We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Room with all the perks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
durango, CO, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room with all the perks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked a last minute Queen standard room. We arrived about an hour before check in time and the room (103) was ready. The valet is well worth the seven bucks as tourist street parking is pricey and hard to find. The room was an end unit on the first floor with three beautifully adorned tall windows. The bathroom had two pedestal sinks and an enclosed (steam) shower with two body sprays and the usual wall spray head. The room was nicely furnished with coffee maker, refrigerator and large tv screen/dvd above the fireplace. The outdoor porch with dining and the main dining room were at the end of the hall. A great buffet breakfast was included.

Room Tip: 103 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Ron,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to one of our Deluxe Queen Suites. We hope you will return soon to enjoy more relaxing times on our Veranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    165
    41
    21
    17
See reviews for
99
507
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped by last year to have dinner on the patio and it was great so this year we decided to stay for a couple of nights. We were traveling with our therapy dog and we were pleasantly surprised to hear that she was allowed to stay as well. Our room was gorgeous and roomy and very quiet. Our first night the air conditioner quit working after maintenance had left for the night but the staff offered to move us to another room. We declined the move and they gave us a fan and we opened the windows and were quite comfortable for the night. The air was fixed immediately the next morning.
The staff was most accommodating, gracious, and extremely friendly and helpful. Our dinner on the patio was some of the best meals we have ever had and the service was fantastic. Very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and wines. Breakfast was equally great with several different choices to chose from. Again the staff very attentive to any needs.
We have been to Manitou Springs several times, it is one of our most favorite places to visit. We will always stay at the Cliff House from now on. All kinds of shopping or eating was within walking distance to the hotel and after dinner we would walk thru the penny arcade and get ice cream from one if the best places in Manitou to do so.
We love this place and can't say enough good things about the hotel itself and the wonderful staff. I can't wait to go back. If you are traveling to Manitou Springs The Cliff House should be a must stay, it truly is a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Marcy,
We are glad you enjoyed your experience here at The Cliff House. Our staff strives to make your stay relaxing and worry -free. Let us apologize again for the air conditioning problem but we are happy we could get it resolved quickly for you. We enjoy having our guests return and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great experience, went at a slow time so had the place to ourselves. Walls in rooms are thin so could here the snoring neighbors but other then that it was great. Dinning room was a good experience but have had better for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great stay at the cliff house. We started with a rocky start because on the first night we ordered a pizza, it took well over an hour and it came in a large pizza box without the cardboard liner. Did i mention it looked like a microwave pizza gone wrong. So we were upset at this and expressed this to the manager and he let us stay in a suite that happened to be the Charles Dickens suite which normally would have been very expensive for a discounted price. Not only that but the servise was fantastic and you can take out (for free) about a hundred different movies to watch. The room service was fantastic and right across the street was a penny arcade and quarter arcades with antique games that run on pennies. The rooms are amazing with heated toilets! The room service delivers delectable deserts and will wake you up at a certain time with a cup of fresh coffee if you ask. Would definetly reccomend this and would try to get a mountain viewing suite for best experiences.

Room Tip: Mountain facing room are the most peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Kenna,

We are sorry to here of your pizza experience but are pleased that your trip turned out well and that you enjoyed our Room Service. Yes, our Pastry Chef does make delicious desserts. We do carry an extensive DVD library, actually over 300 titles and always adding more. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Came here while camping in CS and met up with a few friends who live in the area. The food was great, service was lacking, and the deck we sat out on for dinner was fabulous. The weather was great and there were hardly any insects flying around. My meal wasn't memorable, but it was quite good. I would definitely come back here if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerriejones06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
218 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I set a quick overnight up for the two of us here for my husband's birthday. The room was nice, and I like the old charming feel to it, though I'm not sure that the place was THAT clean (there are these really old fake floral arrangements everywhere with dust caked on them, for example). And then I wasn't sure I got a great deal, because my parents stayed there the same night (my daughter is 10 months old, so they brought her there so we could be with her later), and paid a lot less for a slightly smaller room. I think all the rooms have heated toilet seats, which was a nice perk. The location of it is really cool, though I wouldn't say there's much to do in town. The view is great. Breakfast was also just average.

Room Tip: Don't spring for the more expensive rooms--there's not that much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KendraP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Cliff House at Pikes Peak. We have have read your comments and did want to specifically respond to a couple of the issues mentioned:

We will double-check the floral arrangements in the hallways to make sure they are completely dust free.

We have 5 different room categories, each with their own set of unique attributes, amenities, and square footage, which can range from 200 to up to 522 square feet. All the rooms have heated toilet seats, approx: half of the rooms have fireplaces, and as you move up in category, some will have spa tubs, steam showers, body sprays, and other upgraded amenities not found in the other rooms.

To our knowledge we have the most elaborate complimentary breakfast offering available, but we will continue to strive to upgrade this offering in the future.

Once again, thank you for your comments!

Cliff House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 15 day trip to Colorado. We spent three nights at the Cliff House. It was, by far, the most welcoming of any of the hotels. The front desk staff always welcomed us back from our outings with a smile, the valet drivers were quick and friendly and the staff at breakfast could not have been better. It is in a perfect location to explore the town, shop and eat at various restaurants. I would highly recommend the Cliff House if you want the perfect "home" for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank californiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff strives hard to make you feel at "home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
Cheyenne Mountain Resort
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing