We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great surprise!”

Tennessee Pass Cafe
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“what a great surprise!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

4th of July weekend....took a scenic drive and wound up in Leadville. Tennessee Pass Café had a wait line but we were in no hurry. Lunch for 4 was a real treat. Ok.....brussell sprouts do not make a restaurant, but WOW what a great appetizer. And, everybody's meal was very, very good. Service was very pleasant and drinks flowed even tho it took a little time for the food it was well worth the wait. Add this restaurant to the list that "we'll be back".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    147
    46
    22
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Poor Food”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Unfortunately our experience was not very good. Out of the four of us, only one of us got what we originally wanted because they were "out" of our first choices. Service was incredibly slow and not very friendly. When the finally delivered our orders, ingredients were missing...again because they were out of them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasRaindancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Laid back-don't rush”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What some may see as poor service I saw as too few waitresses and a laid back pace. I enjoyed not being rushed and taking an hour to eat lunch. Yes, the waitress sat down at our table while taking our order but why not? I'm sure she's constantly on her feet and it set the tone for a relaxed lunch. The enchiladas were enormous and yummy. We ate on the terrace where there were dog toys for your furry friends to enjoy...nice touch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9191traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food Was Good”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Our meals were good with a little delay in service from a very nice waitress. We sat inside because outside was very busy and only location was directly under some sort of noisy vent. This is a rustic and interesting restaurant. We had some issues with being close to the restroom - very small and there is only one - with an almost constant line of people. We cold tell that some people were upset with slow service because the place was packed....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Portions good for the price”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has charm and the food was good. Our waiter seemed overwhelmed with the amount of customers and it made our service slower than normal, but that is all forgotten when you taste the Brussels sprouts!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tennessee Pass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing