We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic New Mexican style food”
Review of Grill Bar & Cafe

Grill Bar & Cafe
Ranked #12 of 31 Restaurants in Leadville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic New Mexican style food”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This was a return visit, and by far the best Mexican food we've had in Colorado. Stuffed Sopapilla with shredded beef and BOTH red and green chili was excellent!

Always packed with locals and visitors, service is consistently good and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank CathyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food & Margaritas”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Grill has great Mexican Food and Margaritas. Several locals in Leadville recommended it as the best burrito in town. My husband had a burrito and I had the stuffed Sopapilla. We would both order them again. You can tell it is a favorite place as it is filled with the locals. The staff is very friendly, prompt. Dinners are baked as ordered and on the plates, so the dinner comes out steaming, thus the reason the dinners take a while. It is very loud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvs882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No frills - but very good Mexican food and margaritas.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

First a few caveats: We were there early (4:30) on New Years Eve which is a day (Tuesday) they are normally closed so there were hardly any patrons. Also we hadn't had lunch that day and were starving.

The food was some of the best Mexican food that I have had at a reasonable price. It may not be reasonable for folks from that area, but $12-14 for a combination plate is pretty standard elsewhere. They brought us endless chips and salsa and the portion sizes were large. We were too full to try the sopapillas for dessert unfortunately. It is a no-frills sort of place with local artwork for sale on the walls and limited parking. The bathrooms were very sketchy (no stall doors really?). Décor was almost non-existent with no attempt to really be Mexican. They could have served any type food easily without redecorating. The margaritas were very good and did not taste like a mix for once. Its a little off the main road (where most other shops and restaurants appeared to be) so you have to look for it. Given the other dining options in this area I think it probably was one of the better choices. The red chile sauce is VERY hot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hydrorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Favorite to Hit in Leadville”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We love to go to the Gill when we are in Leadville skiing. The service is a little slow, but the food is great. It's always busy so get there early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is decent Mexican food, nothing special. The burrito was a little cold, but had pretty good taste. The enchiladas were a bit on the weird side and very small. Waitress was very attentive and nice.

Helpful?
Thank dspcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill Bar & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grill Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing