We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "date night" spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect "date night" spot”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I hadn't gone away together without the kids in years. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was comfortable, relaxing, and very quiet. The valet service was excellent along with the complimentary breakfast the next morning. It was also very nice to be in the middle of town and just a short walk away from shops and restaurants. We will definitely do this again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisvog6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    178
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
106
553
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in a lovely room with an electric fireplace in the sitting area. Very large bathroom and all was very clean. They had a special at the time with a discount on food in the restaurant and it was all very yummy. Very friendly staff that was attentive but not in your way. The only down side to this place is the cost. A friend made the reservation for us and instead of getting a "deal" on the room as shown on their website, we paid full price...... only bummer to the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent our anniversary at the Cliff House during the week before Christmas. From the Valet who greeted us, to the anniversary greetings on our bed and dessert plates, the Cliff House knows how to make a person feel special. It is easy to understand, how Travel and Leisure ranked it as one of the top hotels in the World a few years ago. It is top notch in our book for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffhollymx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was our sixth trip to Manitou Springs in the last three years, and our first time staying at the Cliff House. I don't think we will stay anywhere else after this. We had previously stayed at the Antlers Hilton (which is nice, but they nickle and dime you for the extras). This hotel was gorgeously decorated for Christmas and our kids loved the giant Santa in the tea room. The valet parking service took the hassle out of parking around Manitou Springs, and was a very economical too.

I was surprised by the breakfast served each morning. It was very substantial, and even our three year old nephew found items on the spread he would eat.

We stayed in a deluxe suite which was surprisingly roomy even with our toddler's crib. We really liked the large soaking tub which our toddler enjoyed "swimming" in. I was displeased by the amenities offered. The shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel were all made in china and had a strong musky scent to them. My husband commented that the lotion had an "aged and heavy" smell about it. With the thought and execution of the rest of the amenities (like the heated toilet seat, plush robes, and upscale coffee), I feel the shampoo selection was a poor choice. I would have liked to see products made in the USA (like William Roam for example). Bath salts for the soaking tub would have been a nice touch too. I did, however, like the inclusion of the make-up remover wipes. I unfortunately had to use them not for myself, but for removing the pen marks my toddler drew all over his face before dinner. They worked great by the way!

The location of the Cliff House cannot be beat. We were able to walk around Manitou Springs, and easily access US-24 to hike at the Red Rocks Open Space.

The staff was incredible. They were very patient and engaging with the two toddlers in our group.
For a Christmas get-together with our extended family, the Cliff House was the right choice.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a suite with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently and had an absolutely wonderful stay. Note: We prefer unique hotels to the more common, commercialized chains. So the Cliff House was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel had charm, nostalgia, excellent service, and great location. We stayed in a deluxe room that was truly deluxe -- king sized bed, spa tub, working gas fireplace, fluffy robes, etc. All staff were kind and friendly -- great service. The morning breakfast was fantastic with everything one might want to eat for breakfast. Yes, there are fees that we were notified of after we made our reservation and before our credit card was charged. Given that we booked the hotel at a discount anyway, we were fine with the fees. They were worth the service we received upon arrival and throughout our stay. We look forward to staying here again.

The only downside is that the reviews of the restaurant and bar & grill are likely true. We read the reviews but decided to eat at the bar & grill one night anyway because we aren't too picky about food / food service. After a long day of hiking and snacking, we were ready for a big meal. We each ordered pizzas, which were brought to us on thin bread and were about the size of a tortilla. Anywhere else, I would expect these pizzas to be $5 appetizers that you can order while you await your main course. These two pizzas cost us $33 and left us leaving the table very hungry. I wish we had heeded the reviews and eaten elsewhere. Aside from the food, the wait service in the bar & grill was good and we enjoyed the fireplace and live classical guitar music.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Cliff House is a beautiful, historic hotel built in the late 1800s, that has been recently updated and modernized with many unique amenities like towel warmers, heated toilet seats, remote-control gas fireplaces, and steam showers. It's ideally located for strolling around the quaint, old town of Manitou Springs. Although I live just a half-hour away, I made reservations at the hotel for a romantic getaway with my wife for her birthday. Everything about the hotel was just as I had expected, based on talking with friends and reading the Cliff House reviews here on Trip Advisor. It's a great choice for a couple's retreat, birthday, or anniversary. However, what saved the night for us was the manager, Roland.

We were staying in the JP Getty suite, which was nice, on a Saturday night. Just as my wife and I were about to go to sleep though, a Christmas party kicked off somewhere below us. It must have been a great party because they had an excellent sound system and the deep, thumping beat of the base was certain to keep us awake for the duration of the party. Although we had enjoyed our time at the hotel, we both needed our sleep so I debated just packing up and driving back home to ensure a good night's sleep. But before we made that decision, my wife called the front desk and told Roland, the manager, about the noise from the party keeping us awake. He was extremely kind and apologetic and immediately offered to move us to a new room away from the noise. In fact, he personally came up and helped us move to the Teddy Roosevelt suite. It was on the 4th floor on the other side of the hotel, and blissfully quiet. It was also an immense suite with exquisite furnishings -- truly spectacular. Furthermore, without our asking, he gave us a $50 credit for the inconvenience of switching rooms. In short, Roland saved the day/night for us at the Cliff House! I have not experienced that kind of customer service at many hotels before but, in addition to Roland, the entire staff at the Cliff House was incredibly attentive during our stay (except for the person running the party's sound system -- I don't know if he was associated with the hotel).

Based on our unusual experience, I highly recommend the Cliff House. Not only is it a unique hotel, but the manager did all he could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. With that kind of concerned service, I believe everyone who stays at the Cliff House will have an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it -- stay in the Teddy Roosevelt suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I started looking for a place to stay in Colorado Springs and stumbled on The Cliff House. Had no idea Manitou Springs was such a quaint town. The Cliff House embodies historic charm with modern amenities. The complimentary breakfast was superb, as was the special dinner for two. Holiday decorations and music made it ever so festive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxyeHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,099 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
214 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing