We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Smokin' Daves BBQ and Taphouse
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Lyons
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We are regulars at the Smokin' Dave's in Estes Park but our scenic drive through oh so pretty South St. Vrain Canyon led us to Lyons at dinner time. Everything we had was great! Beef Brisket, Pitmaster Sandwiches, Ribs and Sausage, Red Beans and Rice, Sweet Potato Fries, Southern Green Beans, Grilled Cheese Sandwich and French Fries were all first rate. This Dave's location is larger, nicer and cleaner than the one in Estes Park, no hour wait here. Honesty, this was the best meal we have ever had at Smokin' Dave's. Food service was rather slow unlike at the Estes Park location, but it was worth the wait! The Estes Park location may not see us nearly as often in the future. We will make the trip to Lyons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fv1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    42
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
737 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Not as good as the store in Estes...”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I visited this Smokin' Daves on the way home from Estes Park with high expectations. Unfortunately, this facility doesn't meet the standards set by the Smokin' Dave's in Estes Park. The service falls flat and the food just isn't as tasty.

My beans were under-cooked, the brisket was just ok and my service was lackluster. Still, it beats the crowds at Oscar Blues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“5 STAR DESSERTS!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

That is correct, this is a BBQ joint with unbelievable desserts! We eat often at the Smokin' Dave's in Estes Park. While touring the amazingly beautiful South St. Vrain Canyon after a recent snowfall, we decided to stop at Dave's in Lyons for dessert. Wow! Not knowing the portions were more than generous, we ordered the Kentucky Bourbon Pecan Pie and the Fudge Brownie. We are originally from the South where pecan pie is a specialty. This pecan pie was near perfection! The presentation with whipped cream, vanilla bean ice cream and caramel sauce drizzled around the dessert platter was a feast for the eyes and the mouth. My poor spouse had the delectable Fudge Brownie which was served with blackberry coulis, whipped cream, vanilla bean ice cream and drizzles of caramel and chocolate sauce. By itself, the fudge brownie is devilishly chocolate. Combined with the blackberry coulis, this dessert is outrageously rich and divine. The "poor" part was there was no way my spouse was going to leave one morsel on the plate, and eating all of this dessert alone will about do you in.

Dave's meal portions are such that you never want dessert. Go sometime just for dessert. You will not regret it or maybe you will!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fv1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tried it for lunch on the way up to Estes”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This may be the best BBQ chicken I have ever had....I know, but it may be!! I was surprised because I have eaten at the one in Estes and I don't remember the chicken be this great. It was good, but this was great!
Love their cole slaw too. Baked beans are yummy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestiswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“DayUm Good”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Live music by local musician AshGanley.com. A great local artist and we stayed later after our meal to enjoy more of his music. The food was perfect! Sweet Tea, yeah. Corn bread, yeah. We ordered two meat platters. One with pulled pork and sausage with sides of cole slaw and sweet potato fries. The other with brisket and Kobe ribs (2) and sides of tater salad and baked beans. This is exactly how we like our BBQ and sides. We couldn't have asked for a change in anything. This is a local place and not to be confused with the other "Dave's" chain. This beats that hands down!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokin' Daves BBQ and Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Daves BBQ and Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing