We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abode at Willowtail Springs
Ranked #3 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem.”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The property is heavenly. Views from the bungalow and the lakehouse are amazing. Waking up to the sounds of nature and going to sleep with the sound of crickets and all the many stars. It's an absolute gem.A wonderful place to relax and find yourself. The property owners; Peggy and Lee are the best, the most gracious of hosts.All their special touches made it even more special. An absolute gem.

Room Tip: All of there properties are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcastillo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

What a lovely place to stay! The cottages have all the comforts of home in the most peaceful place imaginable. It's like camping without all the work! The kitchens make meal preparation easy. The boats on the pond on the property are great fun for the kids. The natural setting is ideal for rest and relaxation.

There's so much to do in the area as well. My grandmother lived in Mancos for 54 years and we spent at least one week each summer there. Visiting Mesa Verde is not to be missed. The mountain scenery is breathtaking. Summertime in the high mountains is not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan-Oshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

When I want to get away, I got to Willowtail Springs. I have had the pleasure of staying in each of the cabins and every bed I have slept in has offered the best rest I have ever had! I personally like to write, draw and take pictures when I am there. I know there are many other activities available but I prefer the quiet the space offers. My husband and I planned our wedding during a stay there and came back, rented all of the cabins and brought our family. I love Willowtail Springs all year, especially when it snows. The views are gorgeous! Peggy and Lee stock the cabins with local eggs, produce, fresh bread and the most amazing cherry berry jam. Don't tell Peggy that I once ate an entire jarful with a spoon! It's a must stay if you are even thinking about staying near Mancos for a few nights or just want to get away!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLeavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Willowtail is a beautiful, interesting, inspiring place. The landscaping (whether by Ma Nature or by Peggy and Lee), is restfully beautiful. This place is whatever you need it to be -- romantic, restorative, exciting, educational, most of all lovely to inhabit for a while. Peggy and Lee have an obvious and contagious respect for Willowtail Springs; they are gracious, welcoming, non-intrusive stewards of this remarkable hideaway. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOtripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We booked the lakehouse for 3 nights and wish it had been 5! It was beautiful, cozy and relaxing. My only regret is that I planned too many activities off the property and didn't leave enough time to just enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Thank you Peggy and Lee!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The other reviews here were the reason we chose this place and they were absolutely CORRECT! The lodgings are wonderful- cozy, homey and yet a touch of sophistication due to the artistic style of Peggy, our hostess. We stayed in the Lake house and the Bungalow- 7 of us. The gardens were lovely and so creatively adorned with the most unusual items ! Grounds- all 60 acres are perfect for wandering, birding, or just sitting looking at the coots and grebes- with their ducklings- on the pond. The view was great to bewgin with but when a rainbow was seen coming from the mountain tops one evening - it was hard to top! Peggy and Lee were available and helpful, but never intrusive. We all felt so at home. We were close to some hiking, and took a day trip to Mesa Verde, which can be seen from the property. We also took a day trip north to Ouray- a fantastic village!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveourtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

This is an ecological wonder--a beautiful spot with its own lake and surrounding pine and juniper trees. The lodgings are all unique and different but wonderfully cozy and beautiful. I stayed in the Bungalow looking over the water to the La Plata Mountains. The sun woke me every morning reflecting off the lake. The kitchen was easy to cook in--everything needed was there. Special home touches in the decor, amenities and setting made my stay very peaceful and relaxing. The only sounds were the many birds. Lots of room to walk and explore and many Pinion and Ponderosas that were saved from the Bark Beetle making the surrounding area very special. Great place for a retreat--alone or with a group.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLewis4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,706 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.2 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.0 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode at Willowtail Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode at Willowtail Springs

Property: Abode at Willowtail Springs
Address: 10451 Road 39, PO Box 89, Mancos, CO 81328-7921
Region: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode at Willowtail Springs is a gorgeous property with a large private lake and 60 acres of forests and streams. Three log cabins face the lake and the mountains. Fully equipped kitchens are stocked with fresh eggs, organic juice, fruit, bread, granola coffee,cream,tea,spices and homemade cherry/raspberry jam and staples. Two cabins accommodate two - four people. The larger cabin accommodates six people. Boats are provided and fishing gear at no extra cost. A private two person hot tub and stone patio overhang the lake and the mountains. A library, fireplace, fresh flowers,spa products and wireless connection are in each cabin,as well as outside grill and lovely picnic seating. Visit us at this paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing