We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations For a Family of 4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Mancos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed at Flagstone for two nights over the Thanksgiving break while visiting Mesa Verde and the Durango train. Thought about staying at a local Holiday Inn, but I am so thankful we stayed at Flagstone instead with our gracious host-Harris. Harris is a first-class host who aims to please, right down to the breakfast. I being the only one gluten-free in our party was greeted each morning with a scrumptious breakfast just as satisfying as my other family members, who are not GF. Harris will make sure you don't go hungry.The meal will be cooked to order and on the table when you request it. Harris is a wealth of information and always steered us in the right direction for site-seeing and dinner reservations. Our family made good use of the pool table and Harris took a picture of us in front of his gorgeous stone fireplace, that we used for our family Christmas card this year. Every window afforded us breathtaking views of wildlife in meadows and Mesa Verde. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer at Flagstone. My son's, 14 and 11 years old, thought that our stay with Harris was the best place we stayed at through our week-long trip to the Southwest. We hope to return for another adventure to Southwest CO., and you can be sure we will be staying at Flagstone.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraB92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

we stayed here for 2 night and were thrilled with the knowledge and information from our host Harris. He was a wealth of information for our out trip to Durando, and Mesa verde. He is an excellant host and wonderful cook (breakfast included) It was very near to Mesa Verde and Harris told us what to see and how long things usually took and also where to eat lunch and dinner. The rooms were spotless and beautiful. Harris gave up directions by phone when we were close to his lodge so we would arrive safely.

Room Tip: Take Harris offer for directions when you get close, it is easy to get confused the 1st time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not only is this B&B the best we have ever stayed at, it is in a fantastic location and has an owner who is a man who knows how to make breakfast!!!

Located in a perfect place in SW Colorado by Mesa Verde, Mancos is close enough to stay and still do day trips into Utah's many national parks and be back in time for a relaxing evening.

Harris is a man who extends not just the required hospitality, but a man who makes you feel so at ease and at home you would think you could stay forever.

Enjoy the wildlife, enjoy the scenery and enjoy this place or you are missing out on something very unique and special!!!

Ric & Paula Sampson

Room Tip: Go for anyone of them, there isn't a bad room in the house (total of 4 rooms upstairs, 2 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were so glad we chose Flagstone Meadows as our place to stay while visiting Durango and Mesa Verde. Harris made us feel welcome even before we arrived, giving us detailed directions to the ranch when we spoke with him on the phone. We loved his home, beautifully designed and decorated with lots of Southwestern art. We were pleased when he joined us as we had dinner on the deck. He is very hands-on with his guests and is a wealth of information about the history and geography of the surrounding area. He is also a great cook and we had sumptuous breakfasts. The second morning included fresh corn on the cob. I wouldn't have thought of including that with breakfast, but it was delicious. Our room was large and comfortable and we enjoyed watching the sunrise on Mesa Verde. Though the ranch is a bit far from Durango we had no problem enjoying breakfast and still getting to Durango in time for a morning but to Silverton. Harris had suggested that we do this and take the train back - very good advice! We would love to visit Flagstone Meadows Ranch again and take in more of the beauty of southern Colorado and Utah.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I were overdue for a vacation and wanted a place to go that was interesting and relaxing. We took the advice of a person that had stayed here before. We were not disappointed at all! Flagstone Meadows is an excellent bed and breakfast whose host is so friendly you just want to make him part of your extended family. Harris (our host) is a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area of Durango, Mancos, Cortez, as well as the national and local parks that are of interest to see. He also has a unique insight into the culture of the Native American people.

The experience at the bed and breakfast was just like being with family only better. It is quiet there and we didn't miss the sirens and craziness of Las Vegas at all. Each morning at 8 AM you will enjoy a home cooked breakfast (that is more than just tea and muffins), delicious, and will stick with you until about 2PM. Nothing goes to waste here. The scraps of food left over are offered to the magpies, wild turkeys, and jays. The feeding of the hummingbirds is definitely an event to see. The hummers will land on Harris's hand as he refills the feeders!

Harris will check in with you about your plans for the day and make suggestions that could enhance your original plan. In our case, we knew we wanted to go to Mesa Verde national park. Harris told us to go to the visitor center to get tickets ahead of time so that we didn't waste time in line the day when we wanted to go. The next day we didn't have anything planned. Harris told us about a day trip that included a winery, Hovenweep, and the Cortez Cultural Center (which harbors a lot of info on the Native American culture). We never lacked for something to do. In fact, as long as you can be flexible, you can pick up things on the fly. We didn't arrive with the intent of seeing a play while in Durango. While having lunch one day in Durango, we noticed that a local troupe was putting on a Neil Simon play. We bought tickets and had a great time! After your day is done and you return back to Flagstone Meadows, Harris will chat with you to see how your day went, what you liked, and suggest other things to do based on what you liked.

In conclusion, we set out to unwind, decompress, and have a good time that was not necessarily schedule driven. We got all that and more. You walk away with a new friend. The area is rich with Native American culture and beautiful scenery. The bed and breakfast is as comfortable as an old friend. And, the host is stellar! Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast is on our list of places of which to return.

Enjoy...you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June whilst visiting Mesa Verde. Harris is a very welcoming and informative host and provided a couple of very tasty breakfasts - he even had proper english tea and real milk for us. Our room was large and comfortable with a balcony. The house is attractive with a large airy lounge for relaxing in the evening. The road to the house is unpaved and requires a little concentration in the dark particularly if you haven't got a 4X4. There are a few restaurants in Mancos which is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dndeurotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We are frequent B&B users and found this to be one of the best-- beginning with the booking, Harris' desire to get to know us and meet our needs and even meeting us to drive us to the house. The home is glorious and our room had a balcony where we had a wonderful view of mountains and stars. Harris helped us see the International Space Station go by one night and walked us through the logistics of visiting Mesa Verde. His breakfasts were delicious and served promptly at 8AM. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aikarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
11.8 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
11.2 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
243 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328-1137
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing