We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout Anyone?”

Leadville National Fish Hatchery
Alvarado, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trout Anyone?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I thought you just went to a river and threw in your line to catch a trout. I found out it's not that simple! There is a tremendous amount of effort that goes into raising and restocking the rivers of Colorado with trout. Here they are also working to find methods of preventing the extinction of the Green Cutthroat Trout. This was a very informative visit and we got to feed the trout with fish food, watching them churn up the water to be the first to get the food. Children would also enjoy this.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great nature trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was the perfect stop to break up the road trip with two little ones and go for a hike and have lunch. The nature trail is one of the best I have seen, it is well marked and maintained. Perfect one mile loop to do with little kids or just to stretch your legs. There is a fun play/picnic area half way into the hike.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We picked a Great Day to go......July 26”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Today 7/26 is the Hatchery's 125th Anniversary. We were so fortunate to be traveling thru Leadville. We had a great time with all the separate tours and functions they had going. The hatchery itself is a very beautiful building and the grounds are as well. Lions Club was serving a great lunch for a very moderate price. Great piece of history.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun stop along the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We passed through Leadville on our way home from Vail and enjoyed a stop at the fish hatchery. This was a first experience for my wife and kids. We all loved seeing the mass of trout in each tank and the kids loved feeding the fish. The building has a self-guided tour in which you can see everything in 10 minutes.

It was a great stop to stretch our legs and enjoy the mountain air and scenery.

Hiking trails are on the grounds, but we didn't do anything other than view the fish and take a quick walk through the building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leadville, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Shortly after moving up to Leadville we made it a priority to check out some of the surrounding area's. The Fish hatchery does not disappoint. The kids love to get the pellets and feed the fish. Some jump out of the water a little bit so added to the excitement for them. Walking the grounds there is lots of informational's about the area. Looking around the grounds you also find some nice homes on the grounds which offer rich history and a beautiful setting. There is also some hiking trails and a nature trail you can explore as well. The kids love the nature trail, it has so many little surprises once you get back there and in the middle of it all you have a play area, swings, horseshoes, picnic area. I won't ruin it for you but the scenery is ever changing and there is a lot to learn about what used to be back there ;) It's easy enough for the kids to hike and still enjoy themselves. You also have some great scenery of Mt. Massive and Mt. Elbert. If you enjoy nature but don't want to drag the kids to far back into the woods this is a great place to start. It's also a good place for first time hiker's to start out as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leadville National Fish Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to Leadville National Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing