We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable place to stay in an interesting town”
Review of Dillon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dillon Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Last fall we stayed at the Dillon for two nights while we toured the area. This fall we were just driving through Colorado Springs and we preferred to stay at the Dillon in Manitou Springs again just because it was good and fun. It is an older but nicely kept up motel but they have a few newer rooms and this time we were booked into one of the newer rooms. It was roomy, clean, and all we wanted. Last fall we were two but this time we were four so we wanted a bit more room. The motel is probably one of the more affordable places to stay in a strip of motels along one street that leads to the downtown of Manitou Springs. It's at the far end of the street that leads to downtown so it might be a mile walk to where the shops and restaurants are located. However, there was a small diner just two minutes away in the other direction so we did not have to go far for breakfast. The motel provides coffee early in the morning and they also provide entertainment since they put out feed for deer and have them come in every evening and morning. I don't know if the deer show up in the middle of the day but they are fun to watch at a close up range. Thanks to the owners of the Dillon Motel for providing your own entertainment. We will continue to stay here should we be passing through again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you so much for your stay. We try very hard to please our guests and make them welcome. My grandparents built our cabin units in 1947 and we keep them very clean and try to preserve a little history. We also have new very large luxury rooms. We are centrally located to most attractions, shops and restaurants. Glad you enjoyed the deer and your time with us. Looking forward to your next visit and more chat.
Thank you. George and Joanne James, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

Loved staying at this motel. The owners are friendly and helpful about finding places to eat and how to get to various attractions. The gentleman who owns the motel told us that his grandfather built this hotel in 1947! Deer visit almost daily, very early in the morning and sometimes in the evening. The rooms are in a "U" shaped courtyard, and are separated from each other by smallish, enclosed parking spaces. The rooms with 2 beds have a 5+ foot high partial wall that separates the beds, which were comfortable. The bathroom is tiny, with a very small stall shower; a very large person might have problems getting to the toilet or taking a shower; the bathroom needs some renno and/or TLC. The room does have a mini-fridge, microwave and sink. All surfaces looked clean, clean, clean. There is a TV with a cable/satellite box, but we didn't use it during our stay. There's a very nice, clean pool which we didn't use either. The location is in the less-trendy, less busy part of Manitou Springs, which we enjoyed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back part of the court to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bookworm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We try very hard to make everyone feel at home.
Thank you very much.
George and Joanne James
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Clean! Clean! Did I mention it's clean? Don't expect anything fancy. It's plain, old, and clean. I actually saw the owner washing the bedspreads! You know, the nastiest thing in most hotels? I saw him washing em in the washing machine! This place is clean... Not real nice. The location is lame, busy road, kinda loud. It's clean! The deer in the pictures did show up and the owner is very friendly. Oh, the pool... Guess what? It was very clean!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank JTO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you for your stay and we enjoyed having you. My grandparents built our cabin units and we have new, very large luxury rooms as well. Many of our guests return year after year. We try our very best to accommodate our wonderful guests and make them feel at home. We do have special events in the summer and Manitou Springs is very busy. Oh, we do keep our property very clean. Thank you so much. George and Joanne James, Owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a comfortable stay. Rooms are a bit dated, but comfy enough. Would have loved a bath, shower was a bit small. Room was clean. Micro and small fridgeAlthough pool is heated it was a bit cold for my liking...might be because it rained some nights. Owners are GREAT people, very friendly and helpful. Clean towels and toilet paper daily. Towels for swimming, although very small but at least I didn't have to worry about packing and drying my own. Daughter loved the deer and squirrels coming to eat and be fed. Check in and Check out was fast. Office smells a bit like smoke. Room smelled clean. Lots of brochures and information in the office. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thank you very much for your stay. We enjoyed having you!
George and Joanne James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Classic, old school motel, rooms are almost cabin-like with a front and back "room" (there was a wall with an open doorway between the bedrooms), clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette area with a fridge and microwave--always appreciated. The owners are very nice and live onsite, Joann is from Pittsburgh which is a plus! And all at a very good price which ups the "value" factor considerably. Pool was also appreciated on our warm, early June visit.

Location is about a mile away from downtown Manitou but pretty much all of "motel row" is in the same area. Offsetting this is easy access from Rt 24.

Room Tip: We liked the older "cabin" rooms, but there is a newer (relatively speaking) wing as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

We are a small property and try our very best to please our wonderful guests and make them feel at home.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much. George and Joanne James owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The Dillon is one of many motels at the eastern end of Manitou Springs and a mile or more away from the downtown of Manitou Springs where you find the shops and restaurants. I am sure there were many more than a dozen such motels. Most were older with a few newer ones interspersed among the older ones. The Dillon was originally put up in 1947 by the grandparents of the current owners. In the '90s the current owners put in a handful of newer and larger rooms that are suitable for families. We stayed at the Dillon because there were good reviews on Trip Advisor and also because it was affordable. We stayed there for two nights while at the end of our eleven day vacation in southern Colorado. The room was clearly an old one but kept in good shape. Next to the room was sort of a carport for our vehicle. The bed was very comfortable and the room had two chairs and a table plus a dresser, TV, and closet. The bathroom was an old one. There also was a small room with a mini fridge, micro wave, and another sink. Coffee was available next to the office and the owners recommended a diner two minutes away for breakfast. The owners fed deer and we saw them every morning and evening. The owners were very pleasant and we will stay again while touring the area. We paid $54.50 per night plus tax. We liked it but if you are fussy enough to require a larger and more modern place you would no doubt have to pay much more elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We try very hard to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My husband and I booked online because the price was good and the hotel had some favorable reviews and nice photos on the web site. When we entered the room we were met with a strange strong smell, we think cheap deoderizer. The room wasn't terrible but was quite run down. The bathroom, however, was terrible with stained toilet sitting crooked in a narrow ratty alcove. The shower was also very water stained and in disrepair and the whole area reeked with the stench of urine.

The owner said we could try a different, presumably newer, room but it would be $25 more. We found another room at the Rainbow Hotel just down the street and it was wonderful and clean and in good shape. It was the same price and also included breakfast.

The owners of the Dillon were accommodating in allowing us to cancel the reservation and they deserve credit for that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Semievolved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We do not have an online reservation system. All of our reservations are done via the telephone and we talk with everyone personally.

We have had the same Housekeeping staff employed for many years. The rooms are cleaned and sanitized daily. Our cleaning products are purchased from a National Hospitality Supplier.

We try our very best to please and accommodate all of our wonderful guests.
George and Joanne James Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitou Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
0 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
Magnuson Grand Pikes Peak
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillon Motel

Address: 134 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2427
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £40 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings, and welcome to the Dillon Motel! The motel is under new ownership; my husband and I bought the property from George last month. We know we have big shoes to fill! We look forward to bringing a bit of ourselves to the property while continuing George's great tradition of hospitality. Note: I will continue the cowboy coffee - I got George's recipe! But I might not have it out as early as he does... The Dillon Motel offers cabin units to accommodate 2-4 people. Individual units include car port. private bathroom with shower, AC, Dish TV, double, queen, or king size beds. Large family rooms have 2 queen beds. Rollaways are available. Free WiFi, large heated seasonal pool. Just minutes away from all area attractions, shopping, dinning, local galleries and the Famous Mineral Springs. Property is 420-friendly and pet-friendly. One mile from Historic Downtown Manitou Springs, and one mile from historic Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillon Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing