We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay HERE!!!”
Review of Alps Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alps Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We just checked out of this hotel after being there for a week.
We were treated rudely upon arrival and through every interaction with the owners and management during the week.

The wifi did not work and the "complimentary" coffee was no longer available after day 2 of our stay.

When we checked out they tried to tell us we had to pay for maid service to clean the room (normal cleaning needed after a one week stay - nothing extra)

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank airforcefam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed in the Alps Motel last night. When we checked in, we were not given a password for the WiFi. When I called at 945 last night, no one answered the phone. Rooms are clean but outdated a bit. This was a good stay for the price but be aware that if you need a service, have an emergency in your room with plumbing, electricity, etc, you will (taking from my experience and past reviews) not be able to contact the front desk. They have recycling bins for bottles and plastics which is always a plus. Overall, this seems to be a mom-and-pop hotel with average rooms but poor service. If you're looking for a place to crash for the night, its a good value just be sure to get all information you might possibly need before you turn in because you won't see them or talk to them again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Many gave this high reviews, but........it was clean. However, there was a tiny window in the bathroom and the 2 windows in the room were off of a glassed in porch- making our room very warm- and there is no air conditioning. Plus, the room had dark paneling- so the room seemed very cave-like. If I were them, I would paint the rooms a light coloring, thus brightening up the room. It did have a refrigerator and micro.

The other night we were in Leadville, we stayed at the Super 8. This is not my favorite chain, however, I was very pleased with our room there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This motel was very clean but we were disappointed in a few things. After reading the other reviews on line, we were looking forward to a pleasant stay. As mentioned the rooms were spotlessly clean but the ice machine did not work, there was no one at the front desk and phone calls to the front desk went unanswered. The toilet was partially stopped up when we arrived and overflowed when my son tried to flush it during the middle of the night. We used all the clean towels mopping up the mess and could not get an answer at the front desk to replenish the towels. We gave up on using the shower, packed our bags and checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtngear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The Alps is very clean. Not much to look at from the outside but it's Leadville. You can walk to town. The breezeway is glass enclosed which meant it trapped the afternoon/evening sun - this translated to an uncomfortably hot room to sleep in since there is no A/C and no windows on the opposite side of the room to let air pass through. I imagine in the cooler seasons, this could be a plus but it was way too hot to sleep. Not sure why they didn't put screens in the breezeway?!? I would not stay again as I prefer the Columbine Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Type-A-Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This is a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The people that own the Alps are extremely gractious. I've stayed at several places in Leadville and this is definately the best

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeadvilleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

As most other reviewers stated. Just perfect

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
1.1 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
288 reviews
16.9 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
138 reviews
21.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
146 reviews
0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 8 in Leadville
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alps Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alps Motel

Address: Hwy. 24 South, Highway 24 South, Leadville, CO 80461
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range: £46 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alps Motel is a small, comfortable eight room motel with parking right outside your door. All rooms come equipped with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee pot and free wireless internet access, and we are located within walking distance of most of the restaurants, shops, and watering holes in Leadville's National Historic District. The Alps Motel is also perfectly located as a starting point for any outdoor activities you may have in mind including hiking, biking, mountaineering, fishing, hunting, historic exploration and almost anything else you have on your Leadville 'to do' list. At 10,200 feet in elevation, whatever your adventure or interest, it can start here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alps Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing