We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had a delightful stay at the hotel for a work trip. To my dismay when I arrived at the airport, I realized I had left my laptop at the hotel. I called the front desk and they sent a staff person to drive it to the airport right away and handoff my laptop to me before my flight left. The gentleman driving was very kind to hurry out and even told me there was no charge for his trip. This is the kind of extraordinary service that deserves to be acknowledged. I greatly appreciate the hotel's efforts to go the extra mile for me. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    166
    43
    21
    18
See reviews for
99
516
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I love the Manitou area and stumbled upon this hotel on the internet. I was a little turned off at the price at first, but after looking at other hotels in the area (even cheap ones normally), I found they weren't that overpriced. Our room cost us $141 a night, but was part of a package deal that included valet, breakfast buffet, a bottle of wine each night, and tuxedo strawberries! (no were else did this in the area btw).
When we arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly bellman who helped us with our luggage and engaged in casual and pleasant conversation with us. We never had to open a door (besides ours) at this place the bellmen were so attentive. The front desk staff was great as well.
We had a studio queen room that was wonderful! Opening the door revealed a hall tree followed by a rather large, turn-of-the-century style room. The bathroom was updated and had marble floor and shower. They even included a heated toilet seat!
The food here was great as well. Although we did not eat at the Dining Room, we did eat on the veranda which had an even better atmosphere we thought. I had the fish and chips and my wife had the Reuben, both were wonderful.
Overall, best hotel we have ever stayed at (and I normally stay in Embassy Suites and other Hilton venues) and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Studio is cheaper and unless you care to have a fireplace and two person spa tub, it's the way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I had high expectations for this hotel, but was disappointed. We had booked a package that included wine in the room, which you select ahead of time (there were only 3 choices), and the wrong one was in the room (is it that hard to pick the right one, or right color even, at a "top" hotel??). I was pretty forgiving, so I just went to call the front desk but none of the phones in the room worked. So, I had to call from my cell phone. Then, it took about 45 minutes to bring the right wine (even though they were not even at half capacity), and all I got was a mumbled "sorry." Then we had to leave to meet people and did not get to enjoy some afternoon wine like we had wanted.
Then, we wanted to dine at a nice place too far to walk, and the "top hotel" was "not staffed" to drive us the couple miles in the shuttle. YET, everywhere you look, employees were standing around. So, we had to pay for a taxi. The next morning, the valet all but totally ignored us and the girl at the front desk made us carry our own luggage out to the curve while she went and got the car .... we were late for our next destination.
It is a shame because this hotel has a lot of potential, and is very beautiful, but the staff NEEDS to be more competent or else this cannot be labeled a top hotel; end of story.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest -

We apologize for our inability to make your stay a wonderful and positive experience. We try very hard to please all of our guests and are deeply disappointed we we are unable to do so. We have spoken with the entire staff regarding your concerns and will continue to strive towards 100% guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Cliff House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel exudes old-school charm, but there were some unfortunate issues I must bring up.

We picked this hotel due to great reviews by-and-large. Things began well with friendly service, starting with the gentlemen that greeted us at the door and the check in desk. The room was nice and clean, with good views. Room service was prompt and the items we ordered late night came hot and delicious, couldn't ask for more.

The main negatives that we experienced had to do with the bed. I wanted a queen or a king, but the best they could offer was a king that was 2 twins put together. I was under the impression there would be something beneath the bottom sheet so we wouldn't feel the gap between the beds, but it was worse than that. The two beds were not a set, and one was older and soft and sagging, and the other was newer and firm, and sat about an inch higher. Therefore there was not just a gap between them, but a dropoff from one to the other. I was a bit disappointed in that, and won't take that kind of bed again.

The other main issue was the shower didn't drain well, and I always dislike taking a shower and standing in ankle deep water. (Note to mgmt: we stayed in rm 307).

On the good side, the breakfast was great and the complimentary morning paper is a nice touch.

Overall, a nice place, and I don't think the issues I had would match everyone's experience. I would stay here again, but would not get 2 twin beds put together.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Trotter1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your positive input and will work on the items mentioned.

Thanks again!

Cliff House Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you live in the Denver/Colorado Springs area or at least 100 miles from this location, you will find this very worth while. It is special year around.

Room Tip: Go for the special rooms if this is a very special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The most spectacular hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in. We renewed our wedding vows here, and then stayed the week. First class dining and staff. They could not have been more accommodating. We have stayed twice, both in the themed rooms, and enjoyed one more than the next. Chef is superb. Housekeeping discreet and thorough. Our favorite Colorado getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casperlovescolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We decided on the hotel for a special birthday trip based on the wonderful Trip Advisor reviews and the glowing website description of the hotel dining room. We were shocked when we arrived and the hotel dining room was closed and under construction! When I expressed my disappointment to the individuals at the front desk at check-in and check-out, neither showed any reaction to or interest in my complaint. I was also perturbed on our arrival that the valet who would park the car watched my wife and I unload the car and did not offer to help.

We booked a very nice jacuzzi and fireplace suite and I was quite pleased with the suite itself. However, we were disturbed by the dining room construction noise and the traffic noise outside the hotel. Trucks began driving by the hotel quite early in the morning, and even with closed windows, the noise was bothersome.

I thought the complimentary buffet breakfast was average at best with not enough choices.

Based on the meager services provided, I think the service and gratuity charge was excessive and superfluous. In spite of the gratuity charge, the valet parking attendants seemed to expect tips.

On the positive side, most of the employees of the hotel were quite friendly and courteous.

For the sake of courtesy and full disclosure, I really believe the hotel had the obligation to disclose that the dining room would be closed and there would be construction during our stay when we booked the reservation. I would have changed our travel plans if I had known. When I returned home, I sent back a completed evaluation form provided by the hotel detailing my complaints and disappointment. I never received a reply from the hotel..............

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stuawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Reviewer –

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We did advise the majority of our guests as to the status of our dining room renovations and apologize for our apparent lack of communication with regards to your reservation. During that time we served the full Cliff House Dining Room menu in our brand new Red Mountain Bar and Grill.

We also apologize for the valet service is it is not typical for our bell stand to stand and watch our guests unload their own belongings from their vehicle.

Regarding the construction noise: we are unaware of any construction that took place outside the property and there was nominal noisy work going on inside the closed dining room (primarily tearing down wallpaper and painting.)

Our complimentary breakfast includes:

Fruit Trays with Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Honeydew, Pineapple and Red Grapes
Fresh Fruit Bowl with Fuji Apples, Bananas, and Oranges

House made - Coffee Cake, Strudel (Apple, Cherry, Berry.)

Raisin Bran, Granola, Cheerios, Captain Crunch
Dried Cherries, Dried Apricots, Toasted Almonds and Pecan Pieces

Yogurt Cups – Strawberry, Peach and Cherry Vanilla
Cranberry, Grapefruit and Orange Juices

Scrambled Eggs, Sautéed Mushrooms, Chopped Bacon, Sausage, Biscuits, Gravy, French Toast and Breakfast Potatoes.
Salsa, Cheese, Roasted Red Peppers, Diced Ham

Coffee and tea

We receive a lot of positive comments on this offering, but we apologize if you feel that there were items missing from this.

All in all, if you left disappointed, then we failed and for that we sincerely apologize.

Thank you again for your comments and the time you took to convey them.

Sincerely,

Cliff House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing