We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hummus aplenty and garlic galore”

Heart of Jerusalem Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hummus aplenty and garlic galore”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have eaten here twice. You have to love a place that isn't afraid to use plenty of garlic! The hummus is fresh and seasoned perfectly. I've never had better falafel. And the chicken is tender and good. The gyro meat is fine. Not perfect, but good. Most of the platters seem very similar. Basically they all have meat, hummus, pita, salad and/or falafel. But it works for me. Healthy, good food in a great little town. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdnwbrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    79
    19
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Middle Eastern I've had in Colorado”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have been searching for falafel and shwarma like I had in Jerusalem for several years now and this place hit the mark. Everything we ate was divine and tasted like the real deal. Plus our server was very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FNLDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here a few times and have never been dissapointed. I find it reasonably priced. Definitely will return for the Heart of Jerusalem sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank csmarceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Plates”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We dinned here for a late lunch on their tiny patio. We all decided to order a bunch of their small plates since we were eating dinner late and already had a dinner reservation. It was a perfect decision! We tried their Manakeesh (flat bread style pizza), Falafel (veggie chickpea mini burgers) and the hummus with pita slices to dunk with. It was all amazing!!! They whole town was having a water problem due to the flooding they had experienced so the greeted our table with complimentary bottled water for all of us. The patio we dinned on was small but a great place to people watch. We will totally be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaBean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average restaurant”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

the menu seems nice enough, but the food is average.
I took a diner plate. the rice was overcooked, the falafel to dry, the meat really salty. hummus was good though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Chris_G250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heart of Jerusalem Cafe also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Heart of Jerusalem Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing