We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Bear Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mesa Verde Motel(Mancos)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Far View Lodge(Mesa Verde National Park)
US$132
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$157
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Cortez)
US$73
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
149
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinb bmesa verdea wonderful place to stayliving roomcatfishroad tripgreat cookmilky wayeach morningbobhostsdogpondsundancedurangopepper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Everything about our four night stay in late May at Sundance Bear was perfect. The owners' stunning collection of native art was worth the trip, or we would have come just for the breakfasts! (plentiful, delicious, home-made, and beautifully presented.) Having snacks available on the counter that we could have at any time was a gracious touch too. The room was lovely -- comfortable bed, lots of big, soft towels and generously supplied with any toiletries a traveler might have forgotten. Sitting in the hot tub looking over the splendid view, picnicking or strolling on the spacious grounds, visiting with the dogs and cats, we felt at home immediately. Chatting with Bob & Sue, however, was the highlight of it all. A more welcoming pair of hosts could not be found anywhere -- fascinating, friendly, funny, informative: we thank them for the most wonderful start to our southwest vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Like all the other reviews here, I cannot recommend the Sundance Bear Lodge enough. Bob (and their dog, Oreo) greeted us warmly when we arrived, and showed us around The Cabin, which is the smaller of the two buildings that make up Sundance, a cozy B&B nestled atop a plateau overlooking Cassidy Canyon to the south and a very clear view of the north tip of Mesa Verde off in the distance to the west.

It feels very secluded, despite being all of 10 minutes from the small town of Mancos, which has a few good restaurants, a natural store, a serviceable grocery store and a laundromat for those who are enjoying an extended traveling adventure.

The Cabin is a cozy 2-story house with a full kitchen, master bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor and a loft with a bed and sofa on the top loft. It can be pretty noisy below if there are heavy-footed guests tromping up and down the stairs, but that's about the only drawback, which is completely overwhelmed by the so many other good things.

The beds are soft and warm, the decor is lively and inviting. It really feels like someone's well-cared for personal cabin, as opposed to an antiseptic (or worse yet, dirty or poorly maintained) place to dump your gear and sleep. It's a home.

Owners/Hosts Bob and Sue are a lovely couple, happy to chat over a cup of coffee in the main lodge, or leave you to your privacy, depending upon your preference. They have lots of knowledge about the surrounding area, including much about the history of the area, including Mesa Verde, a short 20 minute drive away. We spent two full days visiting the park and had a terrific time both exploring the park, and enjoying ourselves at the cabin, making a pot of spaghetti with meat sauce for dinner, and pancakes and sausages on the stove for breakfast, with ingredients purchased from the local market 10 minutes away.

A wonderful stay, and I can't wait for circumstances to take me out that way again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim20770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B & B was absolutely beautiful and the views were stunning. Our family of five had the entire main lodge but there are also very nice cabins located on the property. Sue & Bob were extremely accommodating and knowledgeable of the entire Four Corners area. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannejcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks for the kind words. Bob and I thoroughly enjoy living in the 4 Corners and sharing its beauty and complexity with our guests. Mesa Verde is one of 100 great things to do here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

What an amazing experience. The cabin was huge and very tastefully decorated. The owners thought of all the little things. We stayed 2 nights and everything about our stay was comfortable. We would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This is our second trip to Sundance Bear Lodge, we love staying in the cabin - three different porches with three different views. One for the morning coffee, watching the sunrise hit the grand mesa. One in the evening to enjoy your wine and cheese, while watching the setting sun light up the eastern mountain ranges. And the upper deck for late night star gazing (lots of stars). The breakfast are a treat within themselves, fresh fruit, coffee, yogurt, breads, and a main dish that will keep you satisfied well beyond lunchtime. We had cheese omelet with fresh local asparagus and ham (all gluten free). Sundance Bear Lodge is only six miles from the Mesa Verde National Park entrance. It will take you longer to go from the park entrance to the top of the mesa. Being so close to the park makes it nice to drive in the evening to catch the sunset at Cliff Palace or Spruce Tree. We had an early leisurely dinner in Mancos and still had plenty of time to catch the Cliff Palace sunset. Bob and Sue treated us so well on our first trip (2012), to Sundance Bear Lodge we just had to come back. The first trip we did Mesa Verde sight seeing, the second time out we explored the lodge area and made a trip to Hovenweep National Monument (a must see). Stopped at Guy Drew winery on the way back from Hovenweep and had our evening drink on the porch. Next years trip will be to explore the painted pueblo area and four corners area. Sundance Bear Lodge is a great place to come back and crash after a day of exploring. Very peaceful and relaxing - a treasure.

Mark and Wendy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quagmire42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundanceBear, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words! We didn't know you had enjoyed the wines of Guy Drew -- one of 2 wineries in our county -- and one of several on the Western Slope of Colorado. What a great place to visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews