We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Bear Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Far View Lodge(Mesa Verde National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Cortez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
149
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinb bmesa verdea wonderful place to stayliving roomcatfishroad tripgreat cookmilky wayeach morningbobhostsdogpondsundancedurangopepper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here on our honeymoon.

We stayed in the Log Cabin, which is a detached building off of the Main Lodge. The cabin is described as "self-cater." There's a fridge, four-burner stove with oven, full sink, coffee maker, and a full compliment of cooking utensils. You can get breakfast in the main lodge for $10 per person per day, but we opted to buy groceries in town to make some food, and go out to local restaurants.

Bob and Sue are great hosts. They pretty much left us alone, but they were around and happy to offer recommendations or any assistance. You can tell they really take pride in their place, and with good reason.

The best part of Sundance Bear is the scenery. The cabin has a porch that faces east towards the San Juan National Forest, and there's a deck that faces west towards Mesa Verde. The views are so good it's almost comical.

The location is great too. Considering you're pretty much in the middle of nowhere, things are fairly accessible. The Mesa Verde entrance is about 15 minutes away. It's only about 5 minutes or so into "Downtown" Mancos. Cortez is also a relatively quick drive away where you'll find a bunch of restaurants, Walmart, Walgreens, etc.

If the Four Corners area or Mesa Verde is part of your itinerary, I highly recommend Sundance Bear.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed in cottage in grounds for 2 nights which is spacious and very comfortable [ shared kitchen and seating area ] . Owner was very friendly and helpful . The whole place seems immaculate and it is in a beautiful position .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floyd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Happened upon the Sundance Bear Lodge by a happy accident and had a wonderful experience. Delightful accommodations, gracious hosts, superb breakfast. Owners make sure you feel the home is "your own" and also loved Morris the cat as a nice new friend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane44588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thanks for the kind words and for spoiling our orange cat; he truly loves guests! Please come see us again. The 4 Corners is a great destination any time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were traveling all through the Southwest and had spent the day at Mesa Verde. We had decided to spend a night locally and drive to Moab the next day. WHAT A TREAT!! Such a beautiful place and such wonderful hosts! Sue and Bob were wonderful and we so enjoyed talking with them that we wished we had planned an extra day or so there! Loved the fact that two cats who looked exactly like my own, were there to snuggle with! Also Oreo and Chester were fun! [two dogs] Breakfast was awesome and we sure did not go hungry! The whole house was ours to use and it was beautifully and tastefully decorated. My husband declared this to be his favorite place that we stayed on the whole 3 week trip! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the main lodge. I don't think there is a bad room in the whole place! But if you are allergic to animals then Sue recommends one of the cabins as the animals are not in the rooms there. I loved that part of the visit actually. Made it feel even more like home!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband, mini Schnauzer, and I had been looking forward to our Labor Day getaway to the Durango area for several weeks. Our expectations were exceeded in every way, especially at the Sundance Bear Lodge. We wanted to spend some time at Mesa Verde as well as in the town of Durango. The location of the Sundance Bear Lodge was perfect for this itinerary. It is right between Mesa Verde and Durango (about a 30 minute drive to Durango and about a 10 minute drive to the entrance of Mesa Verde). We chose to stay in the log cabin for 3 nights. Bob and Sue warned us that it was small, but it was much bigger than any hotel room. We enjoyed the balcony with stunning views of the sunrise and sunset; the small but adequately equipped kitchen; the beautifully designed stone-walled shower; the hot tub on the side of the lodge; and the delicious home-made breakfasts. Our little dog loved exploring the pristinely maintained property. Bob and Sue were very welcoming and extremely knowledgable about the area. They lent us a pair of binoculars and gave us a tip to sign up for the little-advertised twilight tour at Mesa Verde. Thanks to Bob and Sue for a fabulous trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKBwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews