We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Bakery & Cafe

Absolute Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Mancos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Absolute Bakery and Cafe, is located in downtown Mancos, Colorado, just two blocks south of the town's only traffic light. We bake and cook everything from scratch, using organic, local and fresh ingredients. It's all homemade: from the eggs and hashbrowns, to eclectic soups and salads with our own delicious dressings, pastas from different parts of Europe, and our own red and green chile sauces in a wide variety of Southwestern fare. If you're needing a quick pick-me-up, we have a full coffee and espresso bar featuring locally roasted, fair-trade, organic coffees. The ABC offers you a fine-dining experience without the glitter. Enter the one hundred year-old Bauer Bank Building and immediately you are tantalized by the aromas of fresh breads and pastries coming hot from the oven. Our friendly waitstaff greet you with smiles. The vintage decorative tin ceiling, a variety of tables and chairs, the local artwork adorning the walls, as well as a great selection of used books for your browsing pleasure add to the unique, eclectic and cozy atmosphere that is so inviting to both locals and visitors.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

You can sit outside next to the river and enjoy the great home made food. This place is a real delight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    50
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cinnamon rolls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had an early breakfast here-the cinnamon rolls are really good.The service is quick and friendly-lots of townfolk eat here.
Several choices of coffee available.Neat place to stop>

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ghouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Macaroons to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I love this restaurant. The food is prepared from fresh ingredients and is homemade. I particularly love their macaroons. Also, their lavender lemonade and lavender lemon cookies are exquisite. I don't think you can go wrong with any of their baked goods and they make excellent loaves of bread to take home. However, if you are looking for a fast paced place - keep looking. Service is relaxed and so is the seating (if you can get a table). There are books and paintings everywhere to read, share, and buy. It is quite an eclectic place, with excellent food - I just wish they were open longer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErrinInDgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclenny, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolute(ly) wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were driving through Mancos and being hungry looked around and found the Absolute Bakery & Café. We both got the Mancos Grill (sandwich) and it was wonderful. The sandwich is on the house bread. Yum. We felt like we had eaten enough for lunch and dinner. The staff was so friendly and attentive and we loved everything about the place. Add this to your list for lunch if you are in the area. Delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank budnpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland NH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went for breakfast and had eggs, sausage, bacon and pancakes. Our meals were very good and the pancakes that came with one meal were so big I had some of my husbands. The coffee was really good. We would go there again if ever in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prayingpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absolute Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Absolute Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing