We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic evening...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We planned to arrive earlier in the day to peruse the shops of Manitou Springs, but work got in the way... We arrived just in time to check in and be seated for our dinner reservations in the dining room. Check in was simple and fast, our room was nice as well. I'll review the restaurant in that category as well. The bed was comfy, but the pillows needed to be replaced- really lumpy and hard. The breakfast was included the following morning- and was quite adequate. The atmosphere is lovely, the history interesting, but since we were only there for one night we were unable to make the most of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelin_Fool_80918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed overnight last night, to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary, and had a most enjoyable stay and meal!

On this visit we found ourselves in room 413 which is a "junior queen suite" with a gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub. None of the rooms are ever overly large, and the "classic" furniture is more quaint than perfect. The room was clean - as always - though the queen felt more like a full for us, as we are way too used to king-size beds. The view was out the front of the building, with a nice view. The room came with a bottle of wine, which only helped our celebratory mood.

We enjoyed dinner at The Cliff House restaurant, as the room rate included a nice coupon towards the meal. We had an excellent and professional server who obviously took the time to know food preparations and how to answer several inquisitive questions (thanks Tom!). We enjoyed the solo acoustic guitar player who sat quietly in the corner, filling the room with pleasant and entertaining sounds...though not too loud to overwhelm our conversation. The food presentation was creative, and taste was excellent. A very enjoyable meal that we will do again, as the opportunity permits.

We also partook of the (included) breakfast buffet the next morning, which was very good - two types of eggs (great with a slightly spicy salsa on top), fresh cut fruit, breads and other side dishes.

Overall, this was one of our better visits to The Cliff House, and we continue to be quite pleased by the staff professionalism. We are experienced - and okay with - the policy of charging our room $9 per day (per person) to cover service tips, and the $7 parking fee.

We will continue visiting The Cliff House, and recommend it as a romantic get-away for others who favor locations with nice room character and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with jacuzzi tub, fireplace and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverDoug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Cliff House is a really nice hotel. It is a historic building with a lot of character and history. We stayed in the Kathy Lee Bates Suite which was almost as big as my first apartment! (It was tiny). They have a restaurant inside the hotel and room service, fireplaces, spa tub and two TV's. There is a nice wide porch with tons of seating and tables. The service was great, the kind of place that answered yes to any request. It was an odd trip overall because we weren't that taken by the actual town of Manitou Springs...you can do anything you would want to do there in one day. But the actual hotel was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kathy Lee Bates suite on the corner, which had two separate rooms. A living room ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wondering if some of the bad reviews were even of the same hotel... and certainly check the other listing for more reviews of the restaurant (one reviewer below had long restaurant review instead of hotel review; we had an excellent experience at the restaurant too, incidentally). We've stayed at all the historic hotels in CO, and this one is one of the better kept up ones. Location is great; you don't have to drive once you get there if you want to just dine and shop and explore the cute town. All staff we encountered, and there seem to be many around to cater to your needs, were friendly and solicitous and accommodating. We got a winter deal (get on their email list) so it ends up a bargain. The added fees that everyone complains about: it's actually a wash if you are a tipper anyway, b/c if you ask they tell you the $9/day fee (not $18 as someone wrote) covers tips for housekeeping, valet, bellhop, and breakfast service. Which latter (breakfast) btw is also outstanding; can't believe negative reviews below; we've stayed many times and it's always hot, fresh, constantly replenished, huge variety (can't imagine a breakfast item they do NOT include). It IS an old hotel tho, so ask about how to work the shower to make sure you get hot water (supposedly a trick we didn't learn til check-out), and plumbing above us quite loud, and some other building noises, and thin walls (you could hear tv in next room). Standard rooms not giant and some bathrooms bigger than others. But the hotel is nicely appointed, not huge so it's easy to get around, and while elegant, still homey and comfy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatLoverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This property and the mountain community of Manitou Springs makes for a wonderful getaway from Denver. We stayed here during the winter months so the town was less busy and the hotel was not at capacity, which made our stay very personal. The staff here is very gracious, attentive and seem genuinely interested in ensuring your stay is a pleasant one.

The hotel itself is off the main highway into town and can be a bit challenging to find. They offer valet parking which is worth the extra $7/nt. We stayed in a regular Studio Queen room which was a bit smaller than what was pictured online. However, we were using a Living Social coupon, so I'm not surprised that we did not score their best room. Our accommodations were facing the parking lot, so if possible, request a room that faces the street and has a view of the mountains. Our only complaint was that we could hear the people chatting in the next room quite clearly once we went to bed and early the next morning.

We stayed for two nights and had dinner in the Main Dining Room one night. The experience is a little formal and we had a wonderful meal. They have a Wine Spectator award winning wine list which we loved selecting from. When you make a reservation, request the fireplace room. It was so romantic for our evening. There is also another bar and grill in a separate part of the hotel that is a nice place to hang out or grab a drink. We also were treated to a pianist in the music room one evening which was a nice way to end our stay.

Due to the location of the hotel, it is very easy to leave your car and walk around the town. There are numerous shops, restaurants, coffee shops and taverns all within walking distance.

Overall, we had a very nice weekend and would recommend folks to check out this hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the street, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventurousColorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here one night to celebrate our anniversary. My husband surprised me with ordering chilled wine and strawberries for the room. Our room was nice with a timer near the bed to turn on the gas fireplace a jacuzzi tub for two in the bathroom. There was also a heated toilet seat, makeup mirror, romantic music CD and CD player/clock. The dimmed lighting is nice. TV on the wall with Showtime movie channels. Wi-fi was good and easily available outlets and USB for charging your devices. They turned down the bed while we went to dinner and left chocolates on the bed. Our waiter was very knowledgable with the menu. We ordered the grilled shrimp appetizer. It was fine, bacon wrapped would make it better. I wanted to see something with artichokes but maybe offered in the Spring. The bread basket and bread sticks are good. They served a treat from the kitchen...some kind of cream cheese thing. We both ordered filet mignon and it was cooked perfect (medium-plus). Nice side potato dish and asparagus and the crab on top the steak was so good...give more. We skipped dessert and ordered a warm brownie and milk for room service later. It's all expensive but we expected the prices. The breakfast buffet was decent. The potatoes were a little over cooked but all was warm and fresh with a lot of nice options. Valet was fine. We enjoyed our stay and we'd stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kriscam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The room was fine--a slightly ragged, velvety Victorian space that suited me. The sommelier was an amiable, receptive man.

However, the overall dining experience was horrible, although friends and the internet call it the premier luxury dining experience in Colorado. We waited a bit awkwardly at the door until the waiter saw us. The waiter/waitress team was disorganized and didn't seem to know what they were doing. I asked about certain appetizer options, and the waiter just read the menu off to me, said he'd ask the kitchen, and then didn't return for 20 minutes, and when he did return, he didn't seem to remember that I was waiting for a response. Incongruously, all the guests were served a strange, single tiny cracker with bits of vegetables and chicken on it, that was a "gift from the kitchen", which contained the actual item I'd requested as an appetizer that the waiter didn't seem to know they had. The meal was undercooked and badly designed: country potatoes that were still crunchy, soggy tomatoes that had been left out too long, sprinkled with a soggy grain mixture, overly-fatty and tough rack of lamb (the presentation was of lamb chops trying to be passed off as an osso bucco), and not fully cooked shrimp (cold and badly textured in the middle--frozen?). I didn't return the food though, because I was beginning to get woozy from low blood sugar, which was exacerbated by the half hour it took to get a bad appetizer, so I simply needed to eat it. I'm sad that I actually agreed to pay for it all. I had a much better designed, executed, and served meal the next day in Denver at a the Watercourse Cafe.

The experience demonstrated that the Cliff House restaurant does not deserve the accolades on its website. Overall the service seemed disinterested and that the decisions made were at the comfort and benefit of the people working there rather than for the people paying to dine there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear reviewer –

We apologize for your bad dining experience. Generally, our Dining Room receives wonderful reviews. The server team you mentioned have been with the property for many years and so it is disconcerting that they did not give you the excellent service they would normally provide.

All in all, we did not meet or exceed your expectations and for that we failed as an operation.

Our apologies again,

Cliff House Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,120 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
226 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £96 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing