We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where'd All These Stars Come From?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Trip Advisor has become my main source of information when choosing a hotel This time, I disagree with the majority of the reviews regarding this property. I was not impressed with anything - nothing. Upon arrival, we waited five minutes in the driveway for the posted valet. After the valet never showed, we parked on a residential side street around the block. Toting our luggage across streets, crosswalks and stairs, we arrived in the lobby and saw there three valet guys standing around the front desk chatting among themselves. When signing the checkin paperwork, the desk clerk, Aimee, noted the 7$ valet parking fee as well as an 18$ "service charge for incidentals." I told her we did not valet and she said the local police would tow the car if it was on the street. How inviting, I thought. Further, she insulted me stating, "You really need to valet." I told her that I tried to , and in fact waited for some time without any service. After she shrugged her shoulders she handed me a pen to sign necessary paperwork for checkin.
A slow elevator ride to our third floor room stranded us in a cluttered, very cluttered hallway without room access - neither key worked. Another trip downstairs to visit lovely Aimee proved no better than the first encounter - she said "Well. they should work." I told her I couldn't agree more, but the fact was, they did not. She issued new keys and suggested a bellman go up and open the door for me, as if I was incompetent to open a hotel door. The bellman was unable to open the door. He told me I"d need to go back to the front desk and get a "hard" key. Alas, entry, UGH.
The room was not at all representative of the description I had been provided. The room I reserved was noted as "mountain view deluxe." Nothing could have been further from the truth. The small windows were near the top of the ceiling, requiring a chair or stool to look out. Standing on the chair to admire our mountain view, I was disdained to see nothing more than AC and heating units on adjacent rooftops. What a view. In the mean time, housekeeeping dropped by informing us their key worked in our door. I'm still trying to ascertain the purpose of such a useless visit . I returned to the lobby again, requesting the room type I'd booked. They were accommodating. (I did not deal with Aimee this time). We were relocated to a room on the second floor as described. We went to the lobby to use the internet because there was no wifi in the room even though it was advertised as such. When I asked about this, I expected their canned response which I received - "there should be wifi up there." What a joke. By this time I was disgusted and tried to find someplace to have a drink. Oh No, not at this supposedly 5 star place - not till 5:00 when the bar opened (it was 4:15) We were told we could order a drink in the music room located off the lobby. We sat on an old, well worn couch waiting for some sign of bar service. We knew there was previous bar service, evidenced by dirty glasses all over the room. Finally, a haggared looking woman showed up and took our order. Sure enough, we got our 2 drinks - 20 minutes later. I was so mad at this point, we left the hotel to enjoy happy hour in town. We returned to the hotel after a wonderful dinner at the Broadmoor Penrose restaurant (see review). The bed was nice, but we had not bargained for nor expected the cacophony through the paper thin walls of adjacent rooms. We arose early, wanting to leave this horrid place as quickly as possible. It didn't take long to get out of there because we had no hot water in the shower - none. There was hot water in the sink, but I'm too big to sit in a sink. We left half showered. When I checked out, the young lady actually asked me how everything was. I said, "not good at all," and proceeded to tell her about the shower She told me we should have called maintenance. I told her that was ridiculous - hot water is not a 21st century luxury in a 5 star hotel. When we left I was tempted to remove some of the AAA, Preferred Hotel and Johansen's awards adorning the wall of the entry. I"m still in total amazement how this place earned these covered awards. If you stay here, expect the unexpected, but nothing more. What a horrible, expensive night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

There are no good excuses for a poor experience and that would be especially true with your recent stay at The Cliff House. As you eluded to: we have generally high ratings and many complimentary reviews, so it would seem that your experience was not atypical of most of our guests and for that I sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

We brought our daughter and their family to the Cliff House to celebrate some birthdays. Everything was so luxurious, from the bathrobes, fireplace, nice little linen throws next to the bed so you don't have to step on the carpet barefooted, heated toilet seats and doilies in the bottoms of the wastebaskets. Our room had a steam shower and a beautiful view. Beds were SO comfortable--lovely linens, piles of soft pillows, turn-down service with chocolates. Breakfast buffet (included) was more than adequate, with lots of perfect fruits, cereals, yogurt, 2 coffee cakes, eggs and juice. We were delighted with everything, and the town of Manitou has enjoyed a multi-million dollar makeover, not the shabby, hippy-dippy town it used to be but now really cute. We want to go back.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
Thank HappyCamperDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband surprised me by taking me to the Cliff House on our wedding night. Not only do I love Manitou Springs, but we always walk by the historic hotel. The staff was accomodating when a friend of ours checked in for us, genuinely greeted us when we arrived late in the evening and the room was spectacular. The room was beautiful an old fashioned with more than enough modern amenities to make you feel spoiled. After showering and relaxing a bit we ordered late night room service and we are SO HAPPY we did. The food was delicious and even better when enjoyed sitting in the oversized jacuzzi. I love the historic feel of the hotel and having breakfast in the old-fashioned dining room in the morning was fabulous. A great way to start our married life, and we're already planning on spending our anniversaries here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We had a "Deluxe King" room. It includes a nice sitting area, a desk and a gas fireplace. The bathroom is average in size but nicely finished, with a combination shower/tub. There is some noise from the next room, through the (locked) connecting door. Our view was nothing to write home about; I'm not sure if other rooms (perhaps on higher floors) are better in that respect. The decor in the room and throughout the hotel is traditional and very elegant. There is a small gym with an excellent treadmill.

The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Valet parking is required ($7 per night, although you may be quoted a rate that includes this charge), since the town prohibits overnight parking on the streets and the hotel has no parking facilities accessible to guests. There is also a fee for various other services ($9 per night, but your rate may again include this charge). An oustanding buffet breakfast, including eggs and pancakes, is included.

Note that the hotel is located on a narrow one-way street and can be hard to find; be sure to have good directions in hand when you arrive for the first time. Manitou Springs is a cross between Atlantic City boardwalk and Colorado tourist town. You can find anything from video arcades to head shops, but a good coffee shop or diner is hard to locate. We ate in a beer garden one night and tried the hotel's restaurant the other. We had a delightful, but somewhat expensive, meal on the hotel's veranda.

If you visit Manitou Springs, you MUST see the Garden of the Gods Park. We also enjoyed the drive to the top of Pikes Peak, and the chapel of the Air Force Academy is well worth a visit for architecture buffs. Feel free to skip Seven Falls.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C2Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Spent our last night here of 2 wk. Colorado trip. Great location-close to Pikes Peak & Garden of the Gods. You can walk to center of Manitou Springs and Adams Mountain Cafe through a paved walkway. Very lovely hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Enjoyed buffet breakfast included in the package. Lots of ambiance. Not real easy to come & go since the parking is valet only, but they are happy to bring up your car. This hotel should be listed under "Hotels" rather than "Specialty Lodging" on TA as we nearly missed it entirely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chinana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We recently spent two nights at The Cliff House celebrating our anniversary. Everything was perfect. We had a suite with fireplace and a super comfortable king bed,. The breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was delicious. One evening we had dessert and coffee on the veranda and it was awesome! The staff, all of them, are so friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwbakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at the Cliff House on two different nights coming and going from the rest of our trip. Both times we stayed in the same room and loved it! Very clean, super comfy bed, fireplace, tons of natural light. And it was a great value for the money. Highly highly recommended.

The restaurant, however, was a little uneven. The first time we had just arrived later in the evening, 9:30 or so, and were told we could eat on the veranda. We went out and asked a waitress if we could eat dinner. She said it would be a minute while she cleared a table. (Most of the tables were empty at this time). Ten minutes went by. We caught a waiter, asked the same thing, and received the same answer. Another ten minutes went by. It was almost comical at this point. It just seemed like the staff was hanging out in the kitchen and was playing 'not it' to see who had to seat us. After about forty minutes we were finally seated and had a barely mediocre light dinner.

The second night we stayed at the cliff house, a week later, we ate at the casual restaurant, had great service and wonderful food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,134 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,948 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,534 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range: £87 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing