We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arborena - CLOSED

Arborena
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A new wine bar and gallery on the main street in Mancos. Delicious home made pizzas and other small dishes prepared to order. Great wine list and gallery show change often.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Restaurant apparently is now called Olio. What a surprise in such a tiny town. We had lunch on the last Saturday in September. Both of us had different lamb dishes which were excellently prepared and presented. Nice choices of wines by the glass. Lovely interior, changing art exhibits and impeccable service made for a wonderful meal experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1RoseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Magnificent food in a tiny town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

As good as food gets! I would give it 6 stars if possible. I started with a bowl of shrimp and squash chowder that was as good a bowl of soup as I have ever had. The Bavette of Beef with mustard sauce was tender, flavorful and excellently seasoned. The side of potatoes were the most amazing potatoes I've had in memory. The banana, macadamia nut and coconut Empanadas for desert were unreal. I've eaten at 5 star restaurants around the world and never had a better meal. I only wish it was closer to home. You would have to be insane to eat anywhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eat HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This restaurant is now called Olio. It is chef owned and is the best restaurant in Mancos or Cortez. The food was absolutely amazing - wonderfully balanced flavors. We visit Mancos about once a year (great get-away from Denver) and can't wait to go back and eat here again. This chef could easily complete with the best restaurants in Denver. Food seems to be locally sourced when possible and tastes fresh and delicious. The by the glass wine list was also quite good. If you're anywhere in the 4 corners area this place is worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lpricesipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
332 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Now Olio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The landlord in our B&B recommended this tiny restaurant & our only complaint was that it doesn't open a Sunday so we couldn't make a 2nd visit.
We reckoned it as the best restaurant we went to during 4 weeks in the USA. The food was imaginative, delicious & beautifully served on plates which I'd have liked to slip into my hand bag. If the Michelin men ever get this far away from France they should go to this little restaurant in the back of beyond. The wines were excellent too.
I haven't a big appetite & we've always thought gross the American custom of taking their left overs home but I was tempted here! We heard another customer praising the desert he'd just had to the skies - we were very sorry but we just didn't have room.
It was a quiet evening & we were latish - Rena, the waitress & the owner chef were interested in us & interesting to talk to. We didn't have one person's plate whipped away while the other was still eating & the bill didn't come until we'd finished - in other words they knew how to serve.
The restaurant is also a gallery for some lovely (& expensive) ceramics, paintings & wall hangings which made waitng for your meal more interesting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We're from the Chicago area and recently spent two nights in Mancos. A friend recommended Olio the first night, and we had an exceptional dinner. We returned to Olio our second night and were not disappointed. The food is excellent, and there's a very good wine selection. Although not on the menu, they also offer a small selection of malt beverages from a Durango brewery. The one I had was exceptional. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation o anyone who enjoys fine dining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arborena also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing