We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Reunion”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Echo Basin Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Basin Ranch
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just finished a family reunion at Echo Basin. The Ranch was pretty perfect, if not a little funky, for such an occasion. But we like funky. Lovely tall pines, lots of shade, a little running stream close to our cabin, beautiful nighttime skies, fire pits for bonfires, covered picnic tables and more. We rented one of the cooking cains and 3 smaller cabins. I rated the Ranch average for several reasons. First, the cooking cabin was not equipped sufficiently in the kitchen. Decent pots, namely large pots, for pasta, stew, corn, etc., were not there, silverware was meager as were drinking glasses. All of this is easily remedied if forewarned. Thus this review. Bring your own. Cabin was advertised to sleep 8-10, so it seems for what we paid it should have been provisioned for that many. We were encouraged not to request clean towels every day but when we didn't, then they didn't get our note requesting some necessities like toilet paper, etc. Another hassle, office was usually closed so it was difficult to get response. Ice was kept in the office. When we could locate someone, I do have to say they were helpful and pleasant, especially Brook. Caroline was also helpful. After about day 2 we adjusted to all the above but it was very frustrating early on. Overall it was a great venue for our reunion.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    2
    6
    10
See reviews for
29
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a great place to beat the summer time heat of the Southwest. We just spent 2 nights at the ranch with our 22' travel trailer. The RV sites are scattered among low oak trees and towering Ponderosa pines with some sites out in the open and others more private. Because the ranch is 3.5 miles from the highway, it's wonderfully quiet. Camp hosts were very welcoming. Bathroom/ shower facilities show their age of construction but are clean and well kept. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carylanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the cabins for a wedding and it was amazing! The grounds/views/atmosphere was wonderful!! The environment lent itself for family and friends to hang out and visit. There were opportunities for all ages to have a great time. Just remember that you are in the mountains and it gets cool in the evenings even in the summer!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vnighbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I got married at the ranch. We had a wonderful time. The staff was kind and helpful. I'm so glad I chose to get married at Echo Basin.

My family had a lot if young children and they thought the grounds were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klynnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Was out here for a wedding in June 2013. Great rustic feel, just what this city boy needed in order to get away and feel good. Clean air, lots of activities. Staff had a real good attitude and even though I don't think this establishment is family run, the staff all treat you like you are visiting their house.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I found this rv park last year while spending the summer at a RV park in Durango.I made plans to come to Echo basin this summer.I love the park,big spots and shaded.So cool at this altitude.Bill the park mgr and all the work campers are so helpful and nice. It would be nice if they kept the office open during the day but Bill is always handy to answer any questions and help in any way.I would recommend this park to my friends and anyone else..I will be back for 3 months each summer out of the Tx heat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rucatfishbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Nestled at the base of the la plata mountains where the natives believe life began is echo basin resort. The energy is as pure as the crisp mountain air. If you look up you will most likely see a golden eagle soaring in the colorado blue sky. There are giant mule deer bucks sharing the space with the campers and the wedding parties. It is a place that will create stories for me to tell my friends and family for a lifetime. We stayed in a large rustic cabin that was a perfect fit for our family. Plenty of room and a nice kitchen for snacks and favorite foods. The restaurant was great very ranch like and comfortable great for the kids. We ate amazing home cooked breakfasts with food we bought from the local natural foods store. Amazing hikes just up the road in the mornings kiddos down for a nap in the afternoon cold brew on the deck of our cabin while the kids sleep sound. This is a real colorado experience. On a year round working ranch we really felt as their guest. We were looking for peace and found it we will be going back. We found a place where stories are made.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesoundof1000angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
16.7 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Majestic Dude Ranch
Majestic Dude Ranch
#2 of 7 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Basin Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Basin Ranch

Property: Echo Basin Ranch
Address: 43747 Road M, Mancos, CO 81328-9290
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Basin Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT, Echo Basin Cabin and RV resort is located in Beautiful Mancos, Colorado. It is perfectly situated in the foothills of the San Juan Mountains of Southwest Colorado. Conveniently located between Historical Durango & renowned Mesa Verde National Park, Echo Basin Ranch is only:27 miles from Durango, Colorado, 12 miles from Mesa Verde National Park, Colorado, 20 miles from Cortez, Colorado, 60 miles from Farmington, New Mexico, 173 miles from Santa Fe, New Mexico, 225 miles from Albuquerque, New Mexico, 7 hours from Denver, Colorado and 7 hours from Scottsdale, Arizona. Specializing in Colorado destination weddings & family vacations, Echo Basin has had the honor of hosting numerous events each summer season for over two decades. Our season has been extended for the upcoming year to May through September and even longer if weather permits, so you can enjoy warm sunny days and cool nights. Exceptionally priced and flexible, Echo Basin Ranch is the ideal venue for any sized family, group or wedding. Our cabins are simple & affordable and accommodate thousands of guests each season. We provide linens, a microwave, and small refrigerator in all our cabins. Rustic A-Frame Cabins are not cooking cabins. Only the Deluxe Cooking Cabins have a kitchen and utensils.All our RV sites are Full-Hook-Up with sewer, electric, and water. Because Echo Basin Ranch is all encompassing with cabins, and RV sites, your search for a family vacation, wedding facility, or family reunion venue is completed when you reserve your event with us. Destination-the ultimate goal for which something is done. All encompassing, gorgeous, unique and affordable-Echo Basin Ranch, where the pavement ends the fun begins? SEASONAL AMENITIES (Memorial Weekend through Labor Day Weekend) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Echo Basin Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Basin Ranch Hotel Mancos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing