We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ranch Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Sylvan Dale has the rare distinction of making you feel like family visiting a ranch. The trail hands and Jessup family are friendly competent people. Their is a wealth of activities to choose from and no pushiness. They taught me and my two boys how to ride. Also, good family meals and activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you, Roger, for your compliments to Sylvan Dale and our staff. :) It was a pleasure to host the Bruneau Family Reunion and we do hope to see you sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our family of 4, including our two 8 y.o. girls, took a 1.5 hr trail ride, which we luckily had to ourselves, led by a wonderful guide named Maddie. We were not staying at the ranch, though it looked very nice, but chose this stable based on a personal recommendation and, as another reviewer commented, because I read that many of the horses were bred there. You can tell the horses are well-cared for, which I also feel is important to support. We were led around the ranch and saw mischievous steer, Mikey, the bull, prairie dogs, and beautiful scenery. Afterwards, Maddie took the time to share with our girls watering the horses and replacing shoes. She even gave us some tips for a great follow-up afternoon in Old Town Ft. Collins. This was a highlight day of our CO vacation. We will definitely return for another ride when in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvandaleranch, Dude Ranch Vacation Coordinator at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We value our guests' responses and are so glad you were able to enjoy Sylvan Dale and our horses. Maddie had a great time leading your family through the ranch and would love to see you back again one of these days!

Happy trails!

Karen Burbank
Dude Ranch Vacation Coordinator and Riding Instructor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for just an overnight off season, when they function as a bed and breakfast. The property is just gorgeous and all the facilities seem very nice. In season there is a lot to do. We stayed in the Big Thompson Suite, which is kind of like Grandma's apartment in its decor, but quite large. Would've liked to have seen one of the cabins as they look darling. Breakfast was very nice. A big platter of fresh fruit, eggs, ham, toast, potatoes. Went on a horse ride the following day and were very impressed. We thought it was going to be a boring old trail ride, but we went on a wonderful ride over hills, through a stream, etc. definitely not boring! Would love to go back during the summer to experience all they have to offer. Rocky Mtn National Park right in their back yard is a huge plus for exploring outside the ranch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I will remember this trip for years to come! I couldn't have been more pleased with the Cowgirl Weekend. Many fabulous women attending and the staff was outstanding! The owner saved my trip by running to the store for me so I wouldn't miss anything during my stay. The chef and kitchen staff went out of their way to accommodate my special diet requests. I attended with some friends and would not be afraid to attend this event by myself in the future as several others did. A great getaway to be on your own and not alone. I had never really been on a horse and they made it so comfortable I was able to enjoy 3 full days of riding! Never in a million years would I have imagined I would have so much fun! Thank you Susan, Dave, Karen, Laurie, Lonnie, Art, Kitchen crew, and Trail Barron, my cowie horse! I hope to bring my family someday however, I will return for Cowgirl weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Sylvan Dale exceeded my expectations. The staff was beyond accommodating and the horse was a perfect fit. It was a post card perfect stay and can't wait for the next visit, hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmm1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My sister and I chose Sylvan Dale for our first attempt at fly-fishing. What a great experience! Our guide, Ted, was very professional, patient, humorous and after four hours of learning & doing we actually felt accomplished. While we did not actually land any trout, we both had good strikes which was very exciting. All the gear was provided, as well as spectacular scenery and perfect weather. The staff at the ranch were all helpful & friendly. Cannot wait to go back - it was an amazing day!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank judy210Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My daughter was recently married at Sylvan Dale and we couldn't have been more delighted with the staff and facilities. Our sincere thanks to the wonderful staff, especially Alaina the Wedding Coordinator, and Sue and Hannah at the front desk!

When selecting the venue one of the most important considerations for my daughter and her fiance was excellent food and plenty of room for activities. Sylvan Dale did not disappoint--the perfectly prepared salmon and smoked brisket were world-class delicious. The guests swooned over the food!

The Heritage Room is a lovely reception venue, and the adjoining game room had plenty of space for a photo booth, ping pong, pool, and video games. It kept the younger guests very happy and entertained. Outside was also lovely and people flowed in and out to the bar on the deck, enjoying the green, peaceful views.

The location is stunning with the river flowing through it. We can't wait to see the wedding pictures because we know they will be gorgeous. Since so many of the guests were from out of town, it was important for my daughter and her fiance to provide great accommodations, and again Sylvan Dale offered this to us. The cabins are wonderfully clean and comfy, and everyone so enjoyed spending the morning after the wedding together, eating breakfast and strolling on the grass along the riverbanks with the morning sunshine warming our faces. It was so fun we all stayed as long as we could!

I highly recommend Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wishccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loveland hotels
12.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland - Hotel, Spa and Conference Center
12.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Loveland
WoodSpring Suites Loveland
#11 of 14 in Loveland
80 reviews
9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Loveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Conference Center
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Loveland
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Loveland
Hampton Inn Loveland
#5 of 14 in Loveland
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Address: 2939 N County Road 31d, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Loveland
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure! Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business retreats and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. Sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing