We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colorado Trail House
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The striking thing about arriving at the Leadville Inn is the strange purple colour which contrasts with the deep snow that surrounded the building.

Our room at the Leadville Inn was ‘The Front Room’ with a sleeping porch. This fitted the four of us, two adults and two children reasonably well although the children at 10 & 12 years old are getting a bit big to share a double bed. The main bed was very big but the mattress was latex and not to our liking.

The Inn is a very old building and, as such, has low ceilings in places, narrow doors, and a very small bathroom. The heating system is a very old hydronic system but it still works; it would be hard to survive here without some sort of decent heating.

We were served a breakfast of blueberry waffles and fruit at the time of choosing. The quality and quantity of the food was adequate but not outstanding.

The present owners have not been here long and have a lot of work ahead of them to restore the Inn to some of its former glory. We wish them well.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Noel-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2008

While this was not our favorite place we stayed during our whirlwind 8 day tour of Colorado, it was nice enough.

The breakfast and coffee were very good. The room and bathroom were a little on the small size (the Lodge Room), but I'm sure they had larger rooms available had we chose to reserve one of them instead. A hot tub was available, though we didn't use it. A big plus was cable TV available in the room, which is not always the case with a B&B. Also, there was wireless internet.

Of all the lodgings available in the small town of Leadville, this one appeared to be one of the nicest and must be popular because it was fully booked while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hoppersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed at the Leadville Inn at the beginning of Jully 2008. Dan and Tracy were friendly and very willing to share information about the area. The breakfasts were spectacular (to die for). The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable (memory foam mattress). The location is great and very convienent to many of the popular ski areas. It was a great experience and would highly recommend it to anyone. Gene and Susan

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Leadville Inn this past weekend and were delighted to wake up to 6 inches of snow!

We have stayed at numerous bed and breakfasts around the US as well as in England. The Leadville Inn is now rated as one of our favorites and we plan to go back sometime this winter.

We were greeted by the owners' dogs (which made our day because like most Coloradoans we are dog-people). The Inn is dog-friendly so next time we'll consider bringing our 75 lb German Shepherd.

The location is perfect. We could easily walk anywhere in downtown, including the mining museum and all the restaurants and shopping (my favorite store was Hundley's). It's also located within a few blocks of the Mineral Belt Trail, a 12 mile loop (which we plan to go back and cross country ski later this winter).

We stayed in the Copper Room, which had a very comfy King bed (memory foam mattress and down comforter made it incrediably cozy on a snowy morning). The bathroom was spacious (unusual for a B&B). The main feature of the Copper Room is the gigantic window (it takes up one entire wall). So we had a great view of snow falling on the last of the aspen leaves.

Breakfast was wonderful (blueberry waffles with crispy bacon, a fresh bowl of fruit and fresh orange juice). The proprietors, Tracey and Dan also make very good coffee (available all day).

We were also happy to find Tracey & Dan to be great resources for everything outdoors. They are planning a cross-country ski clinic that would include a stay at the Inn. We will keep checking their website for more information.

We had an early afternoon drink at the famous Silver Dollar Saloon (open since 1879 - Doc Holliday killed a man there).
We had dinner at Quincy's (an incrediable bargain - prime rib is the only item on the menu on the weekends, only $9.95) and drinks at Rosie's (a brew pub).

When we returned to the Inn for the night we jumped in the hot tub while snowflakes swirled around us. A great finish to a great day.

It was a memorable weekend, made even more special by our stay at the Leadville Inn. We can't wait to go back.
[--]

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
13
Reviewed 6 June 2003

A charming Inn. The town of Leadville is truely a gem. It's like going back in time. The town is samll and the people are all so friendly. I would highly recommend a visit. It's worth it!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leadville hotels
0.0 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Trail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Trail House

Address: 127 E 8th St, Leadville, CO 80461-3507 (Formerly Leadville Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Leadville
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colorado Trail House is a 100 year old guest house located in the high Rockies in Leadville, CO. We provide clean, affordable accommodation by way of 7 private rooms and 1 shared bunk room. We offer a communal style house where you can cook your own meals in our commercial kitchen, watch a movie in the living room, and sit and enjoy the crisp mountain air in the courtyard. All rooms have attached private bathrooms and vary in size and can suit many budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leadville Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing