We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience Poor Management Out Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Experience Poor Management Out Dated”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were traveling through Colorado on an off roading trip and decided to stay here based on reviews and location. There were a lot of road works on going and valet parking was the only option but being in a wheel chair I had to go around to the back entrance which was blocked of by 3 ft of sand bags as they had a flooding incident and it seems that if it was going to possible rain they put up this sandbag walls due to a bit of paranoia on the GM (staffs words not mine). While my jeep was in their care my brand new synthetic winch cable and KC lights were stolen (over 700 dollars of damage) and this would have taken a good bit of time and tools. Upon discussing the incident with the stand in manager and have the parking attendants confirm when they were there the stand in manager said as we left the property for 5 hours before we noticed it, it may not of happened at thier property but I explained as am in a wheelchair I only got out of the car once for 10 mins and was parked directly in front of the shop I went and there was no way to remove those lights in that time frame. He took no responsibility and said they would raise an incident report and to report it to my insurance even though it happened on thier property. The lack of any apology and a complete indifference to the issue from the manager was very fustrating, I had to make the suggestion to call the GM who didn't answer and i had to call once he returned and the police. The whole affair left a bad taste in my mouth. I did finally get a call from thier insurance company and received compensation but the whole affair could have been handled with a lot more tack on thier part.

The working staff were great in the restaurant, bell men / parking attendants and bar.

The hotel is "historic" or in my terms old fashion / dated if you like that sort of thing.

Food was very good but dated and the menu is limited we ate once in the restaurant and once in the bar and had exhausted most choices by then.

All in all an okay hotel, dated or historic depending on how you look at it but poor management or procedures if the GM is away just a fustrating stay with a blank look and no apology

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mllrrb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to explain your dissatisfaction with our handling of the damage to your vehicle. We are glad that the damages have been handled and know that it was not your pleasure to have to go through this process. I believe our Front Desk Manager was a little taken back when you insisted that we pay you cash at check out for your projected damages, which is something we cannot do. We also did not know whether or not the damages occurred on property and so we proceeded with the process of calling the police to file a report, and notifying our insurance provider.

We do apologize to you for your time and discomfort during the process.

Sincerely,

Cliff House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    171
    46
    22
    18
See reviews for
102
536
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful, historic, walking distance to so much. The view of Manitou Inline was amazing! Great bed, shower, food... Can't say enough good things. Use their parking because on street would be difficult. Close to shopping and bars/restaurants, incline, rail away to Pikes Peak

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel. We at The Cliff House feel we live in one of the most beautiful places in Colorado. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Valet parking highly recommended as street parking expensive and monitored 24 hours. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Room was comfortable and clean with plenty of tea and coffee - bathroom excellent.

Used as a base to visit the cog railway - must see if you are in the area.

Hotel restaurant expensive but good quality - definitely a romantic meal for two style restaurant. Breakfast in the morning was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgwater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Cliff House. As you mentioned we are in the heart of Manitou Springs and within walking distance to most of the shops in town. Our valet service is most economical ($7 a day) compared to most cities where hotels charge in excess of 4 times that much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Picturesque historic hotel one block off Main Street, yet a world away.
Sitting on the huge front porch, also the perfect place to a enjoy a phenomenal complimentary breakfast, sipping ice tea and relaxing to the sights and sounds of an afternoon thunderstorm.
This is the PERFECT place to unwind and rejuvenate after a fun filled day of nearby activities. The rooms have an inviting old world charm paired with the modern comforts of an incredibly comfortable bed and a decadent steam shower.
The accommodations here at The Cliff House have been one of the highlights of our summer mother-daughter getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindab82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your summer getaway. We are perfectly situated within walking distance of most everything in Manitou Springs or a short distance from all the local attractions. It is nice to hear that you got to relax and rejuvenate in the comforts of our hotel. Please do not wait until next summer to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As a reward for being such a nice fellow, my wife booked a stay in this delightful property. Using a promotion from the website she was able to upgrade to a suite for 158.00/night. A good Cabernet plus cheese/cracker tray was delivered along with chocolate covered strawberries. Wow!!!! Finally, after a great dining experience downstairs; we returned to find a beautiful Tropicana Rose on the turned down bed. Use your imagination...... Other amenities include a large hydro jet tub, steam shower, towel warmer, and of course robes. If you want to "relight the fire" this is the venue for you.

Room Tip: The SW facing rooms have a view of Mt. Manitou, and Pikes Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlaw2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our Romantic Escape Package and our wonderful dining room. We hope to see you again soon for another breath of "air'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautifully renovated and restored building from the late 1800's. Wonderfully elegant, comfortable room and lots of pampering with robes in the closet, turn down service with chocolates, quiet soothing music CD in the room, and delicious breakfast buffet till 10:30 a.m. at very reasonable rates and worth the $9.00 extra fee. Small fridge in the room, outdoor veranda for relaxing or dining, and a deck off the bar with a great view of the mountains above Manitou Springs. Useful business center with computer and office supplies. Great location right off the main street and near the city park. Friendly, helpful staff. A lovely experience, and we appreciate the elegant, fine details throughout the building recreating the ambiance of a bygone era. We truly value this type of independent, historic hotel experience, and hope you will too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We continually strive to make everyone's experience enjoyable. We do love to keep our old world charm while bringing the best in modern conveniences and amenities. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Like stepping back in time! The rooms were lovely and we took our breakfast out on the wrap around porch. The food choices were good and ambiance wonderful. We enjoyed the town of Manitou Springs, don't forget to eat at Loops if you are in the mood for great Mexican food.

Room Tip: We stayed on the hillside of the resort and it was very quiet, but the street side would have had lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerspicePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad we lived up to your expectations. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,070 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
515 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,234 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing