We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Service, Location and Area”
Review of Echo Basin Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Echo Basin Ranch
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved Service, Location and Area”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

My family and I had a lovely time here. We stayed in a cabin which we found very comfortable. There are several types of cabins; ours had a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker but there are others with full kitchens. (I second the comment that some basic dishes and cutlery would have been useful, though.) The grounds are gorgeous, complete with deer and horses--my teenagers were in heaven and enjoyed exploring. There is also a pool and hot tub to enjoy after you have spent the day exploring Mesa Verde. The property is large; cabins are on one side and there are RV facilities on the other. (You can't see or hear the RVs from the cabins.)

The owners and staff were especially friendly, helpful and patient with our fluctuating schedule. They had lots of information about the surrounding area, fishing, etc. We took advantage of the guided horseback riding, which we enjoyed. We would return any time!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    2
    6
    10
See reviews for
29
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Very disappointed that our family reunion was scheduled here. The cabins are not clean. Spider webs, lots of dead flies. Can you say "vacuum?" Also found mouse droppings on one of the bunks. For $150 nightly, I expect housekeeping to be a little consciencious when running the vacuum. Also, scheduled towel sevice never showed and restaurant food was fair at best. Pool was dirty. WiFi didn't work. Met up with a "blinged up" women in the lobby who greeted me with "and what do you want?" Turns out, she was the owner.

Wish I had better things to say. This could be a wonderful place under the right ownership. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleneS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

As we drove up to this resort we saw a beautifully landscaped resort area. The area in which Echo Basin is located is gorgeous. The A-frame cabins are located among some pines and along a beautiful little stream. However, once we went into our cabin it was quite dissapointing. The cabins have not been kept up. The place was filthy, with cobwebs hanging from the ceilings and lamps. The bathroom shower had black mold growing in the corners and the carpeted bathroom floor was stained with who knows what! There was a black built up of scum around the sink faucets. Gross!!!
The furniture in the living room was disgusting; it was dirty and worn. Apparently they don't inspect the kitchen before the next guests arrive because the silverware was dirty in the drawers and their was lipstick on the cups. I couldn't wait to get out of there! If the place was really clean, I wouldn't have minded the old furniture and mismatched kitchen supplies, but I just couldn't get past how dirty the place was. We were told that there was a resturant on location, but the night we arrived we discovered that it isn't open every night.
It is too bad because this is such a beautiful area and I think it would be a great place for a family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitinthetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My husband and I chose Echo Basin Ranch RV resort due to location in between Durango and Cortez Colorado. My parents, aunt and uncle ( from Florida) , my husband and I all had campers and we wanted to explore the Mesa Verde Indian ruins in Mesa Verde and go on the historic scenic train from Durango to Silverton. We chose Echo Basin due to being centrally located and all the amenities of the resort. They offered a pool, spa, golfing, fishing and horseback riding. The place is very well maintained and the cabins on the site are adorable. We ate at the restaurant one night and our meal was fabulous and cooked perfectly. I had a massage there and would recommend the massage therapist to everyone that visits there. She was awesome. The place has streams and beautiful scenery. The horseback riding is wonderful. We did not have children in our group but I noticed there was alot of things to keep children busy with a playground and sandbox stocked with toys, swing sets etc. We will be returning there again next month and bringing our friends. It was fabulous. I was sad to leave this morning!!! We have a beautiful home to return to and we are usually excited to return home but not this time, it was sad to leave!!! I would recommend highly

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angibnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruita, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This is a wonderful place to go to get away from everything. The campground personnel are very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you and make things easier. We went on a trail ride through the property. Our guide was a very knowledgeable person and was very friendly (we are thinking about sending our daughters to her to have riding lessons and some of her friends as well). The restraunt staff was also great, the food was decent for the price,and they even had some comparable drink prices.
The campground was clean and organized, they were almost full to capacity in the cabins, and the only downfall was that the pool was being worked on and would be open after we left. However we will be going back as soon as we possibly can.
I wish to say "Thank You to all"!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campingfamily81521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We initially planned on staying a week and ended up staying 3 weeks. What a nice place to stay with beautiful views and really nice people that offer lots of things to do. They offer horsebackriding (ride theirs or bring your own) with miles and miles of trails into the beautiful San Juan Mountains. You can swim in the pool, soak in the hot tub, get a massage, play golf, volleyball, basketball, tennis, etc. Bring your 4 wheelers for family outings... It even offers the perfect setting to get married! They have a nice restaurant with a reasonably priced menu and delicious food. The folks that own and run this establishment are top drawer... they really go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We had a great time and would absolutely stay here again! We are fulltimer's and Echo Basin is one of the nicest places we've stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I had a great time at Echo Basin Ranch! I brought my horse and he brought his Polaris Razer. I spent hours riding my horse thru the mountains and streams while my husband explored gold mines and the hills of Colorado. We would recommend this ranch to anyone! PS: The fishing is great also!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiningchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
16.7 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.3 mi away
Majestic Dude Ranch
Majestic Dude Ranch
#2 of 7 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echo Basin Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echo Basin Ranch

Property: Echo Basin Ranch
Address: 43747 Road M, Mancos, CO 81328-9290
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Echo Basin Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP AND MANAGEMENT, Echo Basin Cabin and RV resort is located in Beautiful Mancos, Colorado. It is perfectly situated in the foothills of the San Juan Mountains of Southwest Colorado. Conveniently located between Historical Durango & renowned Mesa Verde National Park, Echo Basin Ranch is only:27 miles from Durango, Colorado, 12 miles from Mesa Verde National Park, Colorado, 20 miles from Cortez, Colorado, 60 miles from Farmington, New Mexico, 173 miles from Santa Fe, New Mexico, 225 miles from Albuquerque, New Mexico, 7 hours from Denver, Colorado and 7 hours from Scottsdale, Arizona. Specializing in Colorado destination weddings & family vacations, Echo Basin has had the honor of hosting numerous events each summer season for over two decades. Our season has been extended for the upcoming year to May through September and even longer if weather permits, so you can enjoy warm sunny days and cool nights. Exceptionally priced and flexible, Echo Basin Ranch is the ideal venue for any sized family, group or wedding. Our cabins are simple & affordable and accommodate thousands of guests each season. We provide linens, a microwave, and small refrigerator in all our cabins. Rustic A-Frame Cabins are not cooking cabins. Only the Deluxe Cooking Cabins have a kitchen and utensils.All our RV sites are Full-Hook-Up with sewer, electric, and water. Because Echo Basin Ranch is all encompassing with cabins, and RV sites, your search for a family vacation, wedding facility, or family reunion venue is completed when you reserve your event with us. Destination-the ultimate goal for which something is done. All encompassing, gorgeous, unique and affordable-Echo Basin Ranch, where the pavement ends the fun begins? SEASONAL AMENITIES (Memorial Weekend through Labor Day Weekend) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Echo Basin Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echo Basin Ranch Hotel Mancos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing