We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have work in the area - otherwise not much to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great if you have work in the area - otherwise not much to do”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I've stayed in this hotel a lot in the past two years because it is very close to my organization's HQ. It's mostly comfortable and the rate we get is excellent (includes free internet and breakfast), so it's hard to justify staying anywhere else. But I just don't like the area around it. It's a bunch of strip malls. However, any kind of chain restaurant you might want is likely within a mile.

The restaurant is a decent sports bar.

The staff try very hard but there are occasional lapses like the time they gave a key to my room to someone else. Fortunately I'd left the do not disturb sign on the door.

I'd recommend it if you have work or family in the area, but otherwise find something in town or on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood during your business trips to the Denver area. You're right that the immediate area around the hotel is more corporate-driven, with lots of restaurant options (though we really feel that our own Sporting News Grill is by far the best and most convenient!). You are also correct that our team does strive to provide exceptional customer service... but, we are human and mistakes do happen, though we hope very rarely - thank you for your patience and continued patronage. And yes, we are just an hour from the ski slopes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    100
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
69
57
19
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed at this Holiday Inn with two other couples for New Year's. Even though we decided to go elsewhere to celebrate, the manager helped me arrange reliable transportation to get back to the hotel - very important at 1:00 am and below zero degrees outside. The front desk staff was helpful, prompt and friendly - the lobby updated and welcoming with a gas fire. Bedrooms tastefully furnished and pillows (both firm and soft provided) and King bed were extremely comfortable. This may sound weird, but my husband accidently left a very nice coat hanger in the closet, and the housekeeping staff found it and contacted me so I could pick it up after work Monday. WOW! Thanks for making it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KruserDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Happy New Year and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood to ring in the new year. We strive daily to exceed our guests expectation -- thank you so much for letting us know that we've done so for you. Safe travels in 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butte Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

As a very frequent business traveler I am subjected to many aspects of customer service. On this particular stay at the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood I recieved the best customer service I have experienced in my last 93 hotel stays. From the curtious greeting and helpfulness of Morgan who checked me in, to the staff and management that checked me out the next morning, the stay was the most pleasant I have had at a hotel. I generally do not take the time to write reviews, however the customer service provided was so exceptional that I felt it appropriate to share my experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredButteMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 13 December 2010
We at the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood take guest reviews very very seriously .... those that suggest improvement as well as those that are complimentary. We read them regularly-- from the hotel management to ownership. From all of us, 'Thank You' for taking the time to post your review -- it means so much when guests post about their positive experiences, re-inforcing to all of us that we are on the right track. We'll continue to give 150% and look forward to your next visit to the Denver area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed here under difficult circumstances while my wife was in Craig Hospital after breaking her neck. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful to us in getting us through this tough time. Lobby is modern and inviting. Rooms are recently remodeled and done so in good taste.They are also spotless! Beds are extrremely comfortable. And, the staff is awesome. No wonder they are one of the highest ranked hotels in the Holiday Inn chain.
The restaurant/sports bar is a fun placer to hang out as well, with good food.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamboatScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 30 November 2010
Thank you so much for posting your kind review. We work hard on ensuring we not only provide excellent service but also upscale amenities in a clean, comfortable environment. It is very much appreciated when our efforts are acknowledged from guests such as yourself. Our hearts go out to you and your wife and thank you for allowing us to be your 'home away from home' during this difficult time. All the best and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My husband and I got married earlier this month in Colorado. The hotel was wonderful and in close proximity to everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was very friendly, and extremely courteous in providing directions, maps, and local knowledge to all the places we wanted to visit. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was very nice, especially if you enjoy sports! The rooms were very spacious and extremely clean. The fall is definitely a great time to enjoy this area. We are already making plans to come back. Not a single negative thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Congratulations on your wedding! We are so pleased that you allowed us to be a part of your celebration. Looking forward to you coming back for your 1 yr anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains Usa
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The people at this Holiday Inn were excellent customer service representatives. They were always friendly, welcoming and eager to serve.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood. We are so pleased that we exceeded your customer service expectations, which is always our goal. Looking forward to your next trip to the Denver area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Hotel is older building that has been upgraded and is decent in decor. Rooms are average in size and do have nice, updated furnishings, but Holiday Inn seems to be a chain stuck in the 90's when it comes to televisions; this is the second Holiday Inn I have stayed at in a month that has an old television set. I know some people find it silly to complain about a tv, but when you travel regularly on business and you are at a hotel for 2 or more days, you sometimes want to come back to a comfortable room and nice tv to watch. The bathroom was ok, but the tub is too small; I rarely soak in the tub, but decided to one night and as a short person the tub seems very small to me.

Staff at front was nice, but they get overwhelmed whenever you need them and I will assume this is purely coincidental because there seems to only be one person on call whenever I pass. The fitness center is actually one of the largest and best that I have seen in a small to mid-size hotel, although the cardio equipment needed to be updated; strange thing is they have a nice LCD tv in the fitness room but not in guest rooms. Fitness area also has a nice hot tub (if you trust hot tubs) and a sauna.

Sports bar downstairs is decent, something on the same scale as a Chili's or Applebee's, although the food is so-so and prices are a little high, but the servers and bartender were really nice and if you love sports, it has LCD tv's all over the place.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel94531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, 28 October 2010
Thank you for your detailed review - we are pleased that you approved of most of our recent renovations to the hotel, and yes, we hear you about the TV's... and we do have flat screens on order to be installed early 2011. Yeah! We are also looking at purchasing new treadmills and elliptical machines for the fitness center in the next several months as well. We strive daily to be more than just 'OK' -- and appreciate comments that tell us where and how we need to improve. We've shared your comments with our entire team - thank you for being candid and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Denver area where we can prove that we are more than just 'OK'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakewood hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver - Southwest/Lakewood
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lakewood Denver
0.2 mi away
Best Western Denver Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood
4.0 mi away
Hyatt House Denver/Lakewood at Belmar
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Southwest/Lakewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Property: Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
Address: 7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lakewood
#3 Business Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver area hotel newly renovated in 2009 - all guestrooms and public areas are beautiful and inviting. Free wireless and hardwired internet throughout the hotel; computer access and services available in the large business center. Exercise room, whirlpool, sauna, outdoor pool and free local shuttle are enjoyed by business and leisure guests alike. Holiday Inn Lakewood is a short trip to downtown Denver via lightrail or just an hour from the Rocky Mountains. Ski Packages avail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Holiday Inn Lakewood
Lakewood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing