We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bet in Lamar.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lamar
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best bet in Lamar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just finished a three night stay. Clean, comfortable, quiet, good breakfast (and the food service area was immaculately clean at that). The best thing was the knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to make my stay uneventful. Friendliest bunch I've encountered in a long time. My only issue was the wifi which seemed slow and clunky.

Room Tip: It sits east/west on a north/south highway so it didn't make any difference which side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HinColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I appreciate that you taken the time to write a review and acknowledge your experience with us. We are trying everyday to keep up with the misunderstandings, thank-you and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    41
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
28
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were three friends traveling on motorcycles from Colorado Springs to visit the Sand Creek Massacre Historic Site, and decided that Lamar would be a good overnight stop on our tour through SE Colorado and northern New Mexico.
Reservation was very easy over the phone a few days prior to arrival. Check-in was a breeze with the young clerk who was most helpful with choosing the right suite for us and some local information.
We all needed a hot soak in the jaccuzzi and a dip in the pool after riding motorcycles all day, especially the very sandy dirt road to Sand Creek.
Very restful sleep, though the Days Inn sun was shinig into our 3rd floor suite all night, since we didn't bother to close the curtains. We had requested a quiet room and indeed it was very quiet and peaceful all night long.
Breakfast was wonderful. Amazed at the choices, and we all loved the scrambled eggs and pancakes!!!!
Thank you so very much for providing such a clean and friendly place to relax and recoup!!!!

Room Tip: I always choose quiet top floors and away from the elevators, if at all possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmelkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I am very glad you had a great experience with us at the HIE in Lamar, Colorado. We appreciate you and hope to welcome you back. Thank-you on your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were on a road trip tour of historic spots in SE Colorado and were caught up in a bad dust storm. The Holiday Inn was a welcome sight for tired eyes in Lamar. It's off the highway far enough that the only noise we heard was the dust beating against the window - no traffic noise and the area is filled with tractor trailer rigs. From check in to check out we enjoyed great service, very clean and comfortable rooms (wish the sink was separated from the toilet and tub though) and a great hot full breakfast. There are only few restaurants for dinner in and around town and mostly Asian or Mexican. The location is central to the Sand Creek Massacre, the Japanese interment camp and Fort Bent. Great hotel even if cookie cutter Holiday Inn Express. The staff made a big difference.

Room Tip: Third floor was really quiet. Had room 311 just far enough away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grammiegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
I am very glad you had a great experience with us at the HIE in Lamar, Colorado. We appreciate you and hope to welcome you back. Thank-you on your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel modern and clean, friendly staff, good location, extensive breakfast bar. The breakfast bar was well maintained, too. Through no fault of their own restaurant choices in town basically run only to a few fast food choices. Surprisingly quiet hotel as busy as it is.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dtbuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Lamar, Colorado. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help us better our services for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The front desk was very pleasant. Check in was smooth. The rooms were very clean. The west side of the hotel is Hwy. 50 and a busy route. Ask for a room on the east end. They have rooms for pets. The parking is plenty. The amazing thing was the breakfast. I stayed 5 days, Each morning it was fresh with a few changes each day. The pool was very clean and lots of fresh towels. the attention to details was excellent for a small town hotel. I very highly recommend staying here. The best place in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justtravelng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express in Lamar, Colorado. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help us better our services for the future! Our staff works diligently to ensure every guest's stay is nothing less than fantastic - we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us! We aim to provide the best amenities for the most reasonable price! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sublette, Kansas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Needing a one night on the road stop, we tried the Holiday Inn Express. Sean greeted us when we got there and set us up. He seemed to be a one man show but that didn't slow him down a bit. Great attitude and very helpful. Rooms were clean and parking was easy. Pool area was well kept and clean. Breakfast the next morning was straightforward and well stocked. If you've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before you know what to expect and the Lamar staff delivers. I would definitely stay here again if needing a place in Lamar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
I am very glad you had a great experience with us at the HIE in Lamar, Colorado. We appreciate you and hope to welcome you back. Thank-you on your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

New and Clean rooms, staff friendly, breakfast plentiful. We stayed at this hotel on our way up north. We had our two cats with us and they allowed pets. Several other people had pets with them, there is an open area for dog walking. The hotel clerk was friendly and helpful and suggested the steakhouse across the street for dinner which was really good. He even told us we could walk through the hotel to get closer to the steakhouse since it was a little chilly out. All in all a great place to stop and rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSands12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
I want to thank-you for staying with us at the HIE in Lamar, Colorado and giving us a great review. We appreciate you willing to write your opinions about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamar hotels
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Lamar
Days Inn Lamar
#1 of 9 in Lamar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
1.8 mi away
Chek Inn
Chek Inn
#3 of 9 in Lamar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Spruce Motel
Blue Spruce Motel
#6 of 9 in Lamar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
3rd Street Nest Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Lamar
Super 8 Lamar
#8 of 9 in Lamar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
Address: 1304 N. Main Street, Lamar, CO 81052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing