We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of shady owners”
Review of Blue Spruce Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Spruce Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Florissant, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of shady owners”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked our room online. Upon check in a frisoend of our had a room with 3 queen beds. The front desk clerk said it was fine to stay in their room and that they would give our room to the next customer. She stated it would not be a big deal because it was a busy weekend and the room would be taken. The clerk reassured us that we would not be billed since we never cheked in and everything would be fine. Stayed 2 nights. Clean rooms, nothing negative. Not sure about the breakfast because we were up and out before breakfast both mornings.
2 weeks later as I am going over my bank statement they billed me for a room that I never stayed in after the front desk said that we would not. The owners rufused to refund our money because they have a 2 day cancellation policy. Their employee lied (or was undertraind and not aware of the policy) about us not being charged. I am fine with the policy but not ok with being told that we would not be billed and then get billed.
If you want a nice clean room with shady owners and untrained staff than this is the place for you. If you want a nice clean room with staff that knows what they are doing and owners who care, DO NOT STAY HERE. We will not be back and do not reccomend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
24
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This a wonderful place to lodge in Lamar Colorado. Although, the decor is older, this motel more than makes up for this with comfortable beds, a quiet environment and excellent service. The Innkeepers are extremely friendly, helpful and willing to provide information about the town and the surrounding area. They provide a nice continental breakfast and a warm morning greeting upon check out! Definitely a highly recommended lodging.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My siblings and I all stayed here in early 2011 (I know, not terribly recent) but it was such a wonderful stay, I wanted ot review it none the less. The family that runs the property is so kind and thoughtful. They even gave us the newspaper with our granddad's obituary in it (we never told them his name, they pieced it together).

It is extremely clean and well run. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahNSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I came through Lamar in mid June and stayed at the Blue Spruce. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was so clean and the bathrooms were spotless. Traveled through again in late July specificity that route so I could be assured to have a clean room to stay. The managers, Jeff and Ann are the best. Ladies, if you are traveling alone, it is a VERY SAFE PLACE. Keep in mind it is an older place, bet well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txmaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamarcolorado, Manager at Blue Spruce Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest

We are glad that you were happy with your stay at our property and thank you for choosing our property for your stay. We will make sure we continue the trend of having happy and satisfied customers.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Blue Spruce may have been built in the 1950's but the owners have done a wonderful job in updating it. It was very clean and the room was spacious. Little touches like the poster beds just added to the experience. The owners are friendly and good hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkrafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plainview, tx
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

saw it on trip advisor and thought we'd take a chance ; gald we did. this is an older place that the current owners are bringing up to date. the owners are good people. the place is reasonable and the rooms are clean and amazingly well appointed. only draw back was the squeaking floors but that was very minor.swimming pool. would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: i can vouch for room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed one night in this Motel and found it a very nice place it was very neat and the owners were very friendly. While checking in the owner told me some of the event that were going on in town. We went and checked out the BBQ contest and walked downtown and looked at the train station that was also a welcome center. If we find our selfs back in Lamar we would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamar hotels
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Lamar
Days Inn Lamar
#1 of 10 in Lamar
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chek Inn
Chek Inn
#5 of 10 in Lamar
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lamar
1.5 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#3 of 10 in Lamar
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
3rd Street Nest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Spruce Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Motel

Property: Blue Spruce Motel
Address: 1801 S Main St, Lamar, CO 81052-3880
Region: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Spruce Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Spruce Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Hotel Lamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing