elipticals, treadmills and free weights. I would have appreciated some water. The way to the gy is poorly labeled, took me awhile to find it.

The breakfast spread was pretty good, though service was hit or miss. Filling up the cup of coffee seemed to take a little long.

The room was fine, though the split bathroom was too much. The shower and toilet were in one super small room, while the sink was outside. I would have preferred a better bathroom.

Room Tip: High room facing the mountains are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCC14173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are sorry that your stay was affected by the monsoon rainstorm damage. The Sheraton Denver West received between 3-4 inches of rain in about 30 minutes July 13th and our 2nd floor foyer was flooded. We had crews working 24/7 to minimize any guest inconvenience and are thankful nobody was hurt during this incredible downpour that damaged every building in our neighborhood.

The bright side: We just completed the impromptu renovation of our hotel and our product is better than ever! I'm sure you'll be dazzled the next time you visit!

We apologize for any inconvenience this caused and thank you for your understanding. We are committed to ensuring positive guest experiences and did everything possible to minimize the effects of this surprise from Mother Nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I booked the room through a popular travel site. Got to the hotel late at night. Tired from driving all day. Front desk said that they were full and could only give me a room with a king bed. Told him no can do. There were 4 of us and I booked 4 people. All of a sudden he somehow had a room ready giving me a story that the room was out of service but he put it in service. Whatever! The 2 elevators they had, smelled bad because guests had spilled liquor inside it. I saw 6 to 8 people drinking beer just outside the lobby doors. Not a cool sight to see.

To be fair, the bed, sheets and pillows were really nice. Above average. The rooms are a bit out-dated. It has a 70's feel to it.

I probably would skip staying there next time. I didn't like the fact that people are drinking outside the lobby door. That's just me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your message. This statement is correct; room types are only guaranteed when booking directly through our hotel. This is true for all major chain affiliated hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kremmling, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel looks like it is in need of repair. Black curtain covering construction (?) when you enter the lobby. First room I had was not cleaned properly and had hair in tub, floor and fridge. Manager on duty that night was very helpful and instantly changed my room and even brought my new room key to me. He offered complimentary drinks in the club room level (12th floor). Second room had dog hair all over carpet. Windows in both rooms had duct tape holding them together. By this time, I did not want to move all my stuff again so just dealt with it. Club room was not all that-lots of kids hanging out. Decided to hot tub. It was luke warm at best. All this was ok, believe it or not. Bed was comfortable and linens were nice. What really drove me away was the knock on the door at 8:15 the next morning from housekeeping "just checking" to see if we were still in our room. We wanted to sleep in because we were out late the night before. No chance on that. Why would housekeeping knock on the door to check to see if we were still there? The front desk employee told me that is just their procedure. A La Quinta or Best Western would be cheaper and cleaner compared to this visit.

Room Tip: check before you set your stuff down that there is no hair in the fridge or the tub.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did like that there were recycle bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristiColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We believe this review was posted by a malicious competitor and that all aspects of this reveiw are false.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed last weekend and enjoyed the pleasant staff. Mary, Jason and Josh were nice, professional and always accommodating.

The rooms can use an upgrade and it's pretty ridiculous to me that in 2013 there is no microwave or refrigerators in all the rooms. You can be put on a waiting list for a refrigerator.

The front of the building is a bit loud even from the 9th floor. The air conditioner has much to be desired. It's loud and the room never really got cold although the ac went on and off all night.

Location was good walking distance to a strip of small delis and casual eating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad that you enjoyed the service provided by our front desk associates and our location.

The great majority of the business travelers that stay at the Sheraton Denver West prefer not to have the microwave and refrigerator appliances in their rooms for noise and hygeine reasons. We recognize that many guests also like these amenities so we do have refrigerators available on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sheraton hotels are always good, so this was no exception, but it was average for a Sheraton. The location is very convenient for the Mountains, Boulder, or downtown Denver. They have nice facilities, but the club lounge was very small for breakfast...they could sure use a little more seating. The club food was average. The point value is only 7000 per night so the value was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management360Union, Manager at Sheraton Denver West Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Denver West and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We're glad that you appreciate our brand, location, facilities and value. We'll hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakewood
3.0 mi away
Hyatt House Denver/Lakewood at Belmar
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West Federal Center
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Denver West - Federal Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver West - Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver West Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver West Hotel
Address: 360 Union Boulevard, Lakewood, CO 80228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lakewood
#6 Business Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Denver West Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Denver West Hotel. Enjoy the spectacular beauty of the Rocky Mountain foothills or unobstructed views of the skyline from our comfortable guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton Denver West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Lakewood
Lakewood Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing