We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
31
9
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
9
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathhome away from homelarge groupshared kitchenthe ownerwould stay here againbunkfunkybedscurtainscolorado
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

PROS: Cool, funky vibe. Clean. Close to town. Friendly owner. Great price. We stayed in the large private bunk room with private bath. Super charming, eclectic , artsy garden. Friendly co-travelers, who will chit chat if you want, or leave you alone if you prefer.

CONS: From online pics, this looks like it's out a ways, but it is in a somewhat run-down tightly packed neighborhood. (It did not help that our GPS took us in "the back way.")

Just be aware if you're not used to hostels:
need to strip your beds and put in laundry room upon departure
shared kitchen, dining, living rooms
mismatched, more rustic decor

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms that open to garden... if you open windows to get some air, you may also get various kinds of smoke....
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hcvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I stayed at the Leadville Hostel when thru-hiking the Colorado Trail. I stayed in 6 different hostels throughout my journey and this was one of them.

PROS: walking distance to downtown, clean, moderately comfy sheets and bunk bed, relaxed feel, large kitchen

CONS: have to pay for a towel and for laundry;

(I liked staying at the Colorado Trail house Hostel in Leadville more)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Got a great sleep in a bunk for $25. Place is clean and everyone respects the 'quiet time' that starts at 10PM each night. Owner has gone to great lengths to make sure you're comfortable and have a restful stay, including the use of side curtains on the bunks. One suggestion: just give every visitor the use of a towel by putting it on the end of the bed. Makes it feel more like home and you don't have to ask for the silly $1 to rent it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank traveljuggernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

This is truly a home away from home. I've been coming here for seven years and it's the highlight of my annual "month in Colorado". I've met some of the most fascinating people one might imagine here. (Example: Two young ladies hiking from the Atlantic to the Pacific!) The bunks are inexpensive. The music in the kitchen (Mississippi blues) is relaxing. Or one can just sit around the 12-seat dining table quietly working on one's iPad or laptop. Oh, or sit outside on the patio gazing at the snow-covered mountains across the valley.... Nothing fancy. It's a home away from home.

Room Tip: Make reservations and tell Cathy if you want a bottom bunk.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This is the second year in a row that a group of 20 stayed at this location. Plenty of room for all of us and a great big kitchen with everything needed to prepare our meals. There are plenty of Nordic skiing and snow shoeing trails nearby and the snow conditions at 10,000 feet are great!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tjayhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews