We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundance Bear Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sundance Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in June 2012 and totally enjoyed the facility and our hosts.
The setting is fabulous and the house is inviting and homey.
Breakfast both mornings was great. Bob is very helpful in planning a visit to Mesa Verde.
My only suggestion is the small guestroom in the house could use a ceiling fan to help cool at night. There is a small air conditioner, but I was unable to get cool enough to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
At the end of 2011 we installed geothermal heat where the ground provides the heat -- and it also provides A/C when summer arrives. The learning curve took some effort as we switched to A/C in June; I think we have it worked out in July! Both lodge bedrooms have ceiling fans; the Mesa Verde room has better cross ventilation than does the Mancos room. I think the A/C has solved the temperature issues.Come for a visit and let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Great! Very accommodating hosts. Minutes from park and the view is great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eking11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
214 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I debated whether to stay in a hotel in Durango or try a bed in breakfast just a short drive away. I certainly made the right choice. Thanks to tripadvisor I was able to find this amazing bed and breakfast. The hosts were having a neighborhood block party and invited us to join. We had a wonderful time visiting with the neighbors and enjoying the incredible view. It was only a short drive to Durango. It was especially close to Mesa Verde. It was a very relaxing home, hot tub and grounds. I was very comfortable inside and outside. Breakfast was excellent. There was a lot to choose from and Bob and Sue were very accommodating with the timing of breakfast to meet our touring needs. There were lots of little extras like sunscreen, bug spray and snacks. We are looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mancos room inside the main lodge. It was perfect for our needs. A bed and a bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goanywheretogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Bob & Sue are great hosts! We really enjoyed our 3-night stay here. Breakfasts are so delicious! I enjoyed curling up on one of the several comfy couches in the great room with Morris & J.D., the friendly cats. Bob & Sue have an extensive library of wonderful books. The weather was perfect, so didn't have much time for reading, but if we had had a rainy day, the great room is a great hang-out. The grounds are fun to walk around. There is so much to see nearby. We enjoyed Mesa Verde N.P., Aztec Ruins N.M., Hovenweep N.M., the Four Corners, as well as the Anasazi State Museum.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thanks for the kind words -- and the lovely pictures of Morris and Oreo. Guests do fall in love with the furry members of our family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

On our road trip from Phoenix to Denver last month we found a warm welcome from Bob and Sue after a long day's travel. The region is relatively remote, but the lodge is well situated and very comfortable with a big lounge. The hospitality was great, with all the snacks and great breakfast making it a home from home. Sundance Bear Lodge has views of Mesa Verde, which is a must see attraction in the region and after all day visiting the National Park to see the well preserved Pueblo Indian archeological sights, it was good to know it wasn't far to a good night's rest.

Mike and Jan Australia

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerowe908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

All we can say is that Bob and Sue are wonderful hosts. They are warm and so hospitable. Sue's breakfasts are hearty and loaded with fresh fruit. Bob keeps your coffee cup full. We have an 8 month old and they went out of their way to provide a booster seat, sippy cup and munchies for the little guy. Mesa Verde was spectacular as was the Anasazi museum recommended to us by Bob. The B&B has big lawns with lots of areas to sit outside and read a book or sip a glass of wine while taking in the view. Oh, and Zuma is an awesome little organic grocer that makes the best lattes ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvibnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here while spending time visiting the region's cultural parks and other natural wonders of southwestern Colorado. It was great, fabulous setting near some of the region's most cherished places--Mesa Verde, Canyons of the Ancients, and more. We stayed in the guest house, which was perfect for our family (grandparents, kid, dog, and us two). Very nice to have the kitchen, the porch, and the views to come back to after a day of hiking and exploring. Reasonably priced, although certainly higher than the low end, but worth every penny. To top it off, Bob and Sue were incredibly accommodating and really put the effort into making sure their guests got a top notch experience. We will be coming back and recommending the place to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.9 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
12.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
3.4 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Property: Sundance Bear Lodge
Address: 11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328-1100
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. From the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. We have 2 B&B lodge rooms,a log cabin and Forest Edge (guest House). Guests can select their preferred ambiance and level of service. Forest Edge is your optimal vacation rental, with no special check in/out days. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too. Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing