We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous & Luxurious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous & Luxurious Hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Colorado Springs for our first out-of-state vacation. The Cliff House far exceeded our expectations! From the moment the shuttle picking us up to the airport to the moment we checked out of our room, the staff was courteous and respectful.

It was our first time at a luxury hotel and in Colorado Springs. The staff was very helpful and gave us advice for each of the attractions we planned on visiting. After a long day of venturing out, one of the best aspects of The Cliff House is its amazing dinner!! Fine dining at its best with a staff that doesn't condescend based on your dress. A plus (for my boyfriend) is when they allowed him to order one of their beers to take back to the room.

The suite we stayed at was very comfortable & romantic. It had a great view of Pikes Peak and of Manitou Springs. It was a short trip, but definitely worth while. I highly recommend a stay at this hotel, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalpearl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    167
    44
    21
    18
See reviews for
101
520
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This historic Victorian hotel is an absolute delight that you SHOULDN'T miss if you're staying in the Colorado Springs area. The staff is friendly, and they pay close attention to detail, seeing to any and all guest needs without delay. The restaurant serves a pleasant buffet breakfast ... but the real treat is the dinner menu! The rooms are exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. I live only 65 miles away (in Denver), but make a point of just getting away three or four times each year just to enjoy the Cliff House and along with the many sightseeing opportunities in the area. I can't say enough good things about this delightful hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Perhaps our expectations were too high as we'd read that this was a 4 Diamond Award winner. However, the experience was much more like an average B&B. Fine, but certainly not grand.

Most of the employees seemed very young and inexperienced and not particularly warm or friendly.

The bed was horribly uncomfortable and the down pillows were awful - pretty much flat - to the point that we were grateful our stay was only two nights! The rooms and overall décor is not very nice - like 1800's circa the 1980's - with small rooms, lots of apricot colored paint, shiny gold fixtures, heavy/clunky furniture, and very dated upholstery, bedding, overall décor. And not dated in a classy vintage way.

While they graciously left a note upon arrival letting us know there was a bottle of Martinelli's in the fridge, they also neglected to turn the fridge on, so when we went to open the bottle, it was at room temperature.

The restaurant food (we had both lunch and dinner and the breakfast buffet) was very mediocre. Not bad, but again, certainly not what we were expecting after reading that it was "known as one of Colorado's premier dining destinations" and being advised twice by the hotel staff to make a dinner reservation because it was so popular (at 6 p.m. on a Friday night the restaurant was virtually empty.) At breakfast, almost all of the tablecloths were dirty, as they were turning over tables w/out also replacing the table cloths so while there were new napkins, utensils, etc., the tablecloths had coffee or jams stains on them from previous diners.

We enjoyed the free wireless internet, found the valet staff to be friendly and quick and the fitness center is very well-equipped and spacious. The business center was also nice.

The location is great - within a short walk of the main drag.

Overall, I think if you get a good deal and don't have too high of expectations, you will enjoy this hotel (although perhaps not your night's sleep). But I wouldn't pay full price and go expecting to have a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNLDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

we made our twice a year pilgrimage to manitou for our stay at this wonderful hotel. let me start by saying we were booked last weekend, but because of the weather we were allowed to rebook for this past weekend, without penalty. who does that? these professionals at the cliff house. the hotel, while undergoing some renovation, was still immaculate, quiet (even though our suite was across from the entrance to the bar and grill). the suite, complete with fireplace, was perfect in every way. when we came back from dinner at the excellent in house restaurant, the bed was turned down, chocolates on the pillows and a mat by the bed on each side so that when you got up, you did so onto this mat. and a word about dinner. our server, ron i believe was his name, the best. and the other two folks working the restaurant, a young lady and a young man, an example of how service should be. the is nothing i could suggest to make our stay any better (my girlfriend said heated bathroom floors)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Be aware of the added gratuity and parking fee. I have to say my room was not quite as I was expecting. Huge stains on the carpet, a hole on the top very worn blanket, an old cough drop under my ice bucket tray, holes and stains on the chairs, and the very worst, a fringed worn toss pillow on my bed, touching the sheets I'm putting my head on. Do you have any idea where that unwashed old pillow has been? Disappointed the bar was not open.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeymind44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We took advantage of an off season deal for a weekend getaway from Denver. The hotel was beautifully rebuilt years ago after a devastating fire and looks wonderful. Staff were all great and very accommodating. Wasn't expecting the fact that they have no parking except valet which is an additional $7 a day. No biggie, just a surprise. The room was beautiful, comfortably appointed but we too had a gas fireplace that only worked sometimes. Free breakfast was quite nice but in reality it wasn't free. They add $18 a day onto your room for a "service" charge which they say is for breakfast and stuff. Little things add up. Location is nice, right off the main drag, walking distance to a number of bars, restaurants and coffee shops as well as the shops of "downtown" Manitou Spring.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjtmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed there twice. The first time was great, very nice room, service was exceptional, food good, Valet parking, overall a really nice experience. Second time we stayed there the fireplace in the room didn't work and we had less than great service. They said there was a wedding going on and evidently when that's happening its more of a fend for yourself atmosphere. We had to find parking on the street ourselves and schlep our own luggage to the room. Not a big deal just a contrast to how well we were treated the first time. The food was still good, room was nice, the service was just not there the second time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JThobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing