We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very memorable place to stay”
Review of Delaware Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delaware Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very memorable place to stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is an old historic hotel that really made our stay in Leadville more memorable. The hotel oozes history and I'm glad it hasn't been converted into a modern day type of hotel. The floors are creaky and the doors are not quite square anymore but that's what makes for a really special stay. All sorts of old antiques throughout. The rooms are really neat and clean with comfortable beds. We had a group of 8 with 4 rooms. All were different and it was neat to look at each room. This was a great stay compared to all of the modern box hotels that all seem the same. The staff was very friendly and told us some great places to eat. If you want to get a taste of what it was like to stay in one of the grand old hotels of yesteryear this is the place. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    107
    51
    22
    13
See reviews for
65
133
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Entire hotel is filled with antiques. Rooms are beautiful, staff is friendly and competent. Location is right in the center of town. At first I was concerned about staying in an old hotel due to allergies, but it was very clean and dust free. Owners are on site, along with their friendly dog. Nice daily breakfast. Will definitely stay there again when in the area. Leadville has much to offer - hiking, biking, shops. Restaurants in hotel and town were quite good and reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A great old place, full of interesting things to see and even buy. It's wonderfully creepy to walk about at night. We also had brilliant service from the front desk in more than one occasion. The runs are very comfortable and just like being in an old cowboy movie.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin_flipper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very quirky historic hotel in the middle of Leadville. It is full of antiques and character. Don't expect a standard chain hotel room, it doesn't happen here. All rooms are quirky and the place is just a genuine treasure. Michael at the front desk was very helpful indeed and couldn't do enough for us. Water was hot, breakfast was nice and the surroundings very fun.
Would recommend this place.
The only thing that ticked me off was having to pay in full in advance but I can live with that.

Room Tip: All rooms are full of character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthPair12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Hotel is a trip if your into the paranormal. We spent a night their back in 2003, we were their for a bike cycle tour in September. The night was full of noises, and just a really weird feeling all night long, almost as if their were people passing through the hotel room. I am not typically into this kind of thing, but that night i basically along with my wife who was experiencing the same didn't hardly sleep a wink all night. The next day we were exhausted during the bike ride, but finished. What a weekend!

I would recommend, just for the experience, a beautiful hotel from the turn of the century.

Room Tip: This room was on the corner of the intersection with the main drag, not sure but was on one of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The Delaware Hotel was billed as being old and historic which caught our interest. With Leadville having the highest elevation of any US city we weren't sure at first if it was the altitude that made us feel the room was slanted. But it was the floor- bathrooms were antiquated also- toilet & shower in the bathroom & the sink squeezed into the bedroom. What could have been a great experience turned out to be only marginal. We did enjoy visiting Leadville itself but we'd advise staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patschicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, iowa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is Dede Schnuettgen from IOWA and we were out in Colorado In July. We rode our Harleys out there. We arrived in a Rain storm and here is this Nice Guy Dressed up SOOO Cute and With A Warming Smile :):) Michael was the Best guy ever !! We had to walk up 48 stairs to Our Room and Michael offered everytime to Help .. ...Yes The Hotel is cool and Blah blah blah ... but I am a people person and because of Michael we will be back.. Thanks Michael!! You Are welcome in Iowa anytime !!!
Dede and Steve Schnuettgen

Room Tip: Make Sure Michael Is there That Week :):)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
16.2 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
135 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
757 reviews
20.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
139 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delaware Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaware Hotel

Property: Delaware Hotel
Address: 700 Harrison Ave, Leadville, CO 80461-3562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delaware Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Delaware Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaware Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing