We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundance Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

First of all, the main lodge is beautiful, and I'm sure the guest cabins are just as nice. We stayed in the main lodge for 4 days, and just loved the place and the B&B owner/operators. Bob and Sue are so nice, helpful with suggestions about attractions around Mancos and Durango, and Sue makes the best breakfast! The lodge is beautifully decorated in traditional log home fashion. You can see the "sleeping Ute" mountain from the porch, and the hot tub or sauna are nice ends to busy days. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speaksfreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was a dream! The location and the buidling itself were perfect for our needs and the hosts cannot be faulted or bettered I doubt. Interesting and interested people who really put body and soul into making us feel welcome. Even the pets were friendly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briansouthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Sundance bear was a great place to unwind far from the sounds of the city. I loved the stunning location overlooking Mesa Verde and the La Plata Mountains. The property was large and I enjoyed walking around and exploring. Sue and Bob were friendly, had good local tips and obviously loved sharing their homes.

Room Tip: The log cabin is sweet, mountainy and has an incredible view off the back porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filmdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

You never quite know what to expect, but this B&B delighted the 3 of us...fabulous location, terrific host and hostess, so relaxed and comfortable, and what special breakfasts! The cats and dogs made us feel right at home; that Morris especially. We'd all love to have an excuse to visit again and maybe we just will. Sandy, Ann, and Shelley

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge give you access to the wonderfully decorated and comfortable "living room&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Bob & Sue are great! their hospitality was wonderful, we felt the hosts for a few days and their instructions were invaluable!. Excellent and plentiful breakfast. The room is small but cozy. The lodge has many amenities and is located in a small corner of paradise: the quiet is assured! Mancos is close to you and there you can find an excellent and cozy restaurant with Mexican specialties. Mesa Verde is accessible by car in half an hour, and it's worth it!. Silverton is two hours by car and is fascinating ... Greetings also to Morris, the most affectionate cat in Colorado!.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franc0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krimpen aan den IJssel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed with Sue and Scott for 2 nights in de cabin.
The first day we arrived at 3pm, went into the (beautifull) cabin, got rid of our luggage, took a chair on the porch, took our laptop and stayed there untill sunset, did not even eat.........it gave us such a peacefull and serene feeling. The view, the quietness........it made us feel soooo happy!!!!! We really did not want to leave.....but we will be back one day!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Extremely clean and comfortable rooms. Lovely property and decor. Would like to go back just to stay at this propery again. They have a different approach to B&B. Instead of just a room, the whole house is yours to enjoy as well as the large property. They make you feel welcome and not have to tip toe around. The breakfast was amazing and they joined us which was a real pleasure. I was able to learn a lot more about the area and people - for example the water rights. We felt so at home. I often wake up in the middle of the night and had felt right at home sitting in the living room and walking outside. I also got hungry - no problem, there were lots of choices for a late night snack - fruit, candy bars, chips, nuts, granola bars, juice, water, tea, coffee, tissues, glasses, napkins, etc, etc. The animals are very friendly and nonintrusive. Morris, one of the cats, was allowed to sleep with me which made the stay even more enjoyable. (Morris also escorted me around at night; I felt like I had my own pet companion) Wonderful hosts, amazing decor, lovely property, great books and artwork, highly recommend staying, would also be a great place if you do not have a specific travel location but just need to get away and relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
12.2 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
3.0 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
15.4 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Property: Sundance Bear Lodge
Address: 11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328-1100
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. From the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. We have 2 B&B lodge rooms,a log cabin and Forest Edge (guest House). Guests can select their preferred ambiance and level of service. Forest Edge is your optimal vacation rental, with no special check in/out days. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too. Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing