We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully restored hotel, worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully restored hotel, worth the stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently and had an absolutely wonderful stay. Note: We prefer unique hotels to the more common, commercialized chains. So the Cliff House was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel had charm, nostalgia, excellent service, and great location. We stayed in a deluxe room that was truly deluxe -- king sized bed, spa tub, working gas fireplace, fluffy robes, etc. All staff were kind and friendly -- great service. The morning breakfast was fantastic with everything one might want to eat for breakfast. Yes, there are fees that we were notified of after we made our reservation and before our credit card was charged. Given that we booked the hotel at a discount anyway, we were fine with the fees. They were worth the service we received upon arrival and throughout our stay. We look forward to staying here again.

The only downside is that the reviews of the restaurant and bar & grill are likely true. We read the reviews but decided to eat at the bar & grill one night anyway because we aren't too picky about food / food service. After a long day of hiking and snacking, we were ready for a big meal. We each ordered pizzas, which were brought to us on thin bread and were about the size of a tortilla. Anywhere else, I would expect these pizzas to be $5 appetizers that you can order while you await your main course. These two pizzas cost us $33 and left us leaving the table very hungry. I wish we had heeded the reviews and eaten elsewhere. Aside from the food, the wait service in the bar & grill was good and we enjoyed the fireplace and live classical guitar music.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    171
    46
    22
    18
See reviews for
102
535
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Cliff House is a beautiful, historic hotel built in the late 1800s, that has been recently updated and modernized with many unique amenities like towel warmers, heated toilet seats, remote-control gas fireplaces, and steam showers. It's ideally located for strolling around the quaint, old town of Manitou Springs. Although I live just a half-hour away, I made reservations at the hotel for a romantic getaway with my wife for her birthday. Everything about the hotel was just as I had expected, based on talking with friends and reading the Cliff House reviews here on Trip Advisor. It's a great choice for a couple's retreat, birthday, or anniversary. However, what saved the night for us was the manager, Roland.

We were staying in the JP Getty suite, which was nice, on a Saturday night. Just as my wife and I were about to go to sleep though, a Christmas party kicked off somewhere below us. It must have been a great party because they had an excellent sound system and the deep, thumping beat of the base was certain to keep us awake for the duration of the party. Although we had enjoyed our time at the hotel, we both needed our sleep so I debated just packing up and driving back home to ensure a good night's sleep. But before we made that decision, my wife called the front desk and told Roland, the manager, about the noise from the party keeping us awake. He was extremely kind and apologetic and immediately offered to move us to a new room away from the noise. In fact, he personally came up and helped us move to the Teddy Roosevelt suite. It was on the 4th floor on the other side of the hotel, and blissfully quiet. It was also an immense suite with exquisite furnishings -- truly spectacular. Furthermore, without our asking, he gave us a $50 credit for the inconvenience of switching rooms. In short, Roland saved the day/night for us at the Cliff House! I have not experienced that kind of customer service at many hotels before but, in addition to Roland, the entire staff at the Cliff House was incredibly attentive during our stay (except for the person running the party's sound system -- I don't know if he was associated with the hotel).

Based on our unusual experience, I highly recommend the Cliff House. Not only is it a unique hotel, but the manager did all he could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. With that kind of concerned service, I believe everyone who stays at the Cliff House will have an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it -- stay in the Teddy Roosevelt suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I started looking for a place to stay in Colorado Springs and stumbled on The Cliff House. Had no idea Manitou Springs was such a quaint town. The Cliff House embodies historic charm with modern amenities. The complimentary breakfast was superb, as was the special dinner for two. Holiday decorations and music made it ever so festive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxyeHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We really liked the room. It was fun. Small in terms of square footage but it felt big due to the volume. We were there in early November and it was pretty cold so the fireplace came in very handy. Unlike most hotel room fireplaces that are just for looks, this one really worked! Tons of heat. The included breakfast buffet was one of the best I've seen and the dinner we had in the dining room was very good as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsnjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I thought we had selected a Bed and Breakfast, but was surprised to find it a "full-size" hotel -- but with the feel of a B&B...

The staff was very helpful, courteous and a pleasure.

The room was a nice size - loved the mountain view in the morning with the sunlight pouring in. The bed was comfortable and the fireplace a joy to have.

We tried the restaurant for one of our nights - and can recommend it. I went for a chicken piccata and enjoyed how it was prepared. Not the traditional Italian piccata - but delicious.

If you enjoy a walk in the morning - like I do, the town is right there as you exit the hotel lobby. Many fun stores, I can understand why this is a destination spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BogiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama city, Panama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I really appreciated the staff and they were super when it came to the shuttle arrangements, really looking after me on the Friday before I left. They did look after all my parcel deliveries too. I did have some problems with the air conditioning but in the end got it sorted.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisanelson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a fabulous stay at the Cliff House. It is a block away from shops and restaurants. They require you to valet park but are quick about retrieving your car and have the tip built in to the hotel fee, so you don't have to have cash readily available. Our room was a nice size with very comfortable beds, and lots of small things that made a difference, like an electric heated toilet seat, and the light comes on in the closet when opened. They have a full sized ironing board, a hair dryer and robes in the closet, and will bring a humidifier on request. The service was great and the hot breakfast buffet had lots to offer and was served in a elegant dining room with beautiful paintings by a local artist, and a view of the mountains. They have coffee at the ready with to go cups just outside the dining area. There is a nice front porch with chairs to lounge on, as well as a large fitness room, and a large living area with couches for guests to enjoy as well as wifi throughout the hotel. The staff was friendly and happy to help. The town is quaint with lots of restaurants in walking distance but don't miss the local made ice cream. You will want to frequent that daily.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lmoetteli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,868 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
510 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,229 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing