We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Carino's Italian-Lakewood - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carino's Italian-Lakewood
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
LAKEWOOD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Tend to go at least once a week due to proximity and haven't had a bad experience. The Happy hour offerings are outstanding and I ask for a booth in the bar to avoid noisy children. Odd as it sounds, they have killer-good steaks! (I know, like ordering chicken in a fish joint). Had the BACON Mac & Cheese - delicious! My fave is Bow-tie pasta - there's bacon in one version. What's not to like? I avoid high traffic hours cause the cement floors lend to poor acoustics, but some booths are quite cozy and not so loud. But who goes to an Italian joint for quiet? The warm bread and garlicy oil- wonderful. Salads consistently cold, crisp and tasty, too. The appetizer pizzas an excellent value and the baked mushrooms - yummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Garlic, Garlic and more Garlic”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Everything tastes like garlic. Cheese pasta, marina pasta, meats, you name it.....garlic.

Helpful?
Thank diehlsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average overpriced Italian chain food”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I won't go back. There are too many other choices in Denver and surrounds to go to this chain food restaurant and be treated as a commodity. The food was poorly prepared, like it came from an Italian food factory, service was lackluster and pushy when it came to ramping up the order with extras.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AskMariaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I'll go somewhere else”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had dinner here on a Saturday night. The restaurant was not very busy. I had a Create Your Own pasta dish with spaghetti and sausage and also had chili. The chili was the worst I have had anywhere. I kid you not, when I tasted it I thought immediately of Chef Boyardee-those cans of horrid spaghettios you used to see in supermarkets. The taste reminded me of when I was a kid eating that stuff. The chili was just awful. As for my main dish, it was average or below. They were generous with the sausage, but the sausage did not seem of a very good quality; it seemed overcooked and didn't have much taste. It was rather tough. I was sorry I got the meal. On the other hand, their complementary bread was good and they happily brought seconds of the bread. Service was good, our waiter was good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We've visited during lunch.
The food and sevice was was good. I did like the fact that the pushy drink sales staff didn't appear. We did enjoyed dining in a relaxed atmosphere. It reminds me of Olive Garden.

Helpful?
Thank zombee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carino's Italian-Lakewood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing