We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good New Mexican-style food in Denver”
Review of Jose O'Sheas

Jose O'Sheas
Ranked #19 of 389 Restaurants in Lakewood
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good New Mexican-style food in Denver”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was raised in New Mexico and am used to New Mexican-style "Mexican food," which is different than any other state -- and even differs between northern and southern New Mexico. Jose O'Sheas comes close to my idea of really good Mexican food, from the chips and the salsa to the tacos and enchiladas and chile rellenos. My last meal there was lunch, with 3 other adults from New Mexico. Each of us enjoyed the food, the ambiance, and the service. I'll continue to eat there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a neat Mexican Restaurant!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great Mexican food with a great south of the border atmosphere. To die for salsa and a great selection of items on their menu. We arrived around 6PM for dinner, the place filled up quickly but the service was GREAT. Our salsa and chips were replenished without asking and our soft drinks magically appeared just as we emptied the prior. Our server Jeremy was pleasant and prompt, patiently answering our questions about the menu and offering suggestions. Reasonably priced, overall a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScubaLadyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very good Mexican food and a good value - very reasonably priced. The restaurant is a two story Mexican adobe style mansion with lots of different rooms and nooks to sit in. Really neat place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogogo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“amazing place”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

By far the best mexican food I've ever had in the state of Colorado. I had the shredded beef burritos, which it's really hard to find shredded beef in Colorado. Also the crunchy taco shells were homemade and they have a lot of different things to choose from. The person I went with had the chili relleno with the cream cheese sauce. Everything was great. They gave us free refills on the horchata, which was delicious. This is more like an Arizona, sonoran mexican food, or like you would find in Mexico city.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dakota S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant on Union Blvd.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This Mexican restaurant has bet best food for the best value in the Lakewood area. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Food selection is vast and plentiful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose O'Sheas also viewed

 

Been to Jose O'Sheas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing