We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible bed; manager non-accommodating”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver King Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Reviewed 12 February 2010

While this hotel had a great deal during our stay ($80/night included two lift tickets), the bed fell an inch or two on one side when you got in it. The overall room was ok and the continental breakfast was good. When I left an article behind upon checkout, the girl at the front desk told me she would retrieve it the next day and ship it to me. Upon inquiring the next week when I didn't receive it, the manager refused to send it to me without me paying for it. Even after I told him what the front desk girl told me, he still refused.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ztagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

Our first room was next door to a "pet" room that had a barking dog. We asked to be moved and were sent to a dirty room that had a bed like a trampoline, foam rubber pillows that were almost flat, a sink that was clogged and a very dirty carpet. This was mid-July and the heat was still on. I was told their is no way to turn it off. They gave me a fan to put in the window, but we were in the front and could not leave the curtains open due to pedestrian traffic past our window. I went back to the desk clerk and her reply was that there is no maintenance or repairs on weekends. I asked for another room after the first night and was told. " I don't know what you like in a bed so I can't move you." I asked about the cancellation policy and was told it is 24 hours. I wanted to move across the street to another motel but was told I'd be charged for the room if I left. The included breakfast is mediocre. I spent time on their website after our stay to find a way to communicate to management, but their is no way to do that through the website. I didn't find any of the accommodations listed in their website to be available. It was expensive, $209 for two nights including tax for two people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cory1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Stayed one night at the Silver King and it was fine. The room was modern and clean. The breakfast and service were good. You have to remember that Leadville doesn't have much there and Silver King looked about the best. The carpet was stained but not gross. No A/C so had to open the window and blinds so people walking by could see us in bed. On main drag so kind of noisy with the window open. I would stay again if I were staying in Leadville overnight but probably would have moved on to another location on our way to Colorado Springs.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank petsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights and hardly slept a wink because the beds were so bad. It felt like we were sleeping on the springs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkNoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The room suprised us with how large and well-appointed it was. It felt more like a lodge than a budget hotel room. A few problems: no air conditioner means no way to circulate air in the room and even more importantly, no way to drown out noise from next door or the parking lot. Bring your own pillows since those supplied are like pancakes. The view is incredible and the breakfast was good. If they just put an AC in the rooms for noise control, this would be a slam-dunk.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRM_Auburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We'd booked a single queen room as that had been the only possibility the booking engine came up with. We were very happy to be upgraded to a king at check in.

Our room was large, well laid out and equipped. The bed and pillows were good. The rooms have no a/c, which theoretically you don't need in Leadville's temperatures. But the room did get a little stuffy at night. The views around the motely are magical. The mountains felt close enough to touch.

The breakfast room was the best of our trip. Not only did it have more than enough tables for everyone, distributed over 2 rooms, but the items weren't crammed into a corner as with most places we stayed. 6 cereals, sweet and savoury bakery items, waffle makers, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, milks, coffees etc, were all laid out over a large area where everyone could easily get at them. It made for a much appreciated stressfree start to the day.

The staff at the Silver King Inn were wonderful. A big thankyou to the ladies who recommended Quincy's and The Grill to us, we really enjoyed both those meals. And Dzien dobry and Dziekuje to the lovely general manager. We hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This is a very good value - in general, Leadville really is. We chose the hotel b/c of its pet policy (very generous - $10 fee, no restrictions). It is on the "outskirts of town" meaning before the 1st taffic light, but was completely close enough. The breakfast was fine - mostly cereals/toasts/danishes - they have a waffle-maker but it takes a long time & is kind of annoying that way. But I liked it was included - we grabbed a yogurt for later. Large rooms, enough for a few people. Relatively clean, the bedding is little worse for the wear. The dog thing is great that they take them, but in the winter, there isn't really a designated walking area & the town has no dog park, so that was a little disappointing at least for us. This is 1 exit to the road to Ski Cooper, which is great. There is free Internet access & very nice staff. All in all, I would stay again b/c of the value. HUGE HINT: If in the main bldg, stay on the 2nd floor - floors are verrrry creaky & our upstairs neighbors kept us up even though we are not light sleepers.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
0.8 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
287 reviews
16.3 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
137 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
780 reviews
19.3 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
#10 of 23 in Breckenridge
364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Inn & Suites

Address: 2020 N Poplar St, Leadville, CO 80461-3357
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range: £30 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of the Rockies! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver King Inn And Suites
Silver King Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing