We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't go back.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
Ranked #53 of 416 Restaurants in Littleton
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Won't go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

For the money, and if you want buffet food, try a Golden Corrale instead. Basically no protein sources (chicken, beef, whatever) and they charge extra for certain toppings for your salad. Waste of money.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just as good as in California”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Sweet Tomatoes is Souplantations Midwestern cousin. Having been to plenty of souplantations around Southern CA i was expecting it to be the same. Which it was. Everything was fresh, great selection of salads, soups, and breads. Happy to visit, and looking forward to going on my next visit to Colorado.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Skip the Sunday breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant at 9:10 am on a Sunday because of the glowing description on their website of their Sunday breakfast menu. Having had their soup and salad bar in the past, we knew that the restaurant only served buffet style, so we expected a typical brunch, but were disappointed to say the least. We should have been alerted by the empty parking lot and almost total lack of patrons, but went ahead anyway. Virtually all of the food was cold to mildly lukewarm, even though the restaurant had opened only minutes before at 9 am. As a former restaurant manager (and scientist), I can attest that none of the "hot" food met State mandated temperatures for food safety. In fact, the temperatures were almost identical to those I have used in a lab for growing bacterial cultures. As to the menu, there were NO breakfast meats (bacon, sausage, or ham) except for a scrambled egg dish with a little diced ham in it, and the artificial bacon sprinkles in a toppings container. The scrambled eggs formed a solid block in the steam table pan and were clearly made from powdered eggs. Most of the pastries appeared to have been made from Bisquick or to have come out of the freezer (waffles, for example). Beverages (e.g., coffee, orange juice, etc.) are added to the bill at a cost of $2.29 EACH, bringing the meal cost, including one beverage and tax to $12.16 per person. The coffee was served out of a pump-style dispenser (not a typical drip coffee pot on a warming burner) and was barely lukewarm. It appeared to have been made hours earlier, as the dispenser was insulated. While this restaurant is fine for soup and salad, there are much better choices available for breakfast. In fact, I've had better free breakfasts at motels. If you expect a typical Sunday brunch from Sweet Tomatoes, you will be sorely disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Mike33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This place is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Wish there was one of these in Ohio. I would travel several miles to eat there. Buffet in all the right places. Freash food not something like Golden Corral's plane food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank hlyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

great place for all food lovers, especially for weight watchers and vegeterians. Try the buffet. Great food good price.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jay_as_tripvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

 
Littleton, CO
Littleton, CO
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing