We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is not enough.”
Review of The Yabby Hut

The Yabby Hut
Ranked #20 of 389 Restaurants in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant is where an adult be a kid. The table is covered with a big piece of wax paper, and once you get your food the waiter comes along and puts a bib on you. They have seafood and if you love seafood then you will love this one. It's amazing taste come in extra hot, hot, medium and mild. The flavors are incredible, your seafood comes in cooking bags. These bags are tied and when you open the bag the aroma of all these different taste are incredible. Please go and try this for yourself. I say a taste of maybe one country and one other state and I am not going to tell you because you will have to try it for your self. Soooo soooo good.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Once is not enough.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I was in Denver on a business trip and found this restaurant using one of those pop-up map viewers. There are no Cajun places near me so I jumped at the opportunity to try out this restaurant. There are three aspects of this restaurant that stick out. The food (good), the service (good) and the atmosphere (funky).

I "went light" by just ordering the fried shrimp and clam chowder. My friend ordered the pound of shrimp with a couple of sides. You can order the food as spicy as you want. The booths are well worn with lots of graffiti. The server topped the table with the largest piece of wax paper I've ever seen. My food came in a basket and bowl, but my friends came in a bag which got dumped on the wax paper.

I have to say that the food was spiced just the way I like. The service was top-notch. I don't like to think of myself as a 'needy' customer, but the waiter did have to make a few extra trips for me.
I would definitely recommend this place to anybody with and open mind, who is looking for something a little different. Once is not enough and I will be back at the Yabby Hut the next chance I get.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We had so much fun .... and oh so yummy !!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is one of the best restaurants we ate at during our US holidays. We were introduced to this excellent seafood joint by our friends from Denver. The quirky way in which the food was served on a large piece of waxed paper on the table added much to our enjoyment - we simply ate with our bare hands off the table !! Creating a small mount of shells for posting on the Hall of Fame on the wall was fun. The seafood was very reasonably priced and fresh. I love the shrimps and clams cooked in their signature out-of-this-planet cajun sauce. Please consider starting a franchise in our hometown of Sydney, Australia !!! Thank you Yabby Hut for a fantastic dinning experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anak_Johor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No place better for seafood”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Found this little place tucked away in a Lakewood stripmall a block off of Wadsworth/285. No better place for crab, loster, shrimp, and they spice it the way you want.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpease45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST CAJUN IN TOWN”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I absolutely love this place. best crayfish, shrimp baby clams
xxx heat level with yabby spice is the way to go.
prices are excelent and i have not had anything bad from there.
absolutely love it andd everyone i take there agrees
try it and you wont be dissapointed at all

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ledesma303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Tasty Little Critters!!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'd not been here before and visited with three friends of mine on a Sunday afternoon after a round of golf. We started off with a dozen oysters which were very good but what made them even better was the cocktail sauce that they served with it. It had a little different taste and kick than other cocktail sauces that I've had before.

We then ordered three pounds of crawfish, corn, potatoes and sausage in the medium Cajun sauce to split among the four of us. Wow, tasty! Crawfish aren't particularly filling but were so good we decided to order two more pounds to split. The Cajun sauce that they mixed everything in was amazing and had the perfect amount of kick to it, but not too much! After we polished off a total of 5 pounds I could have eaten more but no one else in my group shared my enthusiasm. Regardless I did not leave hungry, it had just been a while since I'd had crawfish and enjoyed it thoroughly!

I believe the entire meal including two beers a piece (red ale which isn't their own brew but was a perfect accompaniment) was about $80 total or $20+/- per person. Even though it's on the other side of town and a bit of a drive for me I will definitely be back! If you love crawfish you'll love this place!

Warning - From what my friends tell me do not visit on a Friday or Saturday night. Apparently this place (which is not very big) is hopping and is very difficult to get in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Legamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Yabby Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing