We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll try Garden of the Gods Campground next time...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pikes Peak RV Park & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We'll try Garden of the Gods Campground next time...”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

While we will never be returning, I'll agree with some of the good reviews... nice location and setting, clean... But I'll mostly agree with and add to some of the sub par reviews. This is a small park and the spots are packed in tight, the wifi is a *joke* and and our electric supply wasn't powerful enough to run our tiny air conditioner properly (not sure how that was even possible).

What will keep us from ever going back to this park were our dealings with the owner's wife. Suffice it to say that unless she suffers from some sort of personality disorder or mental illness, she needs to work on her "people skills," and should probably consider not working in the hospitality industry. My husband begged that I not discuss identifying details of our unpleasant incidents (plural) with her, but know that we did not break any of their numerous rules and did not deserve to be treated with any sort of disrespect. We were also "eyed" by the owners after our run-in with the her, as a previous review mentioned, and we felt uncomfortable being at the park.

I saw the Garden of the Gods Campground while jogging on the path behind the park, so we'll be trying them out on our next stay in Manitou Springs. Their sites are also on the creek and walking path, looked larger and not so close together, had a great location and more facilities (including a pool). Hopefully the owners and employees there have their meds right.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank travelwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This park is in a perfect location as it is between two quaint downtown areas filled with specialty shops, restaurants and city parks which always seem to have events, music and fairs going on.

My husband and take our mountain bikes out every other day to go to a restaurant or to have a drink and listen to one of the many free concerts.

Both Manitou Springs and Colorado City have many attractions to choose from.

Right next door to this park is an aquatic center which has daily rates and a small gym, also there is a park with fishing ponds for kids.

Fountain Creek runs right past the park and as it is normally at low levels, the dogs and kids always seem to enjoy playing in it.

The management are wonderful folks and always greet you by name.

The park is a bit on the smallish side but we spend very little time at the RV anyway. There is a hiking/biking trail that runs right behind the park that you can take all the way into Colorado Springs and if you have pets, this is a nice, safe and beautiful concrete walk to give everyone a little "work out".

Highly recommend this park to anyone that wants to park their car and take in the local sights of which there are numerous!!

Laundry facility is reasonably priced and the bathouse is always clean.

There are some really shady lots on one side and sunny on the other - so pick your preference!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler51111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Great location close to the shops & restaurants in Manitou Springs and quick highway access to get around Colorado Springs. Sites are a bit narrow (like all sites in the area), but this didn't cause any problems for us. Facilities were basic but VERY clean - showers, bathrooms, and laundry facilities - everything you need. Friendly, helpful owners. We'll stay here again next year.

Room Tip: To avoid road noise in the morning, the back row next the the walking trail is quieter. This is a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattiwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our 2 week trip. The campground is very well kept up and clean. The bathroom and showers were very clean. We got the last spot available that night which was in an awkward spot but we made it work. There was a park and kid fishing pond close walking distance for our 5 year old and 2 boxer dogs. To the other direction was a short walk to town which we enjoyed. This town is so unique. We had such a pleasant stay that we stayed here one more night on our way home on the last night of our trip. It was a lot less crowded this time as there was a major fire in the mountains a few days before. It didn't affect us and we got a really nice spot next to the creek this time. Friendly owners, real nice and helpful. Will visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We recently stayed in our RV at the Pikes Peak RV Park in Manitou Springs, Colorado. The sites are clean and adequate. This RV park is within walking distance to downtown Manitou Springs and the trading post at the Garden of the Gods park. When you get to the RV park, you enter over a small wooden bridge. You are greeted by an escort that will guide you to your site and help you manuever your RV/travel trailer into the site you are assigned upon making the reservation. When making the reservation, be sure to inform the reservationist of the specifications of your rig. If you have a preference, make that known to the reservationist and they will accommodate. I personally did not utilize the shower facilities or the laundry facilities as we were only staying a couple of days. We had no problems of the owners or their staff switching our power cords or any other of our hookups. Once we were plugged in and settled, we went to the front office to receive our welcome packet. The welcome packet included maps and coupons of the area. We had a very enjoyable weekend together as a family. When we decide to RV at Manitou Springs, we will be making a reservation with Pikes Peak RV park (http://www.pprvpk.com/Home.php).

Room Tip: Trail side sites are nice as they are away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GFBHokie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark Mountains
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This year will be our 9th summer staying at Pikes Peak for over 5 weeks each time and dealing with two different managers.. Needless to say we think it's a wonderful RV Park, in a perfect location for walking and is alongside a lovely stream on one side, with a walking trail on the other and a city park on one end. There's never a lack of things to do and places to walk. The owner and the current managers are lovely people who are willing to help in any way they can. We have not witnessed anything other than smiles and kindness. The only problem with dog owners is if they leave them alone in the campers they tend to bark incessently and perhaps if the dogs do their business where they are not supposed to, it could create conflict. But we have never witnessed any problems. We very highly recommend Pikes Peak. The bathrooms are immaculate, the grounds are impeccible, it's shady and the location is perfect. Come and see for yourself.....................it's AWSOME!!

Room Tip: Ask for streamside if available...the rippling water lulls you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junkcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We chose this site for the location, which is great, and that they accept dogs. Which is true, but they aren't dog-friendly, or at least not to anything but little dogs apparantly. They put us across from the private residence lawn, which has big signs about dogs not going to the bathroom there. As soon as we were positioned, and let our dogs out, they naturally went for the lawn to do their business (as opposed to the all-encompassing gravel). The owner ran over yelling at us, 'you've got five seconds to get the dogs off of there,' as we were saying we'd pick up after them, before our dogs had even gone to the bathroom! We requested to move to a spot with a grassy stream bank but that too had 'no dogs' signs and wasn't available anyway. From then on we were constantly eyed by the managers from their post by the office. We'd forgotten to request a military discount at check-in, and at check-out were told that our ticket was already closed out and that they didn't charge us an extra dog fee so that made up for it (which was never mentioned when we asked if more than two dogs was acceptable). We were glad to move on, to the rest of dog-friendly Manitou Springs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCDinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manitou Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pikes Peak RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pikes Peak RV Park & Campground

Property: Pikes Peak RV Park & Campground
Address: 320 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Manitou Springs
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RV Sites Full hook-ups Beautiful setting with shade and small mountain stream. Close to all attractions. Walking distance to downtown Manitou Springs and Garden of the Gods City Park. Free shuttle to downtown Manitou & Cog railway Mid May-Mid Sept. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pikes Peak Rv Park & Campground Hotel Manitou Springs
Pikes Peak Rv Park And Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing