We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest Ranch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
San Benito, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Guest Ranch”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I spent 3 nights with my family on September 16, 2011. The setting and location are outstanding right on the banks of the beautiful Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse (the lowest priced accommodation). Clean and comfortable slept
well. They have many cabins that would probably be much nicer. The daily breakfast was
great. The staff was Very Friendly. We took a trail ride on horses and that was also alot of fun. The resort is only about 28 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Enroute you travel through the Big Thompson River Canyon...which is breath taking.

Room Tip: In the bunkhouse either 9, 10 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelandycwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
30
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had never been to a dude ranch and weren't sure what to expect, but Sylvan Dale Ranch (SDR) is home away from home.

The Jessup family owns roughly 3,200 acres in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, and the scenery is just beautiful. This is the setting for the ranch, which is a working ranch with cattle, which enhances the experience for guests.

Accommodations: there are numerous choices for accommodations, from cabins to a lodge to a couple of guest houses to a suite above the dining rom. All the rooms have names, and we stayed in the Big T (Big Thompson, named for the river that runs through the area and can see it from our room), a two bedroom suite just perfect for our family of four. We weren't actually in our rooms that much as there is so much to do, but they are absolutely fine.

Food: Chef Tom serves up three wonderful meals of comfort food each day, and there is always something there for everyone, including the kids. Breakfasts range from made to order omletts to eggs florentine to pancakes or french toast. Lunches were budgers or BBQ or sandwiches. Dinners ranged from steaks to ribs to mexican night. We never missed a meal!

There is a kids program to keep the little ones of all agres busy...they have their own area on the rnach as well. Kids can pet the foals, pick from the garden, receive riding lessons, go on trail rides, swim in the pool, archery, rock climb...you name it. All included in their price!

For adults, you have the option of the Heart J Rider prorgam, which lets you ride everyday. We had lessons and trail rides every morning, and then rides in the afternoon as well, with a competition at the end of the week. On average we were on horses for close to 4 hours per day. You assigned your own horse for the week (kids too), so that you and the horse get comfortable with each other.

Beyond horse riding there was skeet shooting, rock climbing, nature walks, hiking, swimming, hot tub, tubing, workshops...too many things to mention. And they were really flexible on times as sometimes activities overlapped, so they simply moved some times so guests could do everything they wanted!

Our youngest daughter (9 years old) said she didn't want to leave and asked if we could go back next year. While there are quite a few ranches in Colorado and Wyoming, what makes SDR special is the scenery, as well as the customer experience. The Jessup family runs the ranch and works really hard for the guests to have a truly great experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank russia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We only stayed one night on our trip thru Colorado, but we would definitely stay again and stay longer. We were in the "Baby Doe" cabin, near the river. Cabins and grounds were immaculate; the staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geenyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We hosted a training weekend for 50 volunteers. The weekend was great, and the evaluations from our attendees were unanimous in their praise of Sylvan Dale. The beautiful location, food, meeting rooms and accommodations were outstanding. The staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and our meeting went flawlessly. Made our job very easy. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntereducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Recent led a Christian student group which hosted a retreat for about 40 students and alums from CSU at Sylvan Dale and it was nearly perfect! We used the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse and it met our needs almost exactly.

The staff were amazing accommodating. The setting shone with the beauty one expects from a Colorado winter. The facilities are somewhat rustic but actually quite nice, except for a mediocre self-serve kitchen in the Wagonwheel, but that was actually ok too. Free wireless internet made up for poor cell phone reception. The common areas, indoor and outdoor, were awesome.

The whole experience really was heavenly. We had a magnificent weekend and hope to return. Thanks again Sylvan Dale!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

As President of Area 2 Quarter Horse Association in Ontario, Canada, I cannot say enough good things about Sylvan Dale Ranch, their horses are wonderful and well trained and well behaved for all riding skill levels. I have rode and trained many horses for all disciplines and was impressed with the horses at this Ranch. Hats off to the Jessups!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Area2President
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Came to celebrate his birthday and it was a great experience. Food was DELICIOUS, horseback riding was so much fun, the room was perfect, and the location/surroundings were gorgeous. Definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WannabeRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loveland
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Loveland
16.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 29 in Estes Park
2,450 reviews
12.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland - Hotel, Spa and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
604 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#3 of 29 in Estes Park
485 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stoney River Lodge
Stoney River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Drake
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Property: Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Address: 2939 N County Road 31d, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Region: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Loveland
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure! Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business retreats and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. Sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing