We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blast from the past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dillon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dillon Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
God's chosen county of Lancashire - England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Blast from the past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here for 1 night of a 33 night roadtrip. This is a cute little motel about a mile (easy walk) out of town. It may look old fashioned on the outside, but the units have been updated enough to make them comfortable but without losing the retro feel. The owners are a kind and helpful couple, and really interesting to talk to. I also had the pleasure of feeding early morning cookies to a mule deer! Next time I'm in town I know where to stay - many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominico76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try and make our guests feel at home and accommodate your needs with a little bunk house chat. From time to time we have our 4 legged friends visit.
Thank you so much,
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
33
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were recently in town for the Pikes Peak Marathon and I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read from tripadvisor. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owners, who are the grandchildren of the original owners, and have a sense of pride and nostalgia for the place and surrounding areas unlike what you would find at any of the chain hotels.
The rooms are a bit dated, but are clean and comfortable. The location is right in Manitou Springs, one block away from Garden of the Gods, and less than 1 mile from the center of the downtown shopping area. You just cant find a better location at a better price.
In the morning deer come over from the park and take some Oreo cookies from the owners mouth which is a sight to see.
The pool was large and exceptionally clean, and the coffee good and fresh in the morning. I highly recommend a stay here is you prefer to patronize the local business owners and "little guys."

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessndenSouthernAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I know you enjoyed the Marathon, as we get many runners for the event. Our location is very accessible to most all area attractions and some restaurants within walking distance. I am a Certified Pool Operator (CPO) and maintain our pool to the Health Departments specifications and above. We try very hard to please our wonderful guests and assist their needs.

Thank you very much for you stay.
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed, my wife and I stayed in a newer room and the beds were very comfortable. The owner George was outstanding He even taught my wife how to have a cookie taken out of her mouth by a deer, Thank you george for a wonderfull stay

Room Tip: stay in the newer addition for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodaman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and the deer, they visit from time to time.
We try and make everyone feel welcome and at home.

Thank you.
George James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Dillon Motel. We were on business and looking for a bargain. The price is very low -- but as is generally the case you get what you pay for. There are a few newer units from the looks of things and perhaps the good reviews are about those units. The one we stayed in was quite old .. pretty sure the mattresses are at least 20 years old as well as the bathroom shower stall, etc.

The people are very nice .. it seems to be in a safe spot. The pool looked very clean and well cared for in spite of it's age. I would give it the highest reviews for the hospitality .. but really feel some new bedding is in order. There was no internet access from inside of our room or from the room next to us .. you had to sit outside to access it, so if that is important to you -- check to see if any of the units can acquire the signal from indoors.

Room Tip: Try a new unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your stay. Our mattresses were changed in the past 7 years, some are firm and some are med-firm. Our motel was opened in 1947 by my grandparents and we try to preserve a little history, as many of our wonderful guests return year after year because of that fact. We try very hard to make our guest feel welcome and at home.
I am a Certified Pool Operator (CPO) and maintain the operation of our pool. If something is broke, we fix it.
Our morning Cowboy coffee is pretty good too!

Thank you again for your stay.
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have been a guest at the Dillon Motel since the early '80's pretty much every summer. George and Joanne have watched both kids grow up and now they are watching my grandkids. It is a safe, inexpensive and family friendly motel with the added bonus of the nightly feeding of the deer that stop by. It is centrallly located to both Colorado City and Downtown Manitou Springs with fresh brewed coffee made available in the mornings.
They have a combination of old rooms and new rooms available. We stayed as a family in the older section as well as the new and I love the charm of sitting outside my room visiting with guests and the hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
You have been coming many years with your family and we’ve always enjoyed having you. We share a lot of good memories and fun.

Thank you so much for the good times!!
George and Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are tired of the same old thing time and again, I suggest you stay right here. These adorable little bungalows are fantastic for singles, groups of friends, couples and families. The customer service was outstanding! The owners were fantastic during check in, very understanding and accommodating in working with me on extending my stay another night. I was there during fourth of July weekend and the surround areas were packed with people, however, this hotel was so quiet and peaceful one could easily get lost in the tranquil atmosphere. This smaller hotel was just the ticket for some rest and relaxation!!

The rooms are older but very clean and the pool was fantastic. The cute adobe exterior added a quaint ambiance to the overall feel of the premises. If you are looking for a change of pace and a new adventure in your travels, I highly recommend making this your place to stay. Centrally located no matter whether you are wanting to spend the day on Pike's Peak, a hike in the Garden of the Gods, or shopping in the old downtown district, this is the place is it! Not too far from Fort Carson either if you are visiting a family member like I was. Isn't it about time to step out of the comfort zone and experience a new adventure?

I highly recommend staying here. Cleanliness, peace and customer service far outweigh having multiple flat screen televisions or fancy gadgets in a room. After my extensive travels across the country over the years, I no longer find it appealing to stay in the cookie cutter hotels. I'm ready to add to my travels and experience adventures of enjoying quaint, off the beaten path places to stay. This is one of those places I will be staying in again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVHNTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to
please our guests. Our motel was built by my grandparents in 1947
and we try and preserve a little history. It’s our pleasure to make everyone
feel at home.
Thank you very much.
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Staying at the Dillon brings back memories of traveling as a child when a lot of motels were family owned and operated. The motel is in a great location in Manitou. We stayed in a newer section, and the room was quite large and very clean. George, the owner, is a great reference for nearby food and activities. I enjoyed morning coffee with George and learned a lot about the history of the area. If you want a clean nice place to stay in Manitou then stay with George and his wife at the Dillon. Thank You George

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tscott123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your stay. We enjoyed having you.
George and Joanne James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitou Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillon Motel

Property: Dillon Motel
Address: 134 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dillon Motel offers cabin units to accommodate 2-4 people. Individual units include car port. private bathroom with shower,AC, cable TV,double, queen or king size beds.large luxury rooms with 2 queen beds that offer 2 rollaways. Free WIFI, large heated seasonal pool. Just minutes away from all area attractions, shopping, dinning, local galleries and the Famous Mineral Springs. One mile from Historic Downtown Manitou Springs. George and Joanne James Owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillon Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing